We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving at the Grand Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving at the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

Train ride to the canyon was great and the hotel was simply beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    662
    286
    88
    36
See reviews for
717
614
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

The hotel and railway are the only way to see the canyon. The hotel is beautiful and a great way to relax before or after your trip to the Grand Canyon.

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MelindaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

While traveling to the Western United States, we stopped over in Williams July 3-5, 2009. Our children, ages 8 and 16, loved the hotel and train ride into the Grand Canyon. The hotel was very clean and the front desk staff very friendly. We did the Breakfast and Dinner Buffet twice. If you are expecting gourmet food, fixed to perfection and seasoned to your taste, this isn't the place for you. If you just want a decent meal, the breakfast was the best with many choices and the dinner buffett rated an 7 out of 10, you will be fine. The host and attendants were very cheerful and attentive. There are several restaurants within walking distance that you can choose.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftystateswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

The decorations on the grounds were fantastic, a well done touch to enhance the atmosphere. The lobby was very nice, the room was par. We purchased the package for the Polar Express, it is a decent deal and worth doing once. If we do it again we would probably stay someplace else. It was convenient to get dressed in your pajamas and walk down to the train depot. Our child loved the whole experience! The food was ok not horrible but not great, I would not pay for it if it was not included in the package. All of the staff was great, check in/out, food service, and train staff, Kudos!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfunlovetheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

I recently stayed 2 nts ( pre and post Railroad ) in October. No complaints the hotel was very nice. Not too large so that you got lost and a nice ( little) indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center. All are small, but functional. We ate at the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner and were pleased with the selections. It is definately the most convenient option if you are doing the railraod to the canyon, by far.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brandinecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

My husband and I took our handicapped adult daughter here for two nights as part of a AAA Grand Canyon Railway trip. The accessible room was excellent and the service superb. Everyone we dealt with was accommodating and responded immediately to special requests that made this a memorable trip for all of us. The restaurant was better than many of the reviews we read though it emphasized quantity more than quality. Pretty good for a mass market meal.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

The Hotel is big and well updated. The lobby has a big fireplace. The rooms are quiet, although trains will go by and you will hear the horns. Our window heater/ac unit never shuts off. I prefer the models that reach the desired temp and shut down for a while until needed again. The mattresses are okay. I would compare the rooms to a very good Comfort Inn/Quality Inn type. The indoor pool looked nice.

This is perfect if you take the Polar Express ride. It is wonderful to step off the train and take a short walk into your room instead of into your cold car in the same parking lot. Plan ahead for dinner. We shorted our time before the 8pm train and when we got back, everything was closed in town and at the hotel except for the Pub next to the lobby. It was quite a sight, I'm sure to see 6 adults and 8 children sit down in a bar in their PJ's.

I almost forgot. BIG tip...there is NO internet access in the room. There is a strong unsecured wireless signal in the (large, 2-floor) lobby, though. charge up your battery and head down there when you start to itch for the internet.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank marcjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing