We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Williams
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Grand Canyon Railway
from $117.99
More Info
from $117.99
More Info
Reviews (8,653)
Filter reviews
8,653 results
Traveler rating
6,287
1,439
462
215
250
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,287
1,439
462
215
250
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first class train robbery polar express dome car train attendant return trip grand canyon north pole pullman car great trip luxury parlor train experience observation dome luxury dome cookies cafe car coach class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 8,653 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Grand Canyon Railway was a fun and nostalgic trip. Lived in Arizona and this was our first time on the train. The depot is amazing. Lots of souvenirs and snacks to choose. The staff and crew all so helpful and super friendly. A comical gunfight and story starts your adventure and continues throughout your ride. The train is beautifully restored, clean and comfortable. Thought we would be in an open air car but maybe too late in the year. Drinks and food are available on the train but you must walk back to the rear. Bring snacks and drinks just in case your overly hungry. Lots of history narrated and interesting. A perfect way to the Grand Canyon.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank MattaMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked this spontaneously when we realized we had an extra day off in a few days. We didn't want to go through the hassle of planning everything ourselves, so we booked a package.

The hotel is fine, the buffet was alright. The train ride was nice but somewhat disappointing - I thought there would be a lot more scenery. Don't bother with the dome add-on.

We also booked the freedom bus tour, which in January was probably a decent idea as it was much colder than we were expecting. If we were going any other time we wouldn't book the bus - our bus driver stopped a lot to look at elk and the wildlife (Uhhh I am here to see the CANYON not elk.).

In theory, you could instead use the free shuttle but the trouble is, you only get 3 hours at the canyon with the day trip. That's not really enough time to use the shuttle. Definitely get your lunch at the Maswick - none fo the other restaurants move you fast enough to utilize your time well.

We barely got to pop in to the Hopi House and a Lookout.

I can't wait to come back again - but we won't utilize this service.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank ashleycrutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to do the Train for the first day of our two days at the canyon. We are glad we did it. We just paid for coach and dont think we would have really gotten value for money for any more expensive tickets, but I am sure others might find value in it.
The on board entertainment really helped break up the trip which was good as it is a long trip, on the way back i would say at least a third of our carriage was asleep.
We went in winter but noticed the space got very warm on the way back.
I wouldn't recommend this if you only have a single day and want to spend a good amount of time at the rim (Our kids did not have time to do the junior ranger program on the train day),

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank qazphilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

This was a great ride! Amber Rose is an excellent attendant, very informational and fun! All the employees went out of their way to make sure everyone was smiling. I would definitely recommend for kids.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank Divaact1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

We took the train from Williams to the Grand Canyon and really enjoyed the experience. Our day started with a western reenactment. We boarded the train and learned about the area, were entertained, serenaded, and enjoyed taking to some of the people sitting near us. We rode in the dome car which had a great view. We took the freedom tour on a bus and got to see different parts of the Canyon. We s as the lunch and walked around before boarding the train. The return trip we had a toast and a man sang a few sings and we got to see a herd of elk. Once again we enjoyed taking to people sitting around us. It was a bitterly cold day, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Pagenabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews