We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NewYork
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel in mid-September. The staff was awesome and the hotel is quite nice. We also took the Grand Canyon Railway (Parlour Car) and stayed one night at the Canyon. The only negative was Maswik Lodge (which was included in the package). The room at Maswik was rustic, but fine. However, the sheets, bedspread and towels were gross! I slept in my clothes. Although the deer in the early morning (6 am) surrounded the property and they were quite a sight to see, particularly the babies. Don't understand why such a lovely place like the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel would only offer the option of Maswik at the South Rim of the Canyon. The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel was spotless and our room was lovely. We requested to be near the main lodge and were granted that request. Would definitely go back. Also, if you need taxi transportation, look up White Dove. They drove us from Flagstaff to Sedona and back to Williams. They are a family owned business and it shows. Food at the Depot was not as bad as I expected. Cafeteria style, but totally o.k. We felt the package was well worth it.

Room Tip: If you do not wish to walk a great distance --- request a room near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    662
    286
    88
    36
See reviews for
717
614
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I purchased a package deal, which included a stay at this Hotel. It's a very pretty, very clean hotel located just across from the Grand Canyon Train depot. Our package also included train tickets to the Grand Canyon (South rim) and back to Williams. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful. We were very pleased with our room at the Hotel--nice Keurig coffee maker with the K-cups; wireless internet is no extra charge. Very comfortable room. Also, we had a couple drinks in Spenser's Pub before our dinner--beautiful place! Craft beers were good! The dinner and the breakfast included in our package were delicious--both buffets. Our dinner buffet had a nice salad bar, plenty of veggies, beef brisket, fish with crab meat, chicken, beef medallions, yeast rolls. We didn't even check out the dessert bar--I saw a soft-service ice cream machine, too. Well worth the package, especially if you're going to the Grand Canyon. Williams Az is located on Route 66, also. Very interesting place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyLassie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in 2 family rooms for 2 nights as part of the Grand Canyon Railway package (1 night Williams, 1 night South Rim and 1 night back at the GCR hotel). The hotel was clean and has been refurbished recently.

Bathrooms were clean and have been fitted out well. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

Reception staff was very friendly and efficient.

The restaurant was the part that was really not good. The staff was friendly but the quality of the food was a real let-down, especially as the whole package was not cheap. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day when travelling with the family, and if this element had been better, this review could have been "Very good".

The whole train ride experience to the South Rim was great and therefore I would still recommend doing this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We three sisters took a suite here. It was huge, comfy, clean and quiet with great views. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The buffet restaurant was great. Fresh food with lots of choices. Loved the breakfast buffet also, which included a delicious omelette station. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a great view overlooking the train. It was spacious and quiet. Just lucky...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good recycle everywhere. A lesson to us all! We found large recycle cans everywhere. Also, suggestions on conserving water while brushing teeth etc. I was impressed.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Took the train ride (dome car) to the Grand Canyon and stayed at the Maswik Lodge overnight.....pleasant quarters, nothing to write home about. Certainly saw the sights of the north rim and ate at the El Tovar restaurant and viewed a native american dance group.....terrific. On the way back to the hotel the next day, the "train was robbed" by "actors" and added to the trip....nice touch. Entertainment was afforded all on BOTH to and from the Grand Canyon. The hotel was perfect insofar as the west is concerned (nice paintings throughout the facility), pleasant staff and decent accomodations. On one of our "free" days, we drove to Walnut Canyon Nat'l. Monument......nice side trip (recommend it). Saw, the same day, the crater and a painted desert (small one). If you are over 68, obtain a National Parks lifetime pass for $10.00 at the visitor's bldg. in Williams....we saved $27.00 off our tour to the Grand Canyon!! We travelled to Arizona in the summer of 2009 and began travelling the previous year starting in Hawaii.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Canyon Hotel prior to taking the train to the Grand Canyon. It is really a perfect stop to do so. Staff was wonderful, so friendly. Breakfast at the Depot was excellent and service and staff there were terrific too. The room was average nothing to really comment on, but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jom257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel serves tourists seeking to go to the Grand canyon or using the Grand Canyon Railway. Its a really well run, friendly hotel where nothing is too much trouble. Patti, the front desk supervisor is so helpful. Good bar and restaurant on site, great rooms - especially the newly upgraded deluxe. Nice indoor pool and only a 5 minute walk into Williams itself.
love staying here

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are great but standard rooms have all you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjanetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing