We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep but poor amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good sleep but poor amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Decent quality. Clean room, firm comfortable bed. Aircon/heater is window style and is loud, and blows open the curtain. Somebody didn't use brain when designing it. We can also hear the plumbing and crying baby next door.

Regular and decaf packs of coffee were provided, but only one set of sugar and cream, not even enough for one cup unless you like it really dark. Shower drain was slow.

Indoor pool and hot tub are great for cold winter months, but are hogged by kids doing cannonballs. Multiple exits and entries spread across the hotel are nice for accessing the parking lot and the train station while minimizing exposure to the freezing temperatures outside.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    662
    286
    88
    36
See reviews for
717
614
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed with the family last week (Thanksgiving 2011) on the way to the Canyon South Rim. The staff are very friendly and helpful.The rooms are clean and basic although they seem a little old. Good family atmosphere. The restaurant inside the hotel is good. The breakfast buffet is great and reasonably priced ($11 plus). Kids loved it!Great location if you are taking the train to the canyon. If not, there are other chain hotels nearby for a lower price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payani_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is gorgeous - especially since it was decorated for Christmas. Very clean rooms and the wi-fi was super simple to use. Our only issue on the room was that we were pretty close to the lobby and one of the restaurants and it was soooo loud until past 11 p.m. (even w/ most people having kids with them). The line for the dinner buffet is absolutely ridiculous and it takes forever to get a refill on your drink. The food is okay tasting - definitely get the cook to order pasta @ dinner and the omelet station for breakfast. I couldn't express how much I was looking forward to the Polar Express, even more than my kids possibly. I had heard about what a magical experience it was from everyone I've ever talked to that's been but it was okay (taking the kids out driving for lights can be more fun). My kids loved Santa but I thought the gift could be better for the price of the package. The staff on the train are lovely and really keep a great atmosphere. We won't do it again but I'm glad I finally know what it's all about.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the lobby or a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Booked a train trip to the Grand Canyon from Mesa, Arizona so stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Williams. The hotel is huge and beautiful. So clean, there was always staff about cleaning and ever so friendly. Someone said the hotel had been refurbished well they had definitely not cut any corners, we were just as stunned.! The beds were very comfortable, the rooms very clean and spacious.
Don't know why either that the reviews of the buffet are so awful. We had the dinner and breakfast buffets at the café, which was such an eye opener. There were no queues unless you call 2 people in front of me a queue! The food was excellent, a great selection and hot. Very very tasty and fresh. They didn't skimp on anything. In addition to the buffet food, for breakfast you could have an omelette with many fillings or any type of egg freshly cooked for you personally and for dinner they had pasta dishes freshly cooked for you personally, you couldn't ask for better service. Constantly replenishing the buffet food and cleaning, wiping away food that people had dropped. The choice was superb. The waitresses and in fact all the staff, of which there were many were all pleasant and happy to serve. Someone said the café was busy, well it was in the morning as we were all going on the train to the Grand Canyon but there were more than enough waitresses to hand and we didn't wait at all for the drinks they brought. As soon as we were sat down our waitress asked what we would like to drink and it was brought right away and then we were asked to go and get our food when WE were ready, there was no rush. The whole experience was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelliwellsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband, his sister, and I are spending the Thanksgiving holiday in Arizona. We decided to try the train to Grand Canyon so everyone could watch the scenery, and this meant we had to spend the night in Williams. We bought a package that included this hotel. It is huge, we were stunned! It has been refurbished and they did not cut any corners, it was a quality job all the way around. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms very clean and spacious. We had the dinner and breakfast buffets at their cafe, both were far better than we expected. Very tasty and fresh, and a great selection. They didn't skimp on staff, either. There are plenty of people available to help with anything you need, and they are all pleasant and happy to serve. They were having a Polar Express ride while we were there, so there were lots of kids and families walking around in their pajamas, it sure looked like a lot of fun! We kind of wished we had booked a night for our return trip as well.

Room Tip: Even though we were right on the parking lot, the room was quiet. I'm sure the quietest rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Arrived around 6pm after taking the train from the Grand Canyon that came complete with a hold up by gun totting baddies. All adds to the fun as we also had a singing Indian as well. . Hotel was very close to the station and as ever during our travels the reception staff were fine. Room was a good size with two standard American sized queen beds, coffee machine etc. Checked with Trip Advisor as to where to eat, which came up with the Red Raven as the top place. Double checked with reception who also recommended it. And yes, the restaurant had an excellent atmosphere and the food was great. It was my birthday so we were dining with friends one of whom bought a bottle of bubbly – that really made the night.
Had breakfast at the nearby railway café – My wife and I thought it quite poor quality food although some of my traveling companions took a different view and thought it good. However it was quite crowded when we went in so that may have made a difference. Interestingly the fire alarm went off around 8am and everyone hightailed it outside. It was a false alarm but like most hotel guests I would imagine, I had not bothered to read the fire instructions on the back of the door. As it turned out this was not an issue but I’ll probably make an effort in the future. I’ll add a note here to say that this was the hotel that Billy Connolly stayed in whilst filming around Williams for his Route 66 program that was aired recently in the UK. The female reception staff thought he was ‘lovely’. I say no more.
At around 9am in the morning about 100 yards from the hotel there is a 15 minute wild west shoot out by the guys who attacked the train the previous day. When that’s over the train leaves for the Grand Canyon. Overall I have no complaints about the hotel but as you can see from my review We did not spend much time in the hotel other than sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaggyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed one night with the Polar Express package: one night stay, Polar Express tickets, dinner and breakfast at the buffet. I thought the hotel was beautiful, very clean, very well appointed and just the right size. The bathroom was spotless. Walked a few steps outside to the train depot and buffet. Polar Express was AMAZING, our kids absolutely loved it. I don't know why the reviews of the buffet are so awful, it is what it is - a hotel buffet. I thought it was great especially for the price. I saw staff constantly refreshing and cleaning the buffet area, and the food was delicious, well cooked and very fresh. Never stood in a long line anywhere. Check in and out was quick and painless. This may have just become a new tradition! Be sure to visit Bearizona while in town!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbmom92649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing