We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a couple of nights...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband I spent two nights in Williams, visiting the Grand Canyon and other nearby parks. I spent quite a bit of time on Trip Advisor researching hotels. We had wanted to stay nearer to the Grand Canyon, but I gather they book up fast and we couldn't get what we wanted. Instead, we went for the next nearest city, which is Williams, 60 miles or so south of the Grand Canyon. In the end, I'm glad we did; we drove up from Phoenix on Saturday morning and had planned to spend Saturday afternoon exploring some nearby parks, leaving the Grand Canyon for a full day on Sunday. If we had booked both nights AT the Grand Canyon, we would have spent a lot more time in the car! As it was, we were able to check in at Comfort Inn, drop our luggage (the room wasn't ready) and then head back to Flagstaff (30 minutes east) and explore some parks near that city. With regard to the hotel itself, I think other reviewers noted that the Comfort Inn Williams is an older hotel that's been renovated, so there are remnants of the older property, such as the outside stairs, and a strange cross between an electronic key system and an old-fashioned key (vs. a card key where the code is changed with each guest). If we were staying in a larger city, both of these situations would have made me a bit nervous, security-wise. (I don't think the stairwell door was ever locked, unless it was quite late at night.) However, given the location, it was fine. It was also very quiet, despite being fully booked. The room itself was nothing special, but certainly adequate. The bathroom was small, but clean and relatively new. The mattress was not as firm I like but it was comfortable enough. I did object to the lighting. It always seemed dim to me, but that's not unique to this hotel. The folks at the front desk were very nice and pleasant. We didn't eat breakfast there as there were just too many people, but they did have fresh fruit, which was a plus. Someone mentioned that the hotel was too far away from downtown, but we ate a very nice restaurant in downtown Williams (Red Raven) that was only a little over a half a mile from the hotel. That said, Williams IS a small town, so keep that in mind when thinking about not just where to stay, but also where you're going to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 545 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is an older motel that has been updated. It's located west of the center of town, so it's a bit of a walk to downtown. Our room was clean. Most of the people there were older or with families, and although it was sold out, it was pretty quiet at night. Continental breakfast with a 'make your own waffle' machine.
There are a few things to be aware of: (1) There are no elevators. (2) It is 'bare bones' hospitality...no refrigerator or microwave, one little bottle of shampoo, one of lotion. (3) They've got the room doors set up so that the handle will not turn from the outside when you are closing the door, so that when people leave their rooms, they have to SLAM the door to close it tightly.
I think we would stay here again, because there's really nothing wrong with it at all...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed at this comfort in during our trip to Grand Canyon from Las Vegas. After spending two days in vegas we drove to Williams, Az and stayed at this comfort inn. After a four hour drive + stops at hoover dam, we arrived right on 4:00 and our clean, large comfortable room was waiting for us. The hotel did not seem busy and check in was quick. The hotel did fill up very quickly over the next few hours, and in my opinion seemed like one of the nicer hotels in the town of many hotels.

It is convenient to Route 66 (right on it), and the neat downtown area of Williams - about a 1 km walk or short drive, It is located less then a block from a large grocery store for supplies and right next door to a dollar general store for supplies / snacks.

This town is a very nice town, with a fun gunfight at 7:00 which our family really enjoyed. The night we were there the gunfight was between 2nd and 3rd streets and a crowd of around 100 people were watching - very fun, quaint, engaging time for kids and adults alike. The rest of the town is mainly hotels and restaurants, but really a nice small town, with no stoplights and laid back in every area. Very nice people at every business we went to. You could spend a day or two just roaming around this town and visiting the very nice outdoor patios / restaurants in the town.

Location of the hotel is on Route 66 which turns into the highway that goes right into Grand Canyon. It is a quick trip to the south rim as the highway speed on the two lane blacktop is a great 65 mph - so in less then an hour we were there from our early morning departure. Spent the day and watched the sunset at 7:15 and easily back to the town by 8:30 including a few extra stops on the way.

On our return, room was spotless and waiting for us to crash after a long day.

We had continental breakfast (included) both days. It was you typical Comfort Inn continental breakfast, but they did a better job then average in my mind keeping it stocked for the very large crowds that rotated through it. Seating seemed to be limited for the large hotel but we always seemed to find a table.

Since the hotel was non smoking, the rooms were fresh - only area of suggestion would be to include ashtrays outside of main exit doors to limit number of cigarette butts at entrances - but this was only a small thing and it seemed that at some point they had been cleaned up since there were not a lot.

Highly recommend this hotel in Williams - I suspect it might be the best in town, even though it does not have that rating yet on Trip Advisor.

Free High speed internet worked well. Nice indoor pool and spa with lots of towels - although pool and hottub was a little on the dirty side (sand etc)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank like2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in Comfort Inn Williams for a night after a day trip to Grand Canyon. The staff was friendly and the rooms were comfortable. When we got back in Las Vegas we realized that we left a laptop computer behind in the hotel lobby. Many thanks to the hotel staff for their prompt assistance in helping us to get our laptop back in time. We really appreciate their efforts and professionalism, which definitely enhanced our visit to Grand Canyon. We will come back and visit Grand Canyon and Comfort Inn again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank DaGuai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

It smelled new. The pool is nice on the side of the hotel. We had fun walking the town at night. The pizza place down the street was good. The gun fights were fun to watch. The breakfast was good. I could have stayed there longer it was really nice! There is a grocery store about a block away to walk to also. It is clean also.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alleyca21t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I don't know what I was expecting from a Comfort Inn but I was surprised, this was a really nice hotel. The room was nice, nice furnishings, the beds were very comfortable, it was clean and quite. We spent July 4th in Williams and had a blast. It's is fun little place to visit and the small town flair, perfect for the 4th of July. I can't wait to go back some day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel was nicely remodeled, the beds are not the worst, but hard to sleep on! Everything else was nice ,but breakfast was over way to early. Breakfast is over at 9 am, and the pool closes way to early on weekends & holidays. Pool closes by 9:30. People who are wanting a place to relax don't want to have to get up so early to be ready for breakfast, and would like to come back from the town 4th of July activities, and relax in the pool or hot tub! Pool is not in the middle of rooms nor has a lifeguard on duty, so why the early close times!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5inFamily85212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon

Address: 911 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $113 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your trip to the Grand Canyon, you can ensure it will be a success by booking our train package tour at the Grand Canyon Country Inn. Take in Sights and Sounds of the Grand Canyon National Park. Interesting Day Trips in Incredibly Beautiful Surroundings! We make all the necessary arrangements for the Amazing Tours on the Railway! Situated in Williams Arizona, 56 miles from Grand Canyon National Park. The perfect lodging spot for the vacation of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Comfort Inn Williams
Williams Comfort Inn
Williams Country Inn
Country Inn Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing