We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Four Seasons- but adequate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the Four Seasons- but adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here the night before taking the Grand Canyon Railway the next morning to the canyon. It's not luxurious, but we weren't expecting that. It's quite a large hotel and there is a fair amount of walking to find the lobby. It can be like a maze to find your way there, so if you aren't up for the walk, ask for a room close to the lobby. The staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable. They were very nice about letting us have a rollaway in our room because we needed a place for our restless daughter. We encountered a problem with the shower in the morning because the room had just been updated and the hot water in the shower did not work. Needless to say, I took a cold shower the next morning, not fun. They did send someone right away to fix it, but we had to catch the train and it would have taken too long, so no one else showered. However, they did knock $50 off the bill and gave us the rollaway without charging us. This hotel is totally adequate for your overnight stay to catch the train. They do a great buffet breakfast the next morning and a cowboy show before you catch the train. The show is very corny, and could be skipped unless you have young children who would likely enjoy it the most. Overall, a good deal. Get the package which includes the train tickets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    652
    282
    85
    36
See reviews for
697
608
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were very pleased overall with our stay at the hotel. Room was ready at check-in and staff was friendly and welcoming. Gave us all the information we needed and let us know they were there if we needed anything.

The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Air conditioning worked well, bathroom was clean and roomy, shower worked well with soaps and shampoo in dispensers. The beds gave us a good nights sleep and their is a coffee maker with complimentary coffee if you need a jump start in the morning.

Our package included breakfast and dinner at the property restaurant and this is a double edged sword. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of options. Everything was well cooked and tasted great. Families with different eating habits should all find something for them as just about all breakfast items are represented. We left full and ready for our day.

Dinner was not as good. The food overall was just okay. I had BBQ ribs one night and those were good, bit everything else I had just didn't do much for me. Meats were dry and tasteless and the other items offered just had that bad buffet vibe to them. With the breakfast being so good it was a real disappointment that the dinner fell flat. The highlight of our dinner was the soft serve ice cream for dessert with cheesecake.

Nice souvenir shops on property with very fair prices. This was welcomed as so many tourist areas really try and take advantage of you and price gouge. We actually bought more than we would have because of this so it probably worked out better for both parties.

Overall, the property is well maintained with a great staff and a great place to stay when visiting the Canyon. We would definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity to return someday.

Green Features: For those who are green friendly, they work hard to recycle and save water.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Most of the employees are good but some other ones are super rude and I guess they were either managers of the bosses cause they kept telling people what to do, you can just feel a bad bive there plus I didn't sleep from all the noise in the hallways, horrible experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maria2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed three nights, so it was a good experience again. This is our second time staying here, although it was about 10 years between them so some things had changed a bit. The room we had was an end room and was arranged through our travel agent at AAA. We enjoyed all the meals in the dedicated cafe and found that the management of the complex had changed since we visited last. Things have gotten better. I would recommend this to any one with small kids as it is close to the Railroad and there seems to be plenty to do within walking distance. This trip found us with our Grand children, so everything worked out including getting a roll away bed moved into the room without extra cost.

Green Features: There was a real effort to be an environmentally friendly organization. Even though the friendliness meant a bit of customer inconvience.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a package deal for the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, the train ride and 3 meals at the buffet. We checked in late around 9 pm and the front desk was so disorganized. The staff person must have answered the phone four times while trying to check is in.

The suite was very nice and newly renovated. Our other room was a basic double that had not been updated - nothing special about this room.

No reason to stay here unless you're doing the railway to the Grand Canyon. If you are doing that (and I recommend it!) then this is a great place to stay - adjacent to the railway tracks and they take care of your luggage.

The Railway Depot Cafe is good for breakfast but I'd go elsewhere for dinner.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Checked in for a night after a last minute trip to Bearizona. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Williams Route 66 strip. The deluxe room we stayed in was recently renovated and appealing although at a $189 price tag with tax and a 10% military discount (thank you) may be a bit pricey.


My only real complaint was the front desk service. The lady acted like I was an inconvenience to her, complained about her system not working with some foul language and went off on a rant about how guest never show up with their license plate number at check in. Appearently it's a law to have this on file at the front desk although I've never heard of it. I think she may have been working at altitude for too long or needs another line of work outside of customer service.

I'll try to post photos. Working off the phone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent two nights at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area with restaurants, shopping and a wild west shoot-out every evening at 7:00 PM. The exterior isn't anything fancy but the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Very environmentally friendly. Indoor pool and restaurant onsite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#4 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing