We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Bordello Turned B&B Is a Fabulous Find!!”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haunted Bordello Turned B&B Is a Fabulous Find!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I wanted to take my mom and good friend on a girls Grand Canyon train ride/overnight trip but wasn't thrilled with the standard hotel option with the train tickets. I did a little research and found the Red Garter Inn. We were all thrilled with our stay here. It is an adorable place, very well maintained, loaded with history and charm, and the owner and staff are very excited to give tours and tell ghost stories. We loved the Big Bertha Suite and the bakery is wonderful for a light breakfast in the morning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNurse338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    45
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
145
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Red Garter Inn is located in the center of Williams and within in walking distance to the Grand Canyon Railway, museums, shops, restaurants, and night entertainment. My friends and I stayed at the Red Garter Inn for a birthday/St. Patrick's Day celebration...and to search for the "other ladies" who once resided in the old west "Brothel". The rooms were spotless and very inviting. Great gift shop in the lobby. The aroma of the cinnamon rolls baking in the oven allured us down to breakfast in the morning. During our stay it began to snow--a lot! Our host, John Holst, went beyond the call of duty by shoveling a pathway to our vehicles parked across the street and cleaning the ice and snow off the windows. Ghosts? Yes, there was a visit early in the evening. How could they not be curious listening to a group of other women laughing and opening birthday gifts! Go back in time and enjoy a simpler way of life--stay in a genuine old brothel. These days guests face temptations of another sort--a variety of pastry treats from the bakery!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookin4ghosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night in Sept 2011 - owner/host was perfect - lots of stories about the Grande Canyon and Williams. If you love history, and the Ol' West - this is a must. Only disappointment ... no rattling chains/ghostly visits!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Red Garter Inn is located right in the heart of the historic district in Williams. Innkeeper John, is an amazing host. Deborah, the Assistant Innkeeper, was so warm and friendly too. The rooms are decorated with an old west "Brothel" motif, and very comfortable. We stayed in the Madame's Room, and were very comfortable. Breakfast service consisted of an assortment of freshly made pastries, and other home baked items, yogurt, cereal, sliced fruit, juice, and great coffee. We stayed 3 nights, and this location was a perfect base for great day trips to Sedona, Flagstaff, Jerome, and the Grand Canyon. We could have easlily stayed another 3-4 nights, and will, if our travels ever take us back to Williams Arizona.

Room Tip: We would book the larger room next time if available, but really enjoyed the Madame's Room too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillcrestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Myself, husband and two sons (16 and 20) stayed at the Red Garter for 3 nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. What an AWESOME B&B! The room was great. Two queen-size beds, the bathroom was spacious and clean. We even had a little "balcony". The workmanship of the renovation is impeccable. The owner, John, was very helpful with information concerning travelling to the canyon and other locations. The breakfast was wonderful. The hosts are VERY accommidating and friendly. Highly recommend for families or couples. B&B's are not usually family friendly, but this one is a great one for families. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance for dinner. We hope to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here in October 2011 for 4 nights and had a great time. John and his staff were very welcoming and friendly and John was great with recommendations for local trips even providing maps. We stayed in the Best Gal's room which was at the front of the B&B and consisted of a bedroom plus little parlour. You could hear the occasional whistle from a train in the night but we felt the sound added to the wild west experience. Breakfast consisted of delicious freshly baked pastries. We loved staying in Williams it has a real community feel and staying at the Red Garter with its historic associations was brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanngrant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had an enjoyable evening here. We booked a room at the rear as we were afraid of the train. The place has a lot of old world charm and could probably do with a little sprucing up but the welcome is charming and you know the bread for breakfast is fresh from the bakery.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Property: Red Garter Inn
Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing