We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep deprived and ignored”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sleep deprived and ignored”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Superficially, this refurbished hotel seems nice, and if you get a room on the second floor and have no reason to interact with the desk staff, then you might be tempted to rate this hotel as very good.

However if you get a ground floor room, and don't appreciate the sound of people on the second floor preparing for their Grand Canyon hikes at 5am, then you are advised to look elsewhere.

Furthermore, if you raise your concerns with the receptionist, you will be disappointed to discover that she will deal with your comments by ignoring you and pretending you're not really there. Weird. This was the catalyst to prompt my first ever TripAdvisor review.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello Roger G,

I apologize for the reasons that prompted you to use TripAdvisor review for the first time. Thank you for sharing with us your concerns during your stay at Comfort Inn.

Your comments regarding the service you received at our hotel are very important to us. Please be assured that we have called the attention of the front desk regarding this matter so that situations such as this will never happen again.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention. We hope that we would be given another chance to provide you with the hotel experience that you rightfully deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    237
    80
    29
    22
See reviews for
190
187
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Comfort Inn during our Polar Express train trip and it was wonderful. I was skeptical about the cleanliness of the hotel, but it exceeded my expectation and was wonderful. The front desk folks were very friendly and allowed us to check in an hour earlier. Stayed with kids and this place is close to everything in Williams. Breakfast had variety and was good. Would definitely recommend and will come back again soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hello Vasu S.,

We indeed find pleasure in reading reviews from our satisfied guests. Your positive comment ensures that we have met your exacting needs and customer service expectation/s. Thank you for the opportunity of providing you accommodation in our hotel.

We will continue on staying on top of our priority and that is to provide the quality of services that you all deserve. Your next visit will be very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Pontevedra, Spain
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here on our Route 66 holiday and we loved it , the hotel was clean and comfortable and with a good location , restaurants are fairly close to walk too but the town is really a very nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello love2travelGalicia,

We are glad that our team has met you preference during your stay in our hotel. Your comment assures us that we have provided you comfortable accommodation. We indeed value comments from our guests as it helps us address should we have shortcomings and be able to make further improvements.

Thank you for your choice to stay in our hotel and we look forward to having the3 chance to provide your lodging needs in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The rooms are average but neat and clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. We were there to visit friends that have a cabin near the Grand Cabin. I agree the TV changes volumes at each station but that's the cable issue not the hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Lilly D,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Comfort Inn.

We are so delighted that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us. We hope that your room was to your satisfaction.

We look forward for your next visit at Comfort Inn. If you have any concerns during your next stay, please don’t hesitate to call the attention of our staff. We are more than happy to attend to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 2 nights there for a pretty good price. The hotel is right next door to family dollar and Safeway which is a plus. Bathroom was small, but rooms were decent in size. My biggest complaint was the TV. It seemed like every channel had a different volume level and a very fuzzy picture. I really enjoyed the free breakfast buffet they had setup. That always saves travelers money! I would stay again for the right price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank reckless341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the TV set in the room assigned to you and your wife. We will address the matter immediately so that you and other guests will be more comfortable. We are glad though that other than the TV issue, we have provided you a comfortable accommodation in Comfort Inn.

Your reviews are important to us and we are committed to offering our guests the best value service. Please do not hesitate to call the attention of our staff on duty for any concern/s as they will be glad to assist you.

Thank you for choosing to stay in Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Comfort Inn was... well, comfortable, but with some caveats. It's just outside the town of Williams, so you'll have to walk further than usual to the town's center where most of the points of interest are. It is however right near a Safeway, so grocery shopping is convenient and quick. Since traffic was light during the time I visited, it was easy to get around using my rental.

I found the room comfortable but the bathroom especially small, that ever so common bane of hotel stays where the door closes inward and almost bangs against the toilet, leaving you with a claustrophobic feeling.

The dining table is arranged away from electrical outlets, making plugging and recharging my Apple gadgets inconvenient and a bit of an annoyance. The table top is also made of ceramic and hence difficult to use a mouse on. You find very quickly that they don't really pay close attention to the needs of those either traveling on business or who need office space to spread out their laptops, tablets and other geeky gadgets on.

If that wasn't enough, the WiFi was also a source of major irritation, not because the connection was poor, but because they used filtering software to BLOCK access to various sites, including Netflix, Hulu, (even Apple's iTunes and App Store??!?!) They offered higher tier connections for $5 and $15 respectively, but it gave no indication whether coughing up the cash would allow unfiltered access to the internet as well, just faster speeds.

You know, I've been traveling pretty extensively for over 4 years. While I've had no lack of WiFi issues, I have NEVER run into a hotel that restricted access to the internet the way this hotel did. I had been looking forward to watching a few shows on Hulu to decompress, so this was a very rude surprise for me.

Williams is a lovely town, and after a nightmarish experience in Tusayan (the closest town before reaching the Grand Canyons) I would wholeheartedly recommend using this town as the platform to visit the Canyons, even if it requires a 60 mile drive. But for those who live and breathe by their gadgets, I would recommend looking elsewhere in town for a more tech friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr Frank S.,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel. I apologize for our shortcomings and not being able to suffice your requirement especially for the facilities you need for your gadgets for work and relaxation. We will work closely to address the matter so that we can offer you a better, more enjoyable accommodation on your next visit in Comfort Inn.

Your reviews are valuable for us as it gives us added reference in identifying the aspect/s that we need to implement corrective measures and improvement.

We look forward to another opportunity to accommodate you in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean room comfortable bed. But the bathroom was two small for a large size person. Breakfast was nice made my own waffles. Enjoyed the walk through town and their dinner recommendation was excellent. Friendly front desk person. Check in was quick and smooth. I would comeback.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDeb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInn86046, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear RedDeb13,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Comfort Inn.

Your reviews are important to us as it ensures we have provided services and accommodation to your exacting preference. We appreciate very much your positive input on our staff and we hope to continue on providing your accommodation requirement in our hotel again soon.

We look forward to your next visit in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon

Property: Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Address: 911 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your trip to the Grand Canyon, you can ensure it will be a success by booking our train package tour at the Grand Canyon Country Inn. Take in Sights and Sounds of the Grand Canyon National Park. Interesting Day Trips in Incredibly Beautiful Surroundings! We make all the necessary arrangements for the Amazing Tours on the Railway! Situated in Williams Arizona, 56 miles from Grand Canyon National Park. The perfect lodging spot for the vacation of your dreams! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon Hotel Williams
Comfort Inn Williams
Williams Comfort Inn
Williams Country Inn
Country Inn Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing