We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, in a good way!”
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Bath UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Different, in a good way!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A great welcome, and a really nice touch allowing you to choose your own room from those available. I had room 11, the boudoir, and it was cosy and had everything needed. It's a lovely atmosphere and historically interesting, staying there is a experience I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zhoecjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    178
    49
    19
    24
See reviews for
77
240
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for a couple of nights comfy and clean if little dated. We had an internal room and the fan in the bathroom was very loud.

The guys working here are welcoming and helpful and you could do worse then stay in Williams which is a charming town and great for a couple of days stay.

Of course we stayed to visit the Grand Canyon but bearizona is a MUST.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_and_Politico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice little hotel, with superfriendly staff. You can pick your room: up on arrival you can have a look at all available room and pick the one you like best. Every room has its own theme. It's a historic hotel in a historic small town, located on the route 66. Don't expect too much comfort, but just a nice place to sleep. Make sure you park your car not on the main road where you have to pay, but just behind the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shtaain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A very cool place if you like really old hotels but it's not for everyone, know yourself and everyone you're going with. Because it is a historic hotel, you may not find amenities that are in "normal" hotel rooms like a tv, which may bother some. When we got there we were allowed upstairs to pick our own room. The rooms were kept at a reasonable temperature and we slept soundly, the beds were pretty comfortable. The hotel is right in the center of the main street so finding a good restaurant is NOT hard at all! ALSO! They said they had FREE Wifi but every time we tried to get on, we couldn't. We went downstairs to try and figure out why and of course we could get on down there but when we went back upstairs we lost the signal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is centrally located on the main drag of historic Williams, Arizona. As we usually try and stay in small, independent hotels, we chose the Grand Canyon Hotel over many others in town. I've stayed in historic hotels before, so wasn't expecting anything fancy. One of the owners, Amy, greeted us and gave us the choice of rooms on the second floor. We chose the 'Paris' room which was decorated accordingly. No chest of drawers available, and only one bedside table. Just because something's old and historic, it doesn't mean uncomfortable and impractical, but it did in this case. There was a double bed as requested. It was rather lumpy, though. The curtains at the window were sheer so light was let in all night.
But you know what? All of that wouldn't have mattered if our check out in the morning hadn't been so unpleasant.
It was a cold night in Williams, and we slept fitfully. The next morning, we thought a nice hot shower might make us feel better. Haha, no luck there. There was no hot water at all. We made do with the cold water, then ventured down stairs to ask if we could use the shower in another room where there was warm water.
I found Oscar (the grouch, obviously) and I asked him if he was the owner but he said no he wasn't, then proceeded to stand behind the counter and give me attitude of the supreme rudest level. Unbelievable that he should be in the customer service business if he can't even take a legitimate (and easily solved) complaint and turn it around.
A hotel is only as good as the service that is given so no matter how nicely you decorate, that is negated by the crabby and resentful guy behind the counter.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the kind of place to stay if you are a history lover and want to experience a taste of the past. The hotel is faithfully renovated to be a replica of the original, and much thought has gone into every detail and decoration. The hotel retains its old style feel, with wooden floorboards, quaint little rooms, a foyer and a home-like communal area with television, coffee, fridge, computer and book case. The staff were delightful, helpful and friendly. The (tiny) receptionist took off with our heavy suitcases and carried them up the stairs before we could even protest! The hotel is also situated in the heart of Williams, which is a town so quaint that it is virtually a theme town. At night one can sit in the foyer and listen to country music drifting in through the open door. I felt like I had stepped into a time machine - it was gorgeous. If you are into history, nostalgia and old fashioned hospitality, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathryneFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to the Hotel for two nights and four meals and were treated like royalty. Best staff ever. I loved the lobby with its homey flair and the fireplace in the dining room. I would go again anytime. I took two old friends from High School who live in Upstate New York and they were also very happy with our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icegrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.1 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Hotel
Address: 145 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing