We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,551)
Filter reviews
2,551 results
Traveler rating
1,177
846
367
102
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,177
846
367
102
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspackage dealmaswik lodgetrain tripdinner buffetnight packagedome carpasta bargrand canyon railwaypasta stationdepot cafetrain robberyincluded mealsdeluxe roomtaking the trainbuffet stylewild west showsouth rim
Filter
Updating list...
2,233 - 2,238 of 2,551 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2009

I recently stayed 2 nts ( pre and post Railroad ) in October. No complaints the hotel was very nice. Not too large so that you got lost and a nice ( little) indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center. All are small, but functional. We ate at the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner and were pleased with the selections. It is definately the most convenient option if you are doing the railraod to the canyon, by far.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
Thank brandinecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

My husband and I took our handicapped adult daughter here for two nights as part of a AAA Grand Canyon Railway trip. The accessible room was excellent and the service superb. Everyone we dealt with was accommodating and responded immediately to special requests that made this a memorable trip for all of us. The restaurant was better than many of the reviews we read though it emphasized quantity more than quality. Pretty good for a mass market meal.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

The Hotel is big and well updated. The lobby has a big fireplace. The rooms are quiet, although trains will go by and you will hear the horns. Our window heater/ac unit never shuts off. I prefer the models that reach the desired temp and shut down for a while until needed again. The mattresses are okay. I would compare the rooms to a very good Comfort Inn/Quality Inn type. The indoor pool looked nice.

This is perfect if you take the Polar Express ride. It is wonderful to step off the train and take a short walk into your room instead of into your cold car in the same parking lot. Plan ahead for dinner. We shorted our time before the 8pm train and when we got back, everything was closed in town and at the hotel except for the Pub next to the lobby. It was quite a sight, I'm sure to see 6 adults and 8 children sit down in a bar in their PJ's.

I almost forgot. BIG tip...there is NO internet access in the room. There is a strong unsecured wireless signal in the (large, 2-floor) lobby, though. charge up your battery and head down there when you start to itch for the internet.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank marcjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel in Williams, took the train out to the Canyon, stayed there a night, then back to the hotel in Williams. No doubt one can find less expensive hotels in Williams, but the convenience was worth it. The hotel is clean, with an indoor pool and spa, and comfortable rooms. It's a few feet from the train station. Once you check in, luggage is transferred to the train, to the Grand Canyon hotel, and back. No muss, no fuss and very little delay either for checking back in or for luggage. In the hotel, Spencer's Pub provides decent coffee in the morning and light meals, as well as some decent local beer. We choose not to eat at the Railroad Buffet since it was very expensive in my opinion both for breakfast and dinner. For breakfast we walked about a block into town and found a great restaurant and bakery. I'd read some reviews here in Tripadvisor that had me a little leery about the hotel but we were quite comfortable. And given that temperatures in Williams dropped to the teens at night, we really appreciated their lovely roaring fire in the lobby fireplace!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyJLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This was our second stay at Williams, first time was 10 years ago at the Holiday Inn. This time we managed to get rooms at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Our stay was nice, the rooms were clean and nice. We used Verizon Wireless for internet access, which worked fine. Food at the restaurant was reasonably ample, varied, and tasty (this was part of the AAA package we bought).

Having said all that though, this hotel could be a whole lot more if it had more facilities (business area, gym, park/seating area outside, etc). There's not much to do outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEKNSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews