We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - Eat Somewhere Else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Eat Somewhere Else!”
Reviewed September 27, 2009

While we liked the location and convenience to the railroad, we were very disappointed with our stay at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The staff was unfriendly, the room was sparse, the tv had lousy reception with about five working channels, limited bath ammenities, and no Internet access. Worst of all were the meals at the Depot Cafe that resembled a college dorm in both ambience and food quality. The second night, we ditched our food coupons and walked into downtown Williams for great barbecue ribs. If we made this trip again, we would stay at one of the other hotels in the area that are also close to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS_ArlHts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    687
    306
    88
    38
See reviews for
751
649
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My husband and I received this trip from our children as a 40th wedding anniversary gift. After careful research, we booked the AAA "Rails to the Rim" package. Using AAA affords a sizeable discount on the package. We chose the three night package which included two nights in Williams and one at the Maswik lodge at the rim. This package allowed plenty of time at the rim. The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was enjoyable and the staff there was also helpful. We were not particularly impressed with the food at the Maswik. The room was a fairly long walk from the check-in, but was clean and comfortable. . The train was relaxing and clean. The entertainment was excellent. Overall, this was a most relaxing and enjoyable experience. It was everything we had hoped for.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Very convenient location, next to the Grand Canyone Railyway. No internet in room so you need to take your laptop to lobby. The t.v. is so out-dated, bad reception. So didn't watch t.v. at all. There is an indoor swimming pool, the jacuzzi is very nice after a long day drive to reach here, a good relaxation. The breakfast is expensive but it's quite some selection. The receptionist answered our questions without any facial expressions and is not so friendly. The hotel rate is at a high side. Not good for the value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVitamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The lobby is beautiful, the room was lovely. The beds were comfortable. There was a ver nice indoor pool and comfortable and attractive places to sit outside. The rack rate for this hotel is on the steep side but if you're taking the train you can't beat the location. Also you can walk to downtown restaurants and shops. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Member from Surprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The hotel had free Wi-Fi, but only in the lobby, so you can't enjoy it in the comfort of your room. The T.V.'s were a bit outdated, too... The buffet they had there, if you didn't have the meal vouchers, was rediculously expensive; and the food wasn't even very good. If you took the train to the Grand Canyon, the train ride seemed it was really just meant for children. The entertainment and the "train robbery" was childish... If you're looking for some family fun with small children, I'd recommend this for you, but definitely not teenagers or adults... Around the hotel, there wasn't too much. If you want something like a mall, you have to drive 30 miles to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway hotel with our children in the beginning of August. The standard room was very nice with crisp linens and tasteful triple sheeting. Mattresses were more comfortable than any other hotel on our visit thus far. Our children used the wireless in the main lobby which has leather couches and comfortable seating by a grand fireplace. The pool was great and hot tub delightful. The rooms are quiet and the train noise was barely audible. Highly recommended! Worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida_Traveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The basics:

Nice hotel. Decent rooms for the rates. No internet in the rooms, only the lobby. Fast check in and check out. No complaints at all.

Based on reviews here, I opted not to include meals with our Grand Canyon Railway package. We did eat breakfast here -- twice. The food was decent. I can't speak for dinner, but the breakfast is not BAD. Not 4-star quality -- but fairly tasty. YMMV.

With two kids (7 and 9), the train is the best way to go. The kids had a blast. If you can manage it, go for first class.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhonryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing