We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Great Location, Great Renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Clean, Great Location, Great Renovation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

We booked the Red Garter because of its proximity to the Grand Canyon train station and because we anticipated staying in a building out of the old west. We were not disappointed. The rooms are immaculate and the renovation is very well done. Indeed, the ambiance is genuine old west. There a few things to note, however. 1) Our room (the double king bed room), though spacious, did not have sufficient place to put the luggage of four people. There was no comfortable chair to relax. 2) The location is great; at times a little too great. Though it didn't bother us at all, music emanated from the restaurant next door until about 12:00 (a Wednesday). Also, again, though it didn't bother us, the train blew a very pleasant whistle several times in the night. But this I think would be heard by one staying in any of the city's hotels. 3) The breakfast consists of cereal, pastries and fruit. Eggs and sausage are not on the menu. The John, the owner, and the lady who prepared and served breakfast were very friendly, pleasant and accommodating. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Red Garter Inn..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o517375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    44
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
144
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Red Garder is a former brothel, now a great bed and breakfast hotel complete with a bakery. The staff are fantastic, with lots of advice on the best way to visit the Grand Canyon and other nearby sights. Breakfast is provided in the bakery, and nothing is too much trouble. Williams, which is about 60 miles from the south rim of the Grand Canyon, has a good range of places to eat, and more souvenir shops than you could ever need. As an added plus, it mean you're staying on the famous Route 66. A great place to stay in a nice little town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Red Garter last week. The room was large and clean. The morning pastries included in the price were wonderful. John is very helpful with sightseeing suggestions and gave us a great oral history of his inn. Williams is a nice little town centrally located for visiting the Grand Canyon or catching the train. The Red Garter is the best in this little town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenciv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Very charming bed & breakfast with helpful friendly staff. Small bakery & souvenir shop downstairs provides a complimentary breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms. Only downfall having to carry our heavy suitcases up the stairs. Part of the old Route 66 so quite historic and a good place to base yourself if driving out to the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights in the "best gal's room" and loved it. Each room is unique and has real charm and character. The b&b is right next to the railway and ideal for catching the train to the grand canyon, but we had no trouble with noise. The owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Williams itself is rather small and quiet (in the winter at least) but we had a lot of fun exploring the quirky restaurants, diners and bars. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBrit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Red Garter. We stayed there after spending the day at the Grand Canyon. It was a short 1 hour drive from the Canyon to Williams. We were hungry and tired when we arrived, so we didn't spend a lot of time chatting with the people there. We went next door to the Mexican restaurant and had a quick, filling meal. When we returned to our room, the owner, John, came up to make sure our room was as expected and if we needed anything. We assured him everything was fine and we gladly collapsed into bed.

We were very pleased with the room. It was comfortable and cute. We stayed in the Madam's Room. There were several other guests staying there and we were concerned that it would be noisy, but we had no problems.

The next morning, we went down to breakfast. We had the cinnamon rolls, which were outstanding! There was a large group of bikers that had come for breakfast. Some of their group was staying there, but since there were limited rooms, some of them stayed in other places and they met up for breakfast. John, the owner was very gracious, and came to apologize for seemingly ignoring us while he had his hands full with the group. We assured him there was no problem and we were just enjoying our breakfast.

He asked us our plans for the day and we told him we were driving to Las Vegas. He took out a map and gave us great directions, pointing out areas of interest along the way. He is extremely knowledgable and helpful and obviously enjoys what he does.

When we were leaving, he asked if we wanted our picture taken in front of the building. I told him I would love to, but I used up my batteries at the Grand Canyon and we needed to find somewhere to pick some up. He then proceeded to get out a big pack of batteries and give me four for my camera at no charge!

We had our pic taken in front, me in a feather boa and my husband in a tall hat. It's one of our favorites from the whole trip.

This is a fantastic place to stay while visiting the Grand Canyon. It's an easy drive and much more charming than the other park accomadations. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — Location; charm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnygrl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

A home away from home. Rooms clean and spacious with nice period details. Breakfast - fresh pastries (the apple-walnut strudel is to die for) and flowing coffee- low key and relaxing ... no rush to vacate the table. Staff friendly, helpful and informative - nothing is too much for them - just ask and you get. Great suggested day trips. Williams is a great little town with many stories .. including ghosts. Hopefully, we will be back.

Chris & Lynn
Katonah, NY

  • Liked — The history and the welcome of the hosts
  • Disliked — Would have like to eat dinner there - the breakfast was SOOO good!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Groucho914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.4 mi away
Sheridan House Inn
Sheridan House Inn
#1 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Property: Red Garter Inn
Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing