We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not so Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Railway Hotel on January simply because it was convenient for us since we were taking the train. The employees seemed unhappy and unmotivated. The rooms were dusty and the carpet had a small stain. The lobby had comfortable sofas, a warm fire in the chimney, and a coffee machine which we enjoyed as the weather was rather cold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    591
    265
    80
    35
See reviews for
648
544
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Until I realized this hotel was designed after the early Sante Fe RR Tourist hotels, I was a little disappointed with the appearance. but they have tried hard in the lobby areas with beautiful pictures and woodwork to bring out that feel. Check in person worked to get us a quiet room. The rooms need something more decor somehow, but it was comfortable. The heater was a little noisy but much better than some. The breakfast buffet service was good, price included juice and coffee, the food choices were plentiful and included a made to order egg station. You can go continental smaller across the hall. The friendliness and caring of all the Xanterra staff to make the stay and train trip enjoyable was noted!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieonwabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northlake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was better than we expected. We have stayed at national park property in the past so we were pleasantly surprised. The room was large and clean. We stayed two nights and took the train to the Grand Canyon. It was a wonderful experience. The only complaint is the shower head is a water saver and the flow was really, really slow.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMF-2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overpriced buffet breakfast at the hotel and no nice coffee / pastry / fruit setup a la carte creates a problem for families who would rather not spend $12 per person (including kids) for a simple breakfast. It's either the whole buffet or nothing. Indoor pool / spa setup is ok, but in winter, you have to brave the cold in order to get to it from the rooms. Bottom line: consider this hotel strictly as a clean, simple, convenient, no-frills way to stay the night before catching the train on site in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall a good experience for the whole family. We got the 2- night package which included the train ride, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, a motorcoach tour and lunch at the Grand Canyon. The room (standard double queen) was nice, but nothing special. The buffet cafeteria was good, but could use even small menu changes for people staying multiple nights. That being said, it's better than a Hometown Buffet and the prime rib was the best one I've ever had at a buffet, including some upscale ones in Vegas. The employees were all friendly. The motorcoach tour was nice, but seemed rushed at both stopping points. The tour guide was full of interesting stories and tidbits about the area. A window cleaning would have been appreciated. The lunch at the Grand Canyon was ok. Overall, what keeps this hotel from being great are some small to medium fixes that would increase guest comfort: automatic doors into the lobby area so people with luggage don't have to struggle with 2 sets of doors; a towel bar that is closer to the bathtub than the toilet; an enclosed walkway (for winter weather) to the Cafe and Depot and or signage outside the main doors of each major area directing guests to the other major areas. The train ride was fun, although the "robbery" was pretty hokey even for my 11-year old. Caleb, our PSA was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneygal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I wanted a more relaxing way to get up to see the Grand Canyon than driving the family up there. We had heard about "THE train" and booked a package which included two nights in a standard room at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, first class train tickets, motorcoach tour and four meals.

No major complaints with the hotel. Yeah it's big, and yeah on a Polar Express night it was pretty frenzied with kids running around in pajamas. (The second night had a calmer vibe.) Our standard room was clean and comfortable, although devoid of character and the bathroom is downright stark. I feel the first class train tickets were a better upgrade though, since that's why we were here.

The pool is heated, plenty of towels, and big enough. However, it must have been designed by some clown from SoCal that needed to check a December forecast for Williams. Why do you have to go OUTSIDE to access the pool? It's the most inane setup I've ever seen. And it's easily correctable...there's glass block that could be replaced with a secured door to the pool.

Actually, they have the real estate around the pool area...if they wanted to they could add a bar and then parents could kick back with a local brew while the kids play. Just a suggestion.

Other hotel features...the game room was forgettable, a few low-end arcade machines, half of which were out of order. Skip.

However, we liked Spensers, the pub off the main lobby. Nicely decorated...try the Four Peaks!

The meals in the cafe were adequate...It's a Hometown Buffet grade meal. Again, it's another walk outside although you can truncate it significantly by navigating the long corridors past Spensers to the last exit. Service there and throughout our experience was VERY friendly, kudos to the Xanterra team.

We had a great time, I liked the package...well organized and I didn't have to think about anything for a couple days. Would recommend and do again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank TeamW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We took a train from Grand Canyon to Williams and stayed and the Railway hotel. Had a lovely stay at this nice and cosy place. Very close to bars and restaurants, good and cheap souvenirs. Buffet breakfast was great, big choice of food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezusinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Williams
Days Inn Williams
#5 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing