We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,602 results
Traveler rating
1,208
863
368
103
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,208
863
368
103
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews package deal maswik lodge train trip dinner buffet night package dome car pasta bar pasta station grand canyon railway depot cafe train robbery included meals deluxe room taking the train buffet style wild west show south rim
Filter
Updating list...
2,043 - 2,048 of 2,602 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Until I realized this hotel was designed after the early Sante Fe RR Tourist hotels, I was a little disappointed with the appearance. but they have tried hard in the lobby areas with beautiful pictures and woodwork to bring out that feel. Check in person worked to get us a quiet room. The rooms need something more decor somehow, but it was comfortable. The heater was a little noisy but much better than some. The breakfast buffet service was good, price included juice and coffee, the food choices were plentiful and included a made to order egg station. You can go continental smaller across the hall. The friendliness and caring of all the Xanterra staff to make the stay and train trip enjoyable was noted!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalieonwabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was better than we expected. We have stayed at national park property in the past so we were pleasantly surprised. The room was large and clean. We stayed two nights and took the train to the Grand Canyon. It was a wonderful experience. The only complaint is the shower head is a water saver and the flow was really, really slow.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMF-2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overpriced buffet breakfast at the hotel and no nice coffee / pastry / fruit setup a la carte creates a problem for families who would rather not spend $12 per person (including kids) for a simple breakfast. It's either the whole buffet or nothing. Indoor pool / spa setup is ok, but in winter, you have to brave the cold in order to get to it from the rooms. Bottom line: consider this hotel strictly as a clean, simple, convenient, no-frills way to stay the night before catching the train on site in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall a good experience for the whole family. We got the 2- night package which included the train ride, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, a motorcoach tour and lunch at the Grand Canyon. The room (standard double queen) was nice, but nothing special. The buffet cafeteria was good, but could use even small menu changes for people staying multiple nights. That being said, it's better than a Hometown Buffet and the prime rib was the best one I've ever had at a buffet, including some upscale ones in Vegas. The employees were all friendly. The motorcoach tour was nice, but seemed rushed at both stopping points. The tour guide was full of interesting stories and tidbits about the area. A window cleaning would have been appreciated. The lunch at the Grand Canyon was ok. Overall, what keeps this hotel from being great are some small to medium fixes that would increase guest comfort: automatic doors into the lobby area so people with luggage don't have to struggle with 2 sets of doors; a towel bar that is closer to the bathtub than the toilet; an enclosed walkway (for winter weather) to the Cafe and Depot and or signage outside the main doors of each major area directing guests to the other major areas. The train ride was fun, although the "robbery" was pretty hokey even for my 11-year old. Caleb, our PSA was wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disneygal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I wanted a more relaxing way to get up to see the Grand Canyon than driving the family up there. We had heard about "THE train" and booked a package which included two nights in a standard room at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, first class train tickets, motorcoach tour and four meals.

No major complaints with the hotel. Yeah it's big, and yeah on a Polar Express night it was pretty frenzied with kids running around in pajamas. (The second night had a calmer vibe.) Our standard room was clean and comfortable, although devoid of character and the bathroom is downright stark. I feel the first class train tickets were a better upgrade though, since that's why we were here.

The pool is heated, plenty of towels, and big enough. However, it must have been designed by some clown from SoCal that needed to check a December forecast for Williams. Why do you have to go OUTSIDE to access the pool? It's the most inane setup I've ever seen. And it's easily correctable...there's glass block that could be replaced with a secured door to the pool.

Actually, they have the real estate around the pool area...if they wanted to they could add a bar and then parents could kick back with a local brew while the kids play. Just a suggestion.

Other hotel features...the game room was forgettable, a few low-end arcade machines, half of which were out of order. Skip.

However, we liked Spensers, the pub off the main lobby. Nicely decorated...try the Four Peaks!

The meals in the cafe were adequate...It's a Hometown Buffet grade meal. Again, it's another walk outside although you can truncate it significantly by navigating the long corridors past Spensers to the last exit. Service there and throughout our experience was VERY friendly, kudos to the Xanterra team.

We had a great time, I liked the package...well organized and I didn't have to think about anything for a couple days. Would recommend and do again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank TeamW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews