We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked the Netherlands room for a night after our Grand Canyon trip and I had great expectations from reviews here. The front desk was very friendly and told us about parking and all that. The decor here were sure picked carefully to catch the theme of the 1900s. This is one of a kind!

However, the comfort level is a bit disappointing as the bed was not comfy at all. We were tired and wanted to sleep early, but the squeaking sound made by guests walking around the hotel made it difficult to sleep. As well, the fake window with fake plants did not help lighten the claustrophobic atmosphere. Wanted to turn on the A/C to turn things around, but it was so loud that it makes things even worse.

This is just my opinion from my brief stay of 1 night, and I guess this is not my fiancee's thing as he finds it a bit haunting. Maybe I picked the wrong room, so do give this a try if you have a thing for old-fashioned and quaint kind of B&B.

Room Tip: Go to its website and look at the description of each room to choose between window/no window, showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 464 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm a little saddened to only give this hotel an average rating as it is a very pleasant and friendly place, rebuilt I think in 2004 from the ruin of a burnt out building and furnished with very quaint and old furnishings, however the room we had was a little claustrophobic, with no windows or cupboard space, as were some of the other rooms. Other rooms we looked in that had windows were not en suite and you had to share bathrooms on the landing. Coffee and a microwave were available downstairs along with the use of a computer, nice place to meet other guests, also free off road parking. Very pleasant and helpful hosts and staff and a great place for a stop over and to visit the canyon. Would definitely stay again. Don't rely on my rating because it's unfair to compare this hotel with others as it's a bit of a one off.

Room Tip: Ask for description of your room, ie, windows, en suite, and enjoy the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Two weeks ago my GF and I stayed in this hotel. It is a good point for exploring Grand Canyon - about an hour drive from visitors center.

Plus: hotel has its own parking, rooms are small but clean, each room has its own basin, staff is lovely and helpful, many shops, bars and restaurants near by.

Minus: small beds. If you are big or tall be aware that double beds are really small and you might have problems when sharing a bed.

Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Quaint hotel with the character and charm of a B&B! Perfectly located in heart of Williams, AZ, a spunky Route 66 town which is a lot better than expected! Each room is personalized with a theme and one really feels they've traveled back in time (only thankfully there are some modern amenities like wi-fi and attached bathrooms!)

Amy and Oscar, the owners, are friendly and passionate about their hotel, which they conscientiously restored - see the photos by the front door!

Definitely a recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyk1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night before we took a day trip up to the Grand Canyon. The hotel is right on Route 66 and in the middle of the tourist trap that is Williams. I hate to use the term "tourist trap" as my wife enjoyed going into the stores and restaurants. (Of course, we were tourists ourselves). The hotel is the oldest in the state of Arizona. If you're looking for a nice, modern hotel, this is not it. However, each room has a theme, and it is neat seeing how older hotels such as this were laid out. Our only true complain was that the linens were scratchy. Other than that, we enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socksmwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely old hotel on route 66. It has been lovingly restored to a victorian theme. Each room is entirely different, old fashioned but with mod cons.Bed was very comfortable and bed linen and towels are pristine. This is not a "plastic modern" hotel but a hotel with character, original wooden floorboards and antique styled furniture. The owners greeted us on arrival with a friendly welcoming manner. Although breakfast is not included there is freshly brewed coffee and tea in the morning.
According to hotel records the King of Siam stayed there in the early 20c, (So if its good enough for him it was good enough for us!!) We enjoyed our stay in this old hotel on route 66

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've stopped here many times throughout the last 10+ years and watched this 100+ year old hotel as it was renovated and grew more rooms as the years passed. The owners are friendly and helpful with recommendations and the clientelle is as diverse as you could get. This last time we sat in the community area and chatted with 2 guys from Milan, Italy and a nice couple from France. It is a great place to stop if you are on the way to or from the Grand Canyon or just heading across I-40. The hotel sits on Route 66 and retains her standing as the Grand Old Lady of the Strip. The rooms are themed and we have stayed in several different ones. It is a comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertHikers504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Address: 145 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing