We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great breakfast, great hosts, great advice!”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great room, great breakfast, great hosts, great advice!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is exactly the sort of quirky place that me and my wife love. We'd booked the train trip to the Grand Canyon and were looking for somewhere friendly and charming to stay within walking distance of the railway. Step forward Red Garter. Angie was the lady that checked us in and she was amazing. She gave us a brilliant 10 minute history of the inn, which used to be a saloon and a brothel and explained what used to go on in various parts of it! It was great fun. She also had fantastic advice re local eateries and explained the best way for us to get the most out of our Grand Canyon trip. We also met John the owner and he was equally friendly. The room was awesome although some may need a stepladder to get on the bed! It was ridiculously high but it all added to the quirky charm. Breakfast was coffee, juice, fruit and pastries - that might not sound much....until you see the most amazing pastries ever. The cinnamon rolls were incredible. The shop part of the inn is great too, but be careful you could spend a fortune! Altogether a fantastic choice. Why would anyone stay in the huge hotel by the station when they can have this?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0utFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
145
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for a family get-together. Friendly, clean, comfortable, and delicious pastries. Angie was awesome. Perfect location for taking the train trip. Walk to most of the restaurants and stores, as well as the train.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

beautifully restored by the owner, there is no doubt at all that the rooms upstairs had a previous purpose and the owner has tastefully (apart from the dummy harlot hanging out of our window.....) shown that. The greeting was very friendly and combined with coffee and cookies as we chatted. It is a bit of a lug upstairs with the luggage but apart from that superb. Breakfast was good continental style which may not suit the more enthusiastic eaters. Don't be put off by the railway in front - it doesn't operate except for the tours.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front if you want a laugh. check out their website for pictures of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summersville,wv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is "by far" the worse B&B we had ever stayed in. I expect the comforts & cleanliness of home.(Especially for $152.00 a night) The room is somewhat larger than a walk in closet. No desk, only one bedside table, no microwave or fridge in room (wouldn't have room for them anyway!) The bathroom is very tiny, no way two could be in there at the same time, Amenities are zero. The 17 stairs to all four bedrooms are sooo steep & stairwell is dark & gloomy. The bedroom linens are worn, blanket was dirty without top sheet to cover it. Room had no thermostat and no air! Was uncomfortable to say the least. Bottom line, whenever we have guests, I make sure they have everything possible to ensure a clean, comfortable place to stay.. I expect this also whenever I am away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phyllisWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwholst, Owner at Red Garter Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear PhyllisWv,
Thank you for your comments about your stay. While we will may not meet the comforts you provide for your own guests, we can't get complacent about the cleanliness of our Inn. We haven't had that complaint in nineteen years and will strive to never get a second one. Travelers who frequent B&B's usually find the unique features, different from motels and their own homes, to be the joy of traveling. We feel badly you didn't find the comfort you expected at our Inn. jwholst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We read lots of info in TA about hotels in Williams and at the Grand Canyon. Being that we wanted to view what's on and around Arizona Route 66 we decided to stay in Williams. Lots of hotel choices but only the Red Garter peaked our interest - what a great decision. Located in the mid of a thriving robust town with lots of tourist shopping, art galleries and restaurants, not to mention right across the road from the Grand Canyon train station (all within walking distance). The Red Garter is a perfect choice in a perfect location.

Easy to park in front, we entered the bakery to register for our room. We entered a very clean and quaint bakery and gift store. Nancy met us and immediately we felt welcome - I just love boutique/b&b type accommodations. We were provided all the information we needed such as please help yourself to complimentary goodies, sodas and waters any time you wish; provided a little history of the hotel and town; recommendations of where to eat (try the Red Raven which is directly behind the hotel); the code to free wi-fi; where to buy wine; how to's regarding Grand Canyon, etc. The atmosphere and owner John and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Returning from our dinner and souvenir shopping, Nancy saw we had bought a bottle of wine and immediately offered us some glasses to enjoy our beverages.

Breakfast includes gourmet coffee drinks, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and fresh and yummy fresh baked goods. What a bonus. It was nice that you could get a coffee as early as 6:00 am and breakfast was available at 7:00 am. This was very convenient as we had to leave by 7:30 to catch our helicopter flight at the Grand Canyon and many places don't serve breakfast until later and usually at only one sitting time. Angie was a great host.

We stayed in the Best Gals room which was nice to have the large room with sitting area. We viewed 2 other rooms and they where small but also had that quaint vintage style. The Big Bertha's room was large with 2 beds, good for a family but not as quaint but it did have the nice claw foot tub and small outside balcony - 4 rooms in total.

The website identifies the room rate and I thought it was a bit pricey but when you add in the snacks, drinks and breakfast, it really is a bargain - much cheaper than having to pay for a room and breakfast separately. Plus, you would miss the wonderful authentic and historical brothel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong & Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here a night with my husband while driving Route 66. I loved this place. We stayed in the 'Big gals room' which had its own sitting room. The room was really lovely. A welcoming coffee and pastry from the downstairs bakery was a nice touch. Breakfast was really good, again from the bakery. John was a fabulous host. Would recommend anyone wanting something other than a hotel to stay in to stay here. Fabulous B&B .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfos63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night in room 4.
Outstanding service – friendly, hospitable, knowledgeable.
Great location in the centre of town, but this did mean we could hear music coming from a nearby bar; the ice machine too and other guests walking up the hall. We weren’t lying awake because of it but we did notice it.
Location was convenient too in terms of accessing the Grand Canyon.
Breakfast was nice, good selection/plenty of variety and good coffee.
Overall the room was dated but clean and comfortable enough.
Pricey for what it is, but you are paying for the novelty value of staying in a former brothel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwholst, Owner at Red Garter Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sydney guest. Thanks for your visit and the kind words about our service. Future guests should note that we are in the center of a vibrant, tourist oriented downtown and surrounded by great restaurants, gift shops, art galleries and yes, a few clubs with live music. Williams is truly a reborn Route 66 roadside attraction. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Property: Red Garter Inn
Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing