We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay food, High Prices, Long Lines--Convenient”
Review of Grand Depot Cafe

Grand Depot Cafe
Ranked #11 of 59 Restaurants in Williams
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay food, High Prices, Long Lines--Convenient”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our second trip to Williams and the Grand Canyon. We knew we loved Pine Country café for breakfast but the last time we went there before catching the train we were unable to get to the gun fight since the train was between us and the show. This year we decided to have breakfast at the Grand Depot Café which allowed us to be nearby the Cowboy Show at 9 a.m. before the train boards at 9:15 a.m. The prices are $9 for kids and $12 for adults. The children are 6 and 7 and don't eat much so it seemed a steep price for them. The food for adults leaves a lot to be desired--powdered eggs are not yummy. I decided to wait in line for the omelet bar which had only one person preparing individual omelets. I stood in line for 23 minutes to get a fresh omelet while my husband sat with the children. It is too expensive, too crowded and understaffed. The only reason we went there was to get to the show on time which we did. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    193
    159
    63
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate here because it was convenient before going on the train to the Grand Canyon. It was a little overpriced but the food was good. All the standard breakfast items plus an omelet station where they make fresh omelets to your specifications. Everything was fresh and hot and the service was good. I particularly liked all the toppings for oatmeal including granola, slivered almonds, walnuts and dried cranberries. We ate enough for breakfast that we didn't need lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DustyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Me and my dad thought it was better than the MGM Grand Buffet in Las Vegas which we ate at the day before we went here. The food was wonderful and good cooked, and the buffet was nice (but could've used more selections I suppose), but other than that it was wonderful and I liked it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Buffet style restaurant, Great food, nice variety. Was included in our package but the prices would be well worth it. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blsdjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Good Family Option”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow, I'm surprised by the vitriolic (that means hateful) reviews of this place here on tripadvisor! It's a buffet-style restaurant, people! What did you expect?

My family recently bought a multi-night package from the railway which included meals, so we ate two breakfasts and two dinners here, and all were fine experiences. Honestly, the two nights we had dinner here we noticed a difference in the quality of the food. On both nights the salad bar was nice with lots of fresh choices, but on the second night we ate there, the dinner meats were all quite dry and institutional-tasting. The first night, the carving station had nice, tender ham, and the buffet line had a flavorful coq au vin, but on our second night we were disappointed to find the quality of food was inconsistent. Desserts were rather average, and the coffee was weak, which we found to be true in many of the restaurants we visited on this trip. (Surely that's not a western thing?)

Breakfast was good, too, except for the weak coffee. Again, there were plenty of choices and we found the food quality to be quite good. One thing that struck us as odd was that one side of the buffet line is a made-to-order station (eggs in the morning, pasta at dinner). For some reason, the line at this station was always ridiculously long and spilled over to the regular buffet line where access to fully half the buffet was blocked. A simple solution would be those velvet ropes to channel the line so that it wouldn't block half the other serving lines, but maybe that doesn't happen every day (though it happened every time we were there.)

The servers at the cafe, like all the staff we encountered at the hotel, gifts shop, depot, etc., were exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you are any kind of snob at all, I guess you should just avoid buffet restaurants altogether, but our family found this to be a clean, convenient place to get good meals during our trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaJaneite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Depot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing