We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed the night before we left for our Grand Canyon Railway tour to the South Rim. We were assigned to the newly renovated rooms. Very nice! Clean and Quite. Each room has their own Keurig machine. Great lobby with large fireplace. The pub area looked nice with a few TVs (also dubs as a small cafe in the morning). We ate at the buffet maintained by the hotel/railway right across the driveway and that was very good. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated section.
Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ssydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're glad you found our new Deluxe guest rooms to your liking, and we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,957)
There are newer reviews for Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

I agree with many of the other reviews: nothing special here. Clean, simple, not much to do, friendly staff and lots of parking. However, all you have to do in the morning is put your luggage in the lobby and it arrives in your room at the Grand Canyon. You walk across the property and have breakfast and dinner. They do provide you with a cute show before the train departs. All of this is very organized and easy.

Room Tip: We stayed in "upgraded" rooms. I would not want to stay in non-upgraded room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyb161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the best way to visit the Grand Canyon. The hotel stay package with lodging, train ticket, and meals is the way to do it. The town of William of Historic Route 66 is great too. The people are great too. Our visit was in Febuary and it snowed on us while we viewed the Canyon, such a special treat!

Room Tip: Lower floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaRongione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

For what it is.........it is ok. This place is a layover. The only reason you are here is to stay over to hop on a train into the Grand Canyon in the morning. That it does adequately. Ample parking, friendly check-in and staff and acceptable clean room. The Buffet is ok. The problem with this place is that you are essentially held captive here. Arrive, check-in, eat, watch TV and go to bed. That's it......a layover. It could do well with something more. Some kind of evening entertainment. Possibly a evening campfire or something. There is a pool and a few arcade games and of course a gift shop. PARTY TIME!!!!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We just started a new program featuring live entertainment 7 nights during dinner at Grand Depot Cafe, and we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We also initially thought the rooms were "dark" but the CFLs took awhile to warm up. There seemed to be plenty of light after a few minutes.

I'd recommend a package with meals. I thought the food wasn't bad. From a family perspective, the food situation was excellent. The place is right next door to the hotel with a little something for everyone in the family.

Room Tip: The hotel is two floors and I'd recommend that you seek a second floor room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night and really couldn't wait to leave. The room seemed dark and the "view" out the window was of the close-by backsides of the other wings of the hotel - think prison-like look. The bed was ok, the ac worked ok, the bathroom was ok. It all seemed almost military-like. When it was time for dinner, we walked downstairs (it was a very long walk through a maze of hallways to find the elevator) and outside to the restaurant where a buffet is offered. We took a look at the offerings and a sad looking young boy "entertaining" the crowd and decided this was not where I wanted to spend my birthday!! So we went into town to see what we could find. Breakfast in this same buffet area was not good. I think if they could step it up a notch, they could really have a nice place. Even though it is moderately priced, the whole thing seemed very mediocre and pedestrian to me. Good jumping on point for the train but that is about it.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevator or you'll be walking through a maze of hallways to find...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzu4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Don't understand some of the reviews. This was a tremendous value to us. Hotel is older with a lot of history and not like a big city hotel. (No frig, micro, etc. but you are here to see the canyon hopefully, in any case). Reception was very friendly. Room was clean and we were parked right outside and by the door leading to the restaurant, so it was easy in, easy out. Meals were a total surprise. We had two breakfasts and two dinners. Lovely selection - not a ton of things but carefully chosen every night. Lovely beef tenderloin, a nice version of potatoes, vegetable dishes and soup and salad bar, along with a pasta bar for freshly made pasta. Way too many options for us to try everything. My son loved the grilled chicken, biscuits and salad every night. Breakfasts were everything you could wish for. With the great railroad ride, fun performers, bus trip to the canyon, it was a great savings. Got the hotel for next to nothing if you factor in the regular costs. I might add that the company that runs the hotel is also the employer of the excellent staff to and from the canyon and ran the gift shop there also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northofTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $136 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing