We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge On Route 66
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Lodge on Route 66 is an excellent place to stay if you are spending time in the lovely little town of Williams. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, and the standards of cleanliness are high. The staff are pleasant and helpful, and a reasonable breakfast is provided each day. The motel is well placed for the attractions in Williams, and is easily recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 825 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

extremely friendly staff, always accommodating and had excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities. room was clean and cozy. the continental breakfast was great every morning and it was very cool seeing the variety of travelers that come from all over the world to see the Grand Canyon! loved our stay at the Lodge!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jenis0utrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I typically only review properties to which I'm moved to give a five-star rating and The Lodge on Route 66 is no exception. I had the great fortune to meet the owners of the Lodge while visiting Williams and they proudly showed me photos of of both The Lodge on Route 66 and The Rodeway Inn Downtowner (located across the street) as they were being painstakingly remodeled from the aging properties that they once were to what they are now. What the owners of The Lodge and the Downtowner have achieved is nothing short of awe-striking. They took aging motels and turned them into Old Route 66 gems, providing comfort and unexpected luxury. The attention to detail at these properties is the work of master restorationists. I stayed at the Lodge, but always walked by the Downtowner transfixed by the restoration. The rooms at the Lodge are upscale, refined, and well thought out with a microwave and high quality fridge in every room. I had a suite and was not disappointed. It was spacious and well-appointed and homey, and frankly, I was sad to leave. I always thought I had the most comfortable bed at home, but the beds here were much more comfortable and outfitted with smart Coleman blankets and high thread sheets, and I had the best sleep I've had in a long time. The rooms are done in beautiful earth tones and the bed frames are made of handsome, hand-crafted woods. The bed sheets were crisp and had a fresh-air smell to them and I loved the heavenly scent of the shampoo supplied called Desert Bloom. My two-room suite had a flat screen TV in both rooms and excellent wifi strength. The sitting chairs in the room were extremely comfortable for TV watching or playing a game of cards. The shower was as excellent as everything else at this property. Breakfast, served in a warm and comforting sit-down eating area with comfy chairs, is complimentary with the room and offers scrumptious make-your-own waffles and high quality syrup, yogurt, cereals, fruit, and juices to get you ready for the day. The reception area is inviting, quaint, and teeming with character, from the carved wood bear on the reception desk to the photos of Route 66 in earlier days. Decorations and art work throughout the property are enchanting and there are even witty quips carved into wood placards, showing off the owners' sense of humor. Before going into a life in the arts, I was front office supervisor of the Waldorf-Astoria in New York, a hotel brand synonymous with quality and luxury and excellent service. I give a Waldorf-Astoria stamp of approval to this excellent property which is a sight and place not to be missed if you want to explore Route 66 in style and comfort. Williams, where the Lodge is situated, is one of the most enchanting American towns I've visited and this property contributes to the charm of the town. Just down the block is Wild West Junction, which is like a Western movie set, where you can meet the greatest people. Also just down the block is the Red Raven restaurant, which had the best filet mignon and seafood ever and a great place to take your lady or guy if you're on a romantic getaway. If this review seems like a rave, it is. If you want a more special and unique visit to nearby Grand Canyon, stay at the Lodge on Route 66, see Williams, and relive a bit of American history in one of the most charming places I've ever stayed. The owners of the Lodge aim to please. Do not miss the experience of staying there. I want to go back now.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, you will not be disappointed, and don't miss the waffles at breakfast time. Vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a unique and pleasant stay we had at The Lodge in February. Last minute trip to The Grand Canyon found us in Williams AZ at 6PM without lodging. A phone call to the Lodge was answered by a pleasant young lady at the front desk who couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. They had a small suite available named the St.Louis room which we found very ironic since that is where we are from. It was very nicely furnished with charming details making it very comfortable after a day of travel. We walked to a nearby restaurant for a great dinner and stroll down historic Route 66 before retiring to a very comfortable bed. Enjoyed a free breakfast in the morning before heading to The Grand Canyon.
Free parking, internet, and breakfast plus the charm of historic Route 66 made it a great experience.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sandy7599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My sister, daughter and I shared a room at the Lodge while visiting the Grand Canyon early last June. We were taking the Grand Canyon Railroad to the canyon the next day and this lodge was very convenient to the train. We were amazed at just how luxurious our room was. The beds were divine. Williams is a very small town and The Lodge is located in its heart. We walked to a nearby restaurant for a wonderful dinner and shopped for Route 66 souvenirs at the adjacent shops. Breakfast the next morning was so welcomed and the hot waffles, sausage, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. was over the top. After breakfast, we relaxed in the outdoor seating area. The staff was amazing. I'd definitely stay at The Lodge again given the opportunity. Sadly, The Lodge spoiled us. Moving from this hotel to the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel the next evening was an immense let-down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryland-Lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here, in February, with my dog. It was clean and well maintained. The people are awesome. I will definitely stay here again. I highly recommend it. My dog loved it too. It's across the street from restaurants. Mary Ann Stein

Room Tip: With my dog, they gave me a room away from everyone. It was great. My dog loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Lodge on Route 66 in Williams Arizona is a wonderful small hotel who offers free parking and free breakfast. Must try the waffles you make yourself 'yum'. Reception friendly and helpful. Small but comfortable room and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. A must stay for anyone going to The Grand Canyon or Sedona.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BumbleBeeBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge On Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge On Route 66

Address: 200 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $55 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge On Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Route 66 Hotel Williams
Hotel On Route 66
Motel On Route 66

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing