We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dara Thai Cafe

Dara Thai Cafe
Ranked #16 of 57 Restaurants in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southlake, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was traveling from TX to CA and stopped for the evening in Williams. Based on several sources I decided to eat at this Thai restaurant. I can't say I am a Thai food expert, but I know what I like and don't like. I also don't like HOT (spicy) food, and am allergic to MSG. I was able to select the level of heat, and they DON'T use MSG. Highly recommended. I ordered take out so can't comment on the restaurant setting. I was there when they opened for the evening and had my food very quickly! One comment, finding the restaurant was a challenge (of course I did not want to ask anyone) as the address is on the main drag, but the entrance is on the side street. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    60
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
317 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I am not a seasoned critic of Thai food, but I know good food when I taste it! This place is wonderful! To start it is just a small place around the corner from Historic Route 66. I always love it when I walk into a Thai or otherwise Asian Restaurant and you find many customers of Asian descent sitting at the tables enjoying their meals. Well, this is exactly what happened when my wife and I walked in.

We shared a steamed chicken dumpling appetizer. If you are used to those that you get at an Asian buffet restaurant, well, you are in for a pleasant surprise! These were by far the best I have ever had! My dinner was a spicy seafood combination platter (I ordered a "3" on the spicy scale of 1-5, and it was pretty hot!). The sauce was genuine, and the bits of fish and shrimp were accompanied by snap peas, carrot stars, onions, mushrooms and other spices and flavors. My wife had a dish that had a funky name with "Evil Princess" ... something. She does not like much spice, so she told them so, and it had just a little zip. It was a chicken dish with a wonderful sauce. Both dinners were served piping hot on serving dishes with a bowl of Jasmine rice.

This food I put in the category of "lick the plate" good!

The menu is extensive, so you Thai lovers should find many things that you would like.

No Alcohol, but who needs it with food this good. Plenty of watering holes in this town to explore.

I think this is one place you don't want to miss!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenGruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Fork, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Thai for Williams AZ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very flavorful. Small place, you'll need to look for it, it's off the main drag. Worth looking for. Food comes out quick and hot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
316 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“You won't believe it...an excellent Thai in Williams, AZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

In this small, unassuming storefront on a side street, you'll experience some of the best Thai food anywhere. The decor is midwest quaint, not what you would expect with what comes out of the kitchen. What is served rivals meals I've had in Palm Springs, San Diego, and Los Angeles.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LightPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This little cafe offered attentive service, great variety, plentiful portions, and excellent Thai food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dara Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing