We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to staying in the Villlage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Inn & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Canyon Inn & Motel to your Saves list
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   317 S State Route 64, Williams, AZ 86046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great alternative to staying in the Villlage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked our hotel for the Grand Canyon too late and so nothing was available within the Park itself or in Tusayan outside of the main gate. Valle is 30 min drive from the Park and so was closer than the only other alternative of Williams which is 60 mins away. The Grand Canyon Inn is the only hotel available in Valle. Surprising it was very comfortable with super huge rooms, nice bathroom, great beds. The Inn has a restaurant attached which is great for meals, especially after spending a full day at the Canyon. I would definately recommend staying here if you can't get any accommodation closer to the Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suzanna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    149
    145
    51
    54
See reviews for
116
188
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stupidly didn't make reservations for lodging for our stop at the Grand Canyon. Came upon this place on our way from Tusayan(near the Grand Canyon) to Williams to try to find a vacancy. Stopped in at 8pm and were delighted to get a room for under $100. Room was very spacious and clean, with a nice flat screen TV. There is also a bar on-site. We had dinner at the restaurant attached to the hotel and it was delicious with very good service. No continental breakfast, but guests do get a discount for breakfast at the restaurant on the property. All of the staffers were very nice and helpful. There is a nice gas station/gift shop on the property as well. Free WIFI too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owlgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

It was a great place. We stayed during our vacation August 2012. It was up the road from the Grand Canyon. The front desk was very helpful in getting our park tickets. (FYI get them from the gas station next door, will save time getting into the park). We were able to get connecting rooms to our 3 teenagers. The rooms were very spacious, clean and affordable. The only downfall is that the heater in the pool didn't work sothe water was cold. Also, you can go across the street to Fred's Diner. They have 5 cent coffee. Great place to eat.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms closer to pool. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I can’t recommend the Grand Canyon Inn enough for your trip to the Grand Canyon. This was my second stay there, and the place is perfect for what I need it for. A place to sleep before and after a day at the Grand Canyon, that doesn’t cost an arm and leg, and doesn’t take half your day getting there.
At $99 a night, its $50 less than the cheapest place in Tusayan, and $100 less than anything in Grand Canyon Village. Rooms are cheaper in Willams, but you are 35 min closer to the park at the Grand Canyon Inn. A big difference if you are planning a hike into the canyon, or to catch the sunrise.
The hotel is basic. It’s comfortable and clean. I don’t know how the other rooms are but ours had killer water pressure in the shower.
We ate dinner at the restaurant. It was very good with a great staff. Young but really seemed be serious about making the customers happy. The prices are fair considering you have little choice but to eat there unless you want to drive 35 min to Williams. Their menu with prices is on their website.
The front desk lady was very helpful. We left a gameboy in a restaurant in Williams. She called them for us and they had it and we were able to get it. I had no cell service there so she could have just given me the phone number and had me call from the room phone. I don’t know for sure if it would have been a call charged to the room, but she was very helpful. I didn’t find her “perfunctory” as another reviewer put it. (yes I had to look that up and yes I just wanted to get to use big words too)
If you are planning a trip to the Grand Canyon, and just need a place to sleep before and after a day at the Grand Canyon, that doesn’t cost an arm and leg, and doesn’t take half your day getting there. This is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danno719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diksmuide, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in Valle. About 30 minutes to the south rim. Valle is quiet and not too far from the canyon. The rooms are big and clean. Staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ldthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

While the motel is not in my top 10, the location proved to be a blessing. Valle is nice and quiet, the drive to and from the South Rim is not too bad if you want to "commute."
Our room was clean and somewhat roomy, fairly light during the day. The adjoining dining room served good food and the waitstaff was prompt and attentive. If are not able to stay in one of the Grand Canyon National Park Inns, this is a good alternative.

Only downside was the front desk staff could have been a little less perfunctory.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morningsideralph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel not too far from the grand Canyon.
Room were Ok and clean. Nice and helpful staff.
The pool was perfect after a busy day at The Grand Canyon.

Rates are OK, compared to other hotels near the Grand Canyon.

So, save your money by staying at Grand Canyon Inn and have a nice meal in a steak house !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredolebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams
21.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
22.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
22.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
28.4 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Inn & Motel

Property: Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Address: 317 S State Route 64, Williams, AZ 86046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Canyon Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at Grand Canyon Inn & Motel are non-smoking with free WIFI. We are located 23 miles south of the park entrance and 30 miles north of Williams. Our front desk is open from 7am until about 9pm. Breakfast is available off menu, served until 11am. Our lounge has all the favorite beverages and large screen televisions. Our seasonal outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. Rooms with 2 queen beds have refrigerators. A guest microwave is available in the lobby. Parking is free for our guests. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Canyon Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Grand Canyon Williams
Grand Canyon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing