We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,654)
Filter reviews
2,654 results
Traveler rating
1,243
873
372
104
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,243
873
372
104
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews package deal maswik lodge train trip dinner buffet night package dome car pasta bar grand canyon railway pasta station depot cafe included meals train robbery deluxe room taking the train buffet style wild west show south rim
Filter
Updating list...
2,017 - 2,022 of 2,654 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The pictures of the lobby and pub on their website are charming but don't reflect the rest of the hotel. It's rather like a large Motel 6. If you're taking the train, it's the place to stay. If not, there are many more options that have many more amenities at cheaper prices For example: Two Spunkmeyer tiny muffins, one small canned fruit cup, one cup of coffee and and latte for $18.50. Our friends, staying down the street had a big breakfast included in the cost of their much less expensive room. And, p.s. Fill up with gas before you get there. Really overinflated prices.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

For what you pay you are cheated. It's one of those older smelly hotels that really needs a good clean - carpets in rooms should be shampoo'd and common areas need it too. The bar is ok - the buffet sucks so don't get stuck on a package like we did - lots of better places to eat in the small town just a short walk across the road. Only rsSdon people stay here is its close to the train - now there's not much choice of other lodging in town - but it will all be much cheaper than this place. If you don't mind not getting good value for your money then it's worth staying for the location convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a family gathering here with all 9 grandchildren and had a wonderful time. The is the perfect way to begin your christmas celebration. The hotel is clean with a friendly staff, the food was excellent and the Polar Express ride a lot of fun with Santa, Santas helpers, hot chocolate and cookies while in our pajamas. It was so much fun. The property is beautifully decorated with lights to put you in the Christmas spirit. There are many things to do around the Williams area but one of our favorite places was the Deer Farm where the kids all got to feed and pet the deer and other animals.
Now they have a pumpkin patch train ride, chocolate and wine ride, and add something new often. Next year we are planning a family reunion and riding the train to the Grand Canyon. Can't wait!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room in the hotel. We rented multiple rooms and all were quite nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! Since 2000, the Polar Express at Grand Canyon Railway has been making Christmas memories for thousands of families. We hope you'll come back and ride with us to the North Pole again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked our stay late. We stayed two nights and had to change rooms in between which was a pain but the hotel staff did there best to make it easier. After the first night we were going on the Grand Canyon Railway trip so we had to leave pretty early. We packed up and put luggage tags on everything. Their staff moved it to a storage room during the day and then brought it to our new room when we got back. The first night we stayed in a standard suite (we were traveling with 3 adults and 3 children). The room was very nice and very spacious. Two queen beds, a pull out sofa, separate bed room (with the 2 queens), very nice bathroom with an extra vanity and sink just outside, small table with chairs for eating, microwave/fridge/sink/some dishes in kitchenette, desk with outlets for electronics and a small balcony. The next night we stayed in an ADA approved suite. We were told that it was the same as the standard suite except there were bars (for hand holds) in the bathroom and the price was the same. Actually this was very misleading. The ADA suite had no balcony, no table for eating, was missing the extra vanity and sink outside the bathroom, the bathroom was smaller, it had fewer chairs, it was smaller overall in square footage, and had no dishes. They did finally give us a bit of a discount (10%). Traveling with a family I would make sure I got the standard suite. It was very comfortable. The pool was very nice and they have a playground we didn't get to use because of time constraints but could be lifesaver for families with small kids who are tired of swimming in hotel pools after many nights on the road

Room Tip: Get a standard suite, not ADA suite unless you need that.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is not cheap but is very basic and clean. As a previous reviewer has commented you really are paying for the convenience of being close to the railway because it has very little else going for it. The pool is decent but the changing facility consists of a disabled toilet nearby. The hot tub was red hot but for some reason had a thick layer of soap bubbles on top of it. We ate at Spensers within the hotel...again it was okay but I left feeling I had paid top dollar for very basic food.
The staff were very friendly which is the only reason this hotel got three stars as the building itself is more in keeping with a cheaper motel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank DavidLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews