We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Strange Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

1st night ok, 2nd night up all night listening to stomping from room above us. Finally got back to sleep at 5 am then at 8:15 the vaccuming started. Wasn't happy but they did move us to upstairs room. We were told they had no Wi-fi access, come to find out they did. 3rd night ok, 4th night we sat with 3 different couples who could not get into their rooms because THE KEYS DID NOT WORK. Maintenance guy let the first 2 couples in, left then last couple showed up at midnight. They never did get in to their room. Overall, was not pleased with the stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeOrthonurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    233
    79
    29
    22
See reviews for
187
183
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

The location is good if you want to stay in the downtown area of Williams (along Route 66). The room we stayed in was on the top of the hotel (attic) , room # 11 that is spacious and has 2 double beds. The insulation isn't very good in the room and since you are on the top floor the room is stuffy and so we had to run the air conditioner (despite the 70 degrees outdoors). I did notice the room across the hall was much smaller but appeared to be cleaner and pleasant looking. We just had bad luck with the room we were given. The water pressure was awful, the wall paper was old and peeling, and ofcourse everything was dusty in the room. It looked like it hadn't been dusty in 6+ months. The cleaning lady did change the sheets upon my request but I had to dust the room myself since we had 2 nights reserved. If you are a light sleeper and like to be pampered this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingman
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

Since we couldn't find a hotel that had smoking rooms, the clerk at the Days Inn suggested this. I was quoted $89.99 plus tax. What was nice, the East Indian lady clerk gave me a key to check out the room first. I okayed it, simply because I was tired. We checked in and the cost came out to $100 and change!! Anyhow, the room is spacious, but either they need to renovate or are under renovation. But it was not worth the price. There is no clock in the room, nor a coffee pot nor a hairdryer. Although the front lobby is nice, the rooms not so much. My husband had to fix the window curtain, which was stained and icky. It was for one night and that was fine. However, the king size bed was perfect with it's firmness. Check in was fast and check out even faster. The continental breakfast was the normal cereal and bagels with coffee, but no juice. an okay place, but not worth the money.

  • Liked — check in and the king size bed
  • Disliked — room is either in renovation or really needs it. no clock, no coffee pot, no hairdryer.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Our third stay. We are always treated very nicely. If you experience any difficulty, the friendly management will take care of it for you.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — outside appearance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gateguy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

We chose this hotel after driving around Williams and looking at the options. We chose this hotel based on the AAA sign and the property's appearance from the outside. What a disappointment! After checking in we were informed that there really was no continental breakfast--just coffee and pre-packaged sweet rolls! But that was just the beginning of the unpleasant surprises. The carpet was worn leading to the back hallway, and the room left even more to be desired. Leaving aside the lack of a clock radio and hairdryer, which are pretty basic amenities these days, the room was not clean and plaster above the tub had fallen into the tub from the ceiling. There was plaster from the ceiling in the toilet, also, and there was toothpaste on the light switch, leading me to conclude that cleanliness just wasn't a priority.

When I checked out, I asked the desk clerk for a comment card and he said they didn't have any. If this place is truly AAA approved, they need to inspect it and reconsider.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank hermosaDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

This place was terrible. When the person working behind the counter greeted us and looked as if they just got out of bed, that should have been my first clue to turn around and walk out the door. However, the lobby was clean and we decided to get a room. Big mistake. The carpet in the hallway and stairs going to the 2nd level was very worn and hadn't been vacuumed for weeks. The room smelled stale and the bathroom was disgusting. Dirty/hairy wash cloth was hanging on the shower curtain rod. Kleenex dispenser looked as if someone either puked on it or peed on it. Not sure and don't want to know. Bed linens were old and worned and didn't look or smell fresh. We spent maybe 10 to 15 minutes in the room and left. Fortunately we got our money back and went to another hotel. I know the place is older but that's no reason for not keeping the place clean. Place still creeps me out. I'd rather sleep in my car. First impressions mean alot.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coloradofirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

We liked the Canyon Country Inn. The rooms were well adorned and comfortable. The only negatives were that there were boxes piled at the top of the stairs, they should have been stored elsewhere. Another is that there is no dining room. They left out a few continental breakfast items and we had to sit out on the porch. It was pleasant enough. We had fun at the Grand Canyon. Williams is a quaint little town too.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingPaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon

Property: Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Address: 911 West Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your trip to the Grand Canyon, you can ensure it will be a success by booking our train package tour at the Grand Canyon Country Inn. Take in Sights and Sounds of the Grand Canyon National Park. Interesting Day Trips in Incredibly Beautiful Surroundings! We make all the necessary arrangements for the Amazing Tours on the Railway! Situated in Williams Arizona, 56 miles from Grand Canyon National Park. The perfect lodging spot for the vacation of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Comfort Inn Williams
Williams Comfort Inn
Williams Country Inn
Country Inn Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing