We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little place”
Review of Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Fairly small rooms and a little rickety, but it's got great character, we stayed in the 'Asian' room which was nicely furnished/decorated! It is perfectly adequate for a night or two, right on the Historic Route 66 and only an hour away from Grand Canyon. It's more of a hostel than a hotel though. The staff are very friendly, it's got free WiFi in the rooms and a little communal fridge/microwave/TV/computer area which is good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 466 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Had a nights stay in the hotel. The room had peep holes into the bathroom. Kind of creepy. I had a restless night and leg cramps screaming out in pain. Couldn't have had anything to do with the motorcycle ride from Az to Colorado... Anyhow saw something strange on one of the pics I took of the room. My partner was asleep in the bed and the small bedside table was lit beside him. I snapped a shot and here is the picture that developed. We had a great stay although someone kept banging on the door and there was an extra 100 dollar charge on the bill. The ghost must have been smoking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
17  Thank Blond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for the night before heading to the Canyon itself. It was so charming that we all agreed (my husband and two friends) that if we weren't on such a tight schedule we would certainly stay longer.

The hotel is gorgeous, very authetic 'Wild West' with creaking floorboards that put you at a slight angle and every room is decorated individually. The attention to detail is amazing and the rooms are great value and very clean.

It is not a corporate, square room, identikit hotel. It is totally unique and we loved it for it! It is also right on the high street so we were able to go out for dinner, drinks and dancing without going more than 200 yards.

Fantastic value, lovely helpful hosts and a home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very fun town and place to stay for 1-2 nights. Hotel had recent renovations. My husband and I stayed in a room w/a common bath in the hallway. Old fashion hotel, like the days of the Wild West. It was fun and the staff was very friendly. Great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patti0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in the little town of Williams, especially the fun and funky Grand Canyon Hotel. Very friendly host & hostess and uniquely themed rooms made it stand out. Don't expect lots of room space; this is an old renovated hotel that practically oozes with history.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfalfaAnchorageAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The owners greet guests by saying, "Welcome home." That is exactly how this hotel feels. It is a true treasure in Williams: delightful, clean, convenient to everything, and welcoming. Our room had a sink but we used the shared bathroom which is clean and was always available when needed. Each room is uniquely decorated, and the hotel decor reflects the original period style - we stayed in the Corner Room which overlooks the main intersection. Nightlife was unobtrusive. No a/c but there was a window fan, ceiling fan, and screens in our room. It's mid-July and the room temperature was comfortable.

There are two common rooms with plenty of comfortable seating, and the owners will serve you beverages of your choice (local beer or wine - reasonably priced at $4). There is free wi-fi, ample parking, a small refrigerator for leftovers, microwave and kettle - and most importantly, free (and tasty!) coffee and tea in the morning. No tv's, no hair dryers (although I would guess the owner would lend you hers if you requested - she's that awesome!), and the walls are thin but all guests were really respectful. It's like coming home to grandma's house. There are house pets in the common room - an iguana, bird, fish, hermit crab and clever frog (all in cages) that are totally entertaining. A helpful young man took our suitcases up to our room when we arrived. This was definitely the highlight of our trip thus far. High praise for the owners and the establishment. We wanted to extend our stay but they were fully booked. These are seriously cool people and a seriously cool hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private bathroom facilities so you can request those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very nice hotel. The room are well decorated and provide a very good start for the grand Canyon. William is a nice little town on road 66.

Upon arrival the owner let us choose our room wich was very nice, the hotel also provide a common area with internet, tv, game books etc.

The staff was very nice, I would recommended this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Hotel

Address: 145 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $81 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing