We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option near Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good option near Grand Canyon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is about 20-30 miles from Grand Canyon and is a good option price-wise. Quaint flat town with only a few other meal options. The wifi was non-existent to spotty which was disappointing. The restaurant had decent food and the staff was pleasant. The pool was nicer than the rooms and I agree they need updating. But the closer hotel options were way more expensive so this is a good drive-able option near the south rim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    175
    173
    61
    63
See reviews for
137
232
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

First of all this hotel is not in Williams, it's in Valle AZ which is about a half an hour from the Grand Canyon.....closer then Williams. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and the room was spacious but it needs a good updating. Our shower would not drain after one shower and the maintenance man came quickly to fix it but it kinda soured me on the room. Also the knobs were coming out of the wall. Watch out in the bathroom....while the room is very big the bathroom isn't. To close the door while using the restroom you literally need to swing your knees around. Not sure why they made the bathroom so small...there is plenty of room. Location made it worth the price but if this hotel room was in a different location it would be overpriced. I paid $139 for this room. Bottom line it's ok for a one night stay but if you are staying awhile I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I did not have great expectations after reading the previous reviews. We made our plans at the last minute and this was available. If you are aware the motel is in Valle and not Williams you will find is easily. The service was above anything that I've experienced at other budget motels. The front desk and restaurant went out of their way and they were very busy. The ice machine was empty and a note attached said see restaurant. When I walked in restaurant with my room ice bucket she said, "You certainly want more that that!" and proceeded to fill a plastic bag with ice for me. The bathroom sink area was all new granite, nice cold A/C, comfortable bed. We were too late, 9pm for the kids to swim but the pool was open. The price is high but you are paying for the location, it is an old updated motel with great service and only 20 minute drive to the IMAX theater where you can park you car and ride the Canyon shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloripaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Awesome time! just need a place to rest our heads and found a clean room not too far from the canyon. Planned to have a drink at the hotel bar but ended up staying for a while, actually past closing to hang out with everyone that worked there! Good people, good times! Try the Grand Canyon Brewing Co Stout = Delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Last couple of reviews were nasty. I stayed here and had a nice visit. Check in was fast and clerk was very polite. Room was clean and OK size. It was 100 outside and the room air condition worked well. Bed & pillows were comfortable. We did not hear any outside noise, but we had the air condition fan on all night. We slept very well. Breakfast at the restaurant was fast, good and fair priced.
The main reason for staying here is price and location. It is about 25 miles from the south rim entrance. It is the only motel in Valle and it was booked solid. Your only other choices are Williams which is about 50 miles away or Tusayan which is 5 miles from entrance. The problem with Tusayan is the price. I would say nothing under $200.
My price at this motel was $109.
There is also a gas station next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TahoeJoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's a dump.
1. The refrigerator didn't work.
2. The rooms didn't have towels.
3. The shower was not working.
4. Rooms Not sound proof. I could count the number of times the occupants of the neighbouring room used their flush.
5. Wi-fi was a joke.
6. The front desk lady was arrogant.
7. Paid 150 usd for the memorial day weekend and this place wouldn't be more than 50 USD even in NY.

Room Tip: Avoid it unless you can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Single T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

After checking almost every location around the Cayon, please take this advise: Williams and Flagstaff are too far away, especially if you plan just to visit for a day or two, as you will spend almost 40 minutes each way!. Then you have the hotels in Tusuyan, just 5 minutes away from the park, but are really expensive for what they offer. And then, in the middle of the two towns, you have “Valle”, a tiny spot on the highway, where the Grand Canyon Inn is situated, besides a Chevron gas station. The only advantage I could find is the proximity to the Canyon, about 20 miles away. That’s it, there are no other “good” thing to mention about this dump of a Motel.
Imagine a film set where the serial killer comes at night and slices the guest. That’s how this place looks like. The rooms are about 50 years old, with no renovations. There are no decorations; the sink is outside the bathroom, the shower sucks, Wi Fi only works in the lobby, etc etc.
I wouldn’t be so hard on this place if had pay only 50 bucks, but after paying $110 for a night, at least you expect decent sheets and towels.
This Motel is outrageously expensive for the little it offers, you will feel ripped off and miserable. If I could do it again, I would choose any place on Tusuyan; at least they are right beside the park.
Tip: The entrance to the Park costs $25 per car (no matter how many occupants) and it is good for 10 days, really cheap for such a wonderful place. You can get your ticket in the Gas station just beside this Motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams
21.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
22.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
22.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
27.3 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Inn & Motel

Property: Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Address: 317 S State Route 64, Williams, AZ 86046-9585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Canyon Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at Grand Canyon Inn & Motel are non-smoking with free WIFI. We are located 23 miles south of the park entrance and 30 miles north of Williams. Our front desk is open from 7am until about 9pm. Breakfast is available off menu, served until 11am. Our lounge has all the favorite beverages and large screen televisions. Our seasonal outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. Rooms with 2 queen beds have refrigerators. A guest microwave is available in the lobby. Parking is free for our guests. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Grand Canyon Williams
Grand Canyon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing