We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, handy for the Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge On Route 66
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, handy for the Grand Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A real "Route 66 Motel", or at least how I'd imagined it! Fairly basic, but clean, with friendly and helpful staff. Loved the waffle iron at breakfast! A real "Route 66 Motel", or at least how I'd imagined it! Fairly basic, but clean, with friendly and helpful staff. Loved the waffle iron at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micko57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    246
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
209
381
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midwest, america
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Save some money and stay in Williams when visiting the Grand Canyon. This motel is within easy walking distance to the small downtown area and about an hour from the park itself. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. However, the soundproofing is poor, so I could hear my neighbors easily through the walls. I was also slightly disappointed as I made my reservations several weeks in advance and asked for a quiet room away from the ice machine. We were instead placed directly next to the ice machine and were woken up very early in the morning by guests filling their coolers. And although it's not the fault of the Lodge, most of the guests staying there during our 2-day visit were up very early and were very, very noisy. Banging car doors, beeping car alarms, etc. Once again, not the fault of the Lodge, but if you require solid, uninterrupted sleep, you might need to look elsewhere. Breakfast was uninspiring the day we tried it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttwwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We planned to go to the Grand Canyon for a few days and struggled with which accommodation to choose until we came across The Lodge. This place is great with a nicely decorated room. You get free parking and free wifi along with free breakfast which had a great spread. The staff were friendly and informative as well. I liked that the rooms were all named after a town that was on Route 66. The lodge is located in the little town of Williams on Route 66 its the perfect location if you want a little slice of what Route 66 use to be like. Its big enough to have a variety of restaurants and shops and is a great base if you want to visit the Grand Canyon. I hope to stay here when we return to the Grand Canyon the future. Thank you for the Lodge on Route 66!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great accommodations! Clean, quiet, friendly staff and above all walking distance to great restaurants! Very nicely appointed. TV was great, WiFi was free and great. Air conditioner was QUIET and worked wonderfully. On staff's recommendation, dined at the Red Raven. WOW, EXCELLENT FOOD and service. Just a short block and a half from the Lodge. If your going to the Grand Canyon or just passing through and need accommodations, don't even think twice. Go to The Lodge on 66!

Room Tip: No tips needed, they are ALL great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms are very clean and neat. The staff is very pleasant. The morning breakfast was just enough to start your day. The Lodge is within walking distance to many places to eat and lots of shopping. Also close to the train that takes you to the Grand Canyon. Overall good stop over on Route 66.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had little idea what to expect. We usually stay in a chain hotel. We found this place to be a quaint motor court motel. We had a queen room. It was small, but that's the way they used to be. It was well maintained, seemed to be recently painted and carpeted. There is a nice patio area with two gas log fireplaces and overhead heaters, with little gardens on both ends of the patio. We would have rather had a desk in the room than the dresser. It is a short walk into the downtown area, which is very easy to walk. The train station is about 4 short blocks away. They offer a continental breakfast. On the day we stayed there was a waffle station, sausages, bread, Danish, oatmeal, yogurt, OJ and of course coffee. There were no cold cereals if that is what you prefer. The motel across the street is affiliated with this hotel, and they share the continental breakfast. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, feel a bit of nostalgia from the motor court days, and the patio was a great place to spend the evening after dining out in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

4 of us stayed here for a couple of nights and found it a great choice. Although an old style standard roadside motel from the outside ( a single level block of rooms with parking right outside each door), internally each room has been thoughtfully refurbished. The beds was one of the most comfortable we slept in throughout our trip and the internal furnishings very tastefully done. A buffet breakfast was served in the reception office which was adequate.
The Lodge is handily located within an easy walk of the shops, restaurants etc in Williams as well as the station for the train trip to the Grand Canyon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge On Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge On Route 66

Property: The Lodge On Route 66
Address: 200 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#1 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge On Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Route 66 Hotel Williams
Hotel On Route 66
Motel On Route 66

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing