We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked stay at the hotel and the train ride to the canyon. Both are disappointing. Hotel needs lots of updating. A very noisy hotel. Price is beyond the reach of anyone except the rich. We saved for a year to take this vacation and this hotel was a disappointing start. The everyday traveler takes a back seat to the tour buses at this hotel. Tour buses are given the First Class treatment and the other travelers have to fend for themselves. There are a lot of cheaper and nicer hotels in the area and I will stay at the other hotels in the future.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

The pictures of the lobby and pub on their website are charming but don't reflect the rest of the hotel. It's rather like a large Motel 6. If you're taking the train, it's the place to stay. If not, there are many more options that have many more amenities at cheaper prices For example: Two Spunkmeyer tiny muffins, one small canned fruit cup, one cup of coffee and and latte for $18.50. Our friends, staying down the street had a big breakfast included in the cost of their much less expensive room. And, p.s. Fill up with gas before you get there. Really overinflated prices.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ScrappyTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

For what you pay you are cheated. It's one of those older smelly hotels that really needs a good clean - carpets in rooms should be shampoo'd and common areas need it too. The bar is ok - the buffet sucks so don't get stuck on a package like we did - lots of better places to eat in the small town just a short walk across the road. Only rsSdon people stay here is its close to the train - now there's not much choice of other lodging in town - but it will all be much cheaper than this place. If you don't mind not getting good value for your money then it's worth staying for the location convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expattraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a family gathering here with all 9 grandchildren and had a wonderful time. The is the perfect way to begin your christmas celebration. The hotel is clean with a friendly staff, the food was excellent and the Polar Express ride a lot of fun with Santa, Santas helpers, hot chocolate and cookies while in our pajamas. It was so much fun. The property is beautifully decorated with lights to put you in the Christmas spirit. There are many things to do around the Williams area but one of our favorite places was the Deer Farm where the kids all got to feed and pet the deer and other animals.
Now they have a pumpkin patch train ride, chocolate and wine ride, and add something new often. Next year we are planning a family reunion and riding the train to the Grand Canyon. Can't wait!

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room in the hotel. We rented multiple rooms and all were quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! Since 2000, the Polar Express at Grand Canyon Railway has been making Christmas memories for thousands of families. We hope you'll come back and ride with us to the North Pole again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked our stay late. We stayed two nights and had to change rooms in between which was a pain but the hotel staff did there best to make it easier. After the first night we were going on the Grand Canyon Railway trip so we had to leave pretty early. We packed up and put luggage tags on everything. Their staff moved it to a storage room during the day and then brought it to our new room when we got back. The first night we stayed in a standard suite (we were traveling with 3 adults and 3 children). The room was very nice and very spacious. Two queen beds, a pull out sofa, separate bed room (with the 2 queens), very nice bathroom with an extra vanity and sink just outside, small table with chairs for eating, microwave/fridge/sink/some dishes in kitchenette, desk with outlets for electronics and a small balcony. The next night we stayed in an ADA approved suite. We were told that it was the same as the standard suite except there were bars (for hand holds) in the bathroom and the price was the same. Actually this was very misleading. The ADA suite had no balcony, no table for eating, was missing the extra vanity and sink outside the bathroom, the bathroom was smaller, it had fewer chairs, it was smaller overall in square footage, and had no dishes. They did finally give us a bit of a discount (10%). Traveling with a family I would make sure I got the standard suite. It was very comfortable. The pool was very nice and they have a playground we didn't get to use because of time constraints but could be lifesaver for families with small kids who are tired of swimming in hotel pools after many nights on the road

Room Tip: Get a standard suite, not ADA suite unless you need that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is not cheap but is very basic and clean. As a previous reviewer has commented you really are paying for the convenience of being close to the railway because it has very little else going for it. The pool is decent but the changing facility consists of a disabled toilet nearby. The hot tub was red hot but for some reason had a thick layer of soap bubbles on top of it. We ate at Spensers within the hotel...again it was okay but I left feeling I had paid top dollar for very basic food.
The staff were very friendly which is the only reason this hotel got three stars as the building itself is more in keeping with a cheaper motel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank DavidLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked our trip online, stayed two nights, and took the train ride to the Grand Canyon. We did not purchase meal vouchers, but walked into town for our meals. The room was clean with no extra frills. You definitely pay for the convenience of being next to the train station. There are other hotels that are walking distance. This one was nice, but I feel like it was overpriced. We stay at Hampton Inn, Comfort Suites, and LaQuinta usually. This one compared to a nicer Days Inn.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OkstateMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range: $128 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing