We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place to stay while visiting Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
18
Reviewed June 28, 2005

I stayed in this lodge while visiting South Rim of Grand Canyon. Although more expensive suites in this lodge may be OK, the Sportsman and Wildlife rooms are terrible. Wildlife room has the toilet separated from bed only by a curtain, so you can feel the odour while you sleep (It's more like a Jail room). The space in this room is too less and is not enough for even a single person. Sportsman room is little spacious but only half the size of a standard hotel room. The themes in lodge rooms should be appreciated and the breakfast provided is wonderful, so not a bad place to spend one night but not more than that. Lodge staff is not coordinating in terms of reservations and cancellations.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Pointe Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2005

Stayed here 2 nights in January. Thick snow all around and very cold. Room comfortable but very cold and draughty and lacked any sort of coffee or tea making facilities. Not quite what we expected but owners were very friendly and it was OK for a couple of nights.

5  Thank Sheepshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2005

We serve coffee and tea every morning. Coffee/tea machine available for every room on request.
Every room has an independent heater, some have two. We are not sure the Glouchester England visitors are refering to the right B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Del Rio, TX
15
Reviewed July 10, 2004

Fabulous accomodations. My family and myself had a great 3 day stay at the Lodge. Estefana and Greg were great hosts. They make a 'mean' breakfast. The "little town" atmosphere mixed with the Route 66 fame.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kensington, MD
14
Reviewed June 2, 2004

Greg and Estefana make you feel like family. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic and the host and hostess are superb! We stayed in the Harley Davidson Room which my wife and I really enjoyed. They even held some of our luggage for us while we stayed overnight at the Grand Canyon. Like I said . . . you are treated like family at the Mountain Country Lodge. This is definitely the place to stay in Williams, AZ.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
losn angeles, ca
13
Reviewed June 2, 2004

This is a great place to stay when you visit the grand canyon and you don't want to stay in the park. The rooms are great, the breakfest is a real breakfest and not just coffee and donuts but the best of all are the lovely couple who run the place and let you feel like your at home.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2004

We went to Williams for 3 days as a side trip after spending 4 days in Vegas. Our first time at a B&B and we would definitely go back again. The rooms have themes (we stayed in the Deer Room). A little smaller than we expected but adequate with a separate entrance. Greg and Stef were great hosts and the full breakfast included in the price cannot be beat - waffles, pancakes, eggs plus they brought out plates of cut fresh fruit. Day 1 we went on the Grand Canyon Railroad which I highly recommend. Day 2 we went to the Canyon on our own and took the Desert View Drive and came back through Flagstaff where we stopped at Wupatki Sunset Crater Volcano (a totally different scene than the canyon). We went to Black Bart's for dinner and the show. You have to visit the little shops in Williams with all the Historic Route 66 memorabilia. Had to stop at the old fashioned ice cream shop, Twisters to cap off the day. Had a great visit and would return again.

    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Breadhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
las vegas, nv
15
Reviewed May 18, 2004

from the moment we arrived we were impressed. very quaint, sweet get away spot that feels like home. owners are very pleasant, friendly and helpful people. None of that "continental breakfast" crap here. Stef will hook ya up with a "stick to your ribs" REAL breakfast to start the day right!! She'll even make you a lunch for the road.We will definitely be back.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.0 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Pointe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Pointe Lodge

Address: 437 W Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046-2429 (Formerly Mountain Country Lodge)
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $100 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Buffalo Pointe Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Route 66 original. This Bed and Breakfast dates to 1909 as a lumber barrons mansion, then the bus stop and Mayors' house. Located downtown Williams and 45 minutes from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Pointe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing