We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge On Route 66
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here two nights for our visit to the grand canyon. The Lodge is a very nice place with a lot of atmosphere. The room was, however small, clean and gave us everything we needed for our stay. In front of the lobby there are nice couches to sit and relax. We sat there our first night and really enjoyed the quiet. The breakfast area is also nice. Two fireplaces you can turn on. We had a very comfortable time there at night whilst checking our email, having a drink and just relaxing. The person at the front desk was very helpful. A walk around is nice. Plenty of restaurants. Very good place to pan your visit to the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    249
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
212
393
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Lodge has some of the positive features as described by others, but next time we would definitely choose another hotel in the area. I think we got caught in a TripAdviser review trap. We stayed here (Williams) as a stopover between Grand Canyon and Las Vegas.

Positives: homelike feel and nice theme to rooms/hotel, fluffy towels, easy parking (it's a motel), reasonable toiletries, friendly staff.

Not so positive: *very* small (standard) rooms, beds too high and too soft (base seemed higher than middle or top, and we are fairly lightweight people!), minimalist breakfast (e.g., prepackaged muffins, styrofoam cups), heater/aircon was a bit too noisy even in "low" position, some sort of noisy fan/motor behind motel unit (not bathroom fan which is also noisy, but keeping bathroom door closed reduced noise a bit and noise was gone by morning).

Also, internet didn't work -- wireless connected fine, but diagnostic analysis indicated that there was no internet response due to an internet service provider problem. We stated this to reception soon after arrival, but internet was still not working throughout evening and next morning. Internet did work at another location in Williams (i.e. not a computer problem).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stlamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Spent one night there after visiting the Grand Canyon that day. Made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Stayed in a King Suite and it is probably the most relaxing, comfortable room we have ever stayed in. Breakfast was suffucuent the next morning. If we pass through Williams again, we will stay and we will make sure we recommend it to anyone we know going that way.

Room Tip: The Santa Monica King Suite is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We wanted a nice place to stay in Williams where we booked a train ride on the Grand Canyon Railway the next day. We flew into Phoenix the night before and stayed near the airport. Boy was that a disaster. We stayed in a standard double queen room at a standard airport hotel and our 2 yrs old could not sleep for some reason so we hardly had any sleep that night. So after a long drive to Williams the next day, we were dead tired and had a crazy fussy toddler on our hands. We originally booked a standard double queen room at The Lodge on Route 66 but when we arrived, the lady at the front desk noticed how burnt out I looked and we started chatting about kids and travel and all that while we were doing up the paperwork. She asked if I would be interested in a queen suite with a separate bedroom to see if that'd work better with our toddler. I asked how much and she said $15 more. That got us thinking. Since it was midweek and the place was pretty quiet, she gave us a couple of keys to some of the available rooms and my wife and I got to check them out to see for ourselves. We fell in love with the King Suite which was huge and got it for a mere $30 more. We figured we deserved to treat ourselves a bit after the night before. What that provided for us was a luxurious bedroom, with the bathroom within the closed doors of the bedroom. And we gave the living room/kitchen area to our toddler who was glowing with glee that he had a giganormous room all to himself. With his own TV before bed time. When it was bed time, he watched a bit of TV with his milk before bed. Then we adjusted the temperature to his liking, started his bedtime music and said our night night before retiring into the bedroom. Lights out. But in the bedroom with the doors closed, we were watching TV, playing on the computer, went to the bathroom all we wanted while our baby slept with not a clue how many more hrs we stayed up while enjoying some time off in the luxurious bedroom.

About the rooms themselves, they looked to have been recently renovated. We were expecting a small town type of motel stay originally and did not expect downtown caliber stone/tile work, super expensive and to die for bed with silky smooth sheets and feather pillows. The bathroom was all tile and again a downtown luxury hotel feel with a double sink and amenities. Wide open sink area with a separate bathroom and bath area behind a sliding door. Even the toilet paper holder was chrome/gold plated and everything was simply well done. We had our own heater so we can adjust our own temperature. And that may be the only non-luxury hotel issue, it's a standard blower heater/AC under the window hence it does blow onto the bed and can be loud. But again, it is what you would expect from most standard hotels unless you stay at a multi-level hotel with a giant central heating and AC unit that services the whole place with floor or ceiling vents.

Back to the rooms. The bedroom has plenty of storage and hanger for coats and so forth. There was a good size fridge which was excellent for our family as we simply hop over to Safeway and bought a bunch of juices and snacks and had a nice place to store them back in our room. The breakfast nook had a nice table for us to snack on and plenty of counter space in the kitchen area to prepare food. Even the high tech amenities are top notch from LCD TVs for all rooms, to a super fast wifi from the comfort of our rooms. We can stream TV shows on our laptop and smartphones so the wifi worked perfectly fast. The place was super quiet and we all had the best 2 nights sleep of our whole trip at this Lodge. The breakfast was a bit skimpy but I didn't expect a breakfast buffet of a mega hotel so it was adequate. The staffs were super nice and we often hang around to chat with them about life in a small town like Williams. I have to give it a full 5 stars and will definitely return for our next Grand Canyon visit. Luxury hotel amenities in a motel like settling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tykwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here two nights, as we were getting the Grand Canyon Railway, and it was perfect. We had a king suite and it was clean and warm with plenty of space and the comfiest bed. The suite was really well equipped and we wanted for nothing. They provide masses of fluffy towels too unlike many so called five stars which limit you to two. The breakfast in the morning is great and the free wifi worked perfectly in our room (Santa Monica room). Williams is a charming town and we had a great time playing pool in the `world famous' Sultana bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escape_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel after riding the Grand Canyon Railway and wished we didn't have to leave in the morning! We stayed in a queen suite which had a small sitting room and small dining area with fridge and microwave. The room was very clean and there was enough space for my 20 month old son to play without being underfoot. The bed was really comfortable and cozy! The breakfast was your standard continental: fruit, cereal, pastries and donuts. The staff was very nice and made us feel right at home! I wish we could have stayed longer, THE place to stay if you are nearby. I am looking for reasons to plan a trip out there just so I can stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsOrnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Beautifully decorated room. Very,very clean and comfy. Many restuarants and shops within walking distance. This is the place to stay if you are in Williams, AZ.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uwm1yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge On Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge On Route 66

Property: The Lodge On Route 66
Address: 200 E Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#1 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Business Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge On Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Route 66 Hotel Williams
Hotel On Route 66
Motel On Route 66

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing