We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grand Canyon Inn, a good deal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Inn & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Inn, a good deal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

While the motel is not in my top 10, the location proved to be a blessing. Valle is nice and quiet, the drive to and from the South Rim is not too bad if you want to "commute."
Our room was clean and somewhat roomy, fairly light during the day. The adjoining dining room served good food and the waitstaff was prompt and attentive. If are not able to stay in one of the Grand Canyon National Park Inns, this is a good alternative.

Only downside was the front desk staff could have been a little less perfunctory.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morningsideralph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    156
    155
    55
    55
See reviews for
124
200
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel not too far from the grand Canyon.
Room were Ok and clean. Nice and helpful staff.
The pool was perfect after a busy day at The Grand Canyon.

Rates are OK, compared to other hotels near the Grand Canyon.

So, save your money by staying at Grand Canyon Inn and have a nice meal in a steak house !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredolebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I had booked the room in advance and the room was a very large room and nice, safe, and clean which is the major objectives. When we pulled up the sign says rooms for $45 and a heated pool, so I asked since our room was $70 and was told the cheap rooms were accross the street in an old motel they had purchased so I kept the room I reserved. The pool was not heated but closed. The room had water damage and smelled strongly of mildew but the very nice lady let us change to the only other handicap room which was great. I did find it unusual that there would be only 2 non smoking handicap rooms for the huge property. The restaraunt did not open until 6 so I got a menu which showed their hamburgers and fries were $10.99, so we went to Fred's across the street at Flinstones RV Park and 2 great burgers and fries for $8.99, so good we ate 3 meals there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveleronthecheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Canyon Inn on a recent trip to the Grand Canyon. We flew into Flagstaff and just needed a place to sleep before heading to the North Rim for a rim to rim hike.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, It's across the street from the Flintstone's themed campground, has a nice gas station/gift shop next door, but that's pretty much it. It isn't in Williams as the address states.

The rooms are dated with a small CRT TV and maybe 5 working channels. The rooms aren't overly clean and the bathrooms need some work. We had trouble sleeping because the room was hot even in October with the air condidtioner turned on. If this was July/August I would imagine it would be brutal.

However, the staff was nice, and the rates are half what it would cost to stay in Tusayan. The restaurant is way overpriced for the quality of the food, but it's what you would expect at a roadside diner that's close to a national park.

If you're on a vacation to the South Rim and will be shuttling to/from the park each day I probably wouldn't recommend it unless you are budget concerned. The hotels in Tusayan are much newer/nicer looking and about 20-30 minutes closer, plus there is some variety of restaurants and activities in Tusayan in the evenings.

If you just need a place to sleep for the night and don't want to pay Tusayan rates it's a fine option. Just don't expect to woo your wife on an anniversary trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayorMcSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stop at hotel on our 2 week roadtrip towards the Grand canyon. My brother booked the hotel with my credit card. We stayed about 2 nights. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are ok. Equal to super 8. The service was average. The walls are thin. I think there was a lot cost cutting when remodeling the bathrooms. Things seemed to done on the cheap. The cover on one of the bathroom fixture felled off as someone was making a loud raucous in the other room. What I did not like most were all the small stuff. No cable or satelite tv. No contnentail breakfast. I understand that they want people to eat at there restraunt. They should offer a 10% discount. There is no night person so you better make sure you called if arriving late. Which I think is stupid. They should hire somepeople to worked a overnight shift. It would helped stimulate the ecomy. And besides the the bar should be open to 2 a.m. anyways. And bar has no drink menu. The price for hotel is a ripoff. My main complaint. Your basicaly paying for the name Grand canyon and the close proximity to the Grand canyon. This hotel seems to be about cutting cost while making money. Which in return sacrifices quality, services and convenice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadwarriorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

There are two parts to this motel , as you travel up highway 64 the main part is just past the chevron gas station the motel is on the right the other part is on the left and just before the Gas station .

We had travelled from the Hoover dam to see the Grand canyon by this time it was dark so started looking for a bed for the night for Two adults and a child having found no rooms in howntown we headed back the way we came and stopped at the "Grand Canyon Inn" .

It was late and we were tired there was two young couples ahead and they said that they had rooms left and that they only had rooms with two queen size beds in " great i thought just what we need " that where the great stopped for the room it would cost $95 .

I was given a map to where we were to sleep we were given room 60 which was the lower room in a 2 storey building , the room at first glance looked ok though i was tired and the room was dimly lit , as we stared to settle down my daughter (13 yrs old) shouted for my wife thinking some thing had happened we looked in the bathroom where the shout had come from only to see the biggest spider i have ever seen it was so big i had trouble in covering it with the plastic cup to remove it , when we looked to see where it came from there was about an inch gap under the front door .

there ceiling must have been made of paper as we could hear every word spoken by guests upstairs and when we came back after getting some drinks from the gas station where we were sleeping looked as if it was from the set of a JASON horror movie my wife slept with one eye open and as for the beds well it was like sleeping on the floor.

i wouldn't stay here even if some one else paid for the room would have rather slept in the car instead.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyllwyd857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Good stop to avoid crowded areas in Tusayan further North. Hamburger was very delicious, service was ok.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pcrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williams
22.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
22.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,465 reviews
21.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
28.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Inn & Motel

Property: Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Address: 317 S State Route 64, Williams, AZ 86046-9585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Canyon Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at Grand Canyon Inn & Motel are non-smoking with free WIFI. We are located 23 miles south of the park entrance and 30 miles north of Williams. Our front desk is open from 7am until about 9pm. Breakfast is available off menu, served until 11am. Our lounge has all the favorite beverages and large screen televisions. Our seasonal outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. Rooms with 2 queen beds have refrigerators. A guest microwave is available in the lobby. Parking is free for our guests. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Canyon Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Grand Canyon Williams
Grand Canyon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing