We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stopped here on our road trip and booked on the spot. It was a good value, safe, and in a good location! We didn't realize until the next day what a CUTE town Williams is! Very close to the Main Street with the restaurants and souvenir shops.

No complaints!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventureandthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    53
    22
    18
See reviews for
38
50
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Obviously, it's a Motel 6 so my expectations weren't high but it was the service that made it even worse. The girl checking us out the morning of Sept 30th hardly even looked at us, she just stood there texting on her cell phone. Wireless only in the lobby? Don't advertise wireless if I have to be in the lobby to use it and you don't even have a CHAIR FOR ME TO SIT IN while I'm using it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosingPebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Williams hotels

ABC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were in this motel for one night and it was good overall. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The ice-machine was just around the corner. Unfortunately, the wifi didn't work so we took the advice from the lady at the front desk and used the one from Safeway (which was turned out at night). Williams is small so everything is in walking distance. The motel is good as a base for Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danziger2
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Frankly, I was expecting a dismal experience based on many of the other reviews here, but we figured for the one night we were staying, we could endure. But, it was really very pleasant - Williams is a strange little town (in a great way), with shoot-out reenactments in the street, a mysterious car parked on a lot with two mannequins in the front seat, some great, friendly local characters, and a general cool/weird vibe. The Motel 6 we stayed at (there are two of them) was right across from a Safeway, which was great, the woman at the front counter was super-helpful (she told us the restaurants in town to avoid), and our room was weirdly hip (some of the pictures posted by other reviewers will give you the idea), clean, and comfortable. For a reasonably priced one-night stopover on the way to the Canyon, it was a cool experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danziger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
567 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

If you are on the road and need to sleep for one night, this hotel is ok. It's more a Motel as you don't really have a friendly reception area and room are pretty small, old furnished but looks clean. It's price and proximity to the grand canyon makes it perfect; however don't expect to have a peaceful night as the wall are thin and the rail road is next to the hotel with some slow and noisy train all night long....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

After checking in and discovering we had a large, barking dog staying in the adjacent room, the front desk attendant was accomodating and allowed us to choose an alternative room. Our "remodeled room" had something sticky on the wall, more than a few ants, and the tub creaked so loud when we stood in it to shower, we were certain we were going to fall through the ceiling. The front desk attendant was kind, helpful, and accomodating, but based on room condition and price, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I liked the renovated room I got given it was clean, the bed was comfortable, linen clean, lcd tv great and shower sufficient. I also liked how friendly the staff were and I especially liked that the lobby didn't smell like smoke for once! Location is great in downtown Williams, the Safeway across the street is extremely handy and opens early for those needing supplies before heading to Grand Canyon.

However, I can understand how some people have left reviews complaining about the state of the rooms and its cleaniness. I have stayed in a non renovated room before last year and the linens were a bit dirty.

There were some issues such as the poor sound proofing and this was particularly annoying coz there was constant door slamming and tv's blaring but most Motel 6's I've stayed in are like this. The wifi did not work at all and I ended up using Safeway's next door in my own room (its free)!

Overall a nice experience but I would still consider this an average Motel 6 (high average) given the issues I mentioned.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room near the ice machine/staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.8 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#21 of 30 in Williams
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westerner Motel
Westerner Motel
#27 of 30 in Williams
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Williams West - Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Highlander Motel
Highlander Motel
#14 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Williams East/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon

Property: Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon
Address: 710 W Route 66, I-40 E or W Exit 161, Williams, AZ 86046-2226
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Williams East - Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Motel Six Williams
Williams Motel 6
Williams Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing