We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop on your way to the Grand Canyon!”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2007

This is a real neat place that has an AWESOME staff. We stayed in the Parlor room and you could feel the history all around you. In the morning we were greeted by John, the owner, who served up some of the morning's GREAT pastries and a nice cup of coffee. He took time to tell all the guests the history of Williams as well as the Red Garter. Definitely will go back and recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mattandmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 268 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2007

We rode into Williams after a day riding through Grand Canyon. Our trip had been going on for a while and our funds were running low, but when we saw the building, we walked in & took rooms without hesitations and it was worth it even so there may be cheaper motels/hotels in town.
It's a neat idea to combine a bakery with really yummie bread & cakes (breakfast was a dream!) with a hotel. The owner gave us lots of good info about the building and the town and we loved our room with en-suite shower/bath. The entire building has been lovingly restored and our room featured some of the original graffiti from Wild West times on the wall next to our bed.
An excellent, friendly place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GulfWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2006

We picked the Red Garter as it seemed a fun and unusual place to stay - it didn't disappoint us.

John was the perfect host helping us with what we could see and do in the area and chatting to us about anything.

Debra was great as well serving up breakfast to keep us going throughout the day, afternoon tea when we got back (love those blueberry scones!) and always happy to chat to us.

The whole building has been renovated so well by John, the rooms are beautiful and it is all a real credit to him.

If any of us return to Arizona (I hope to) we would certainly stay at the Red Garter again.

Thank you John and Debra for making us feel so welcome.

Gill, Margaret & Derek Cox (UK)

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

This was our second visit to this unique and charming Bed and Breakfast. This time we were travelling with my brother and sister-in-law and had no doubt they would love it as much as we did. I was right; we all had a great time. You can't have a better time than meeting John Hoist, the innkeeper, and his friendly, capable staff. The 18th century brothel is full of history and John is more than glad to join you for breakfast (or anytime) and give you the most enjoyable history lesson you've ever had. John has done a beautiful job of restoring the building and keeping it in it's original decor. It is unique, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was a treat at the table reserved for guests and Deborah's pastries were absolutely delicious. John is also very good about helping you make the most of your northern Arizona visit. He and Deborah had many suggestions and tips for us esp. about the Grand Canyon. We opted for the train ride to the Canyon this time and truly enjoyed it. The train station is right across the street. It was great fun; we saw wildlife and were treated very well except of course for the "robbery"!! Williams is a great little town; also being a Route 66 town. Take some time to walk the main street of this very interesting town; there are some unique stores and lots and lots of history. The next time you plan a trip to northern Arizona, don't miss your chance to stay at this unforgettable Bed and Bakery!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kermie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

Our extended family of 6 enjoyed our one night stay in the Madam's room and Big Bertha's room very much. The decorations bring back the early times of the building ( 1920-40s) but the amenities ( beds, bathrooms, windows and doors) are of excellent quality and very well cared for. The host is wonderful, knowledgeable and made our brief stay very pleasant indeed. The breakfast ( and all the attention) is also well worth it. We would definitely stay at the Red Garter on our next trip in the region.

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank New_Mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

We stayed for two nights at the Red Garter and had a fantstic time. All the rooms are themed and are beautifully decorated.
We were in the Best Gals room which is opposite the Train Station for the Grand Canyon Tour (a must if you are in Williams).

The owner, John, is very knowledgable and has lots of stories re the history of Williams and the Red Garter. It was great to stay somewhere with geniuine character and with such a nice genuine host.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AbbotsLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

The Red Garter is a unique find in an area crowded with boring chain hotels. We loved staying here. The staff sent us on a unique trip to Walnut Canyon, the Hopi house and few other places that ended us on the east side of the grand canyon. Less traffic, less crowds and a lot more to do. I am so thankful we didn't waste the money on the train.

If you are looking for a hot breakfast this isn't the place for you. They serve all the pastries, fruit and coffee you can stand but that is it. However, the pastries and coffee are great. They packed us a breakfast to go on our last day that was enough for lunch too.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VicVillageGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.6 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#3 of 30 in Williams
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: $149 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing