We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time”
Review of Williams Depot

Williams Depot
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This train station, built in 1908, is the boarding point of the Grand Canyon Railway.
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Yes the depot is mostly a gift shop, but part is still set up the way the old train stops were. All around the building you will find bits from the past. My Mother was thrilled when one of the folks there took the time to tell her about the place and its history. Great folks work here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CruisingNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    152
    31
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ash Fork, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is a bit bland, good service.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food needs some salt. On the whole the food is good and is Buffet style. The wait staff is always attentive-which is a plus. Nice gift shop at entrance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Get there early for the wildwest show”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Williams Depot Williams, AZ
If you are travelling along Route 66, you will have done your research, and this will be on your list of things to do, and it’s a fabulous place, arrive early, and make the most of your visit here, you will not be disappointed.
The Williams Depot, is the station the catch the train to the Grand Canyon, at about 9-9.30 as everyday they have a wild west show, but it get v/busy, and guess who they dragged up, yes me, really embarrassed , after my fifteen minutes of fame we walked into the town to the Red Garter , and then for morning coffee, have your camera ready, and visit all the shops.
A really good stop, not to be missed.

All my reviews are written from the heart, and how each place made me feel, I never write a negative review, due to the fact that if I have a problem or complaint, I open my mouth while I am there, let’s be fair and give people a chance to rectify problems, stop all this negativity.

Lee Wood at Pendle Pictures

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V
Level Contributor
231 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the trains and gift shop”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were at the station to pick up tickets, shop and catch the train. The staff was friendly and the service was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lms1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Historic Train Depot for a Historic Train (Grand Canyon Railroad)”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just look around at the at the depot and see history from the time they started the Grand Canyon Railroad. You see people dressed up which makes you think you were back in the 40's. Actors put on skits of the old west to make you feel like getting on a horse and ride away. They even put on a train robbery which is exciting. There is also a gift shop and resturant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williams Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing