We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pumping waves and great company”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I recently spent 9 days at Waidroka bay resort. I was a bit hesitant to stay here as I was travelling by myself and wasn't sure what the atmosphere would be like compared to some of the hostels that weren't in as good a location. When i arrived the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. My airport pick up was also on time and the driver was extremely chatty, practically giving me an inside look/advice into fiji on the way to the resort. Once set up I had a great 3 course meal and hit the hay. That morning the surf guide Joel took myself and a few others surfing. It was pumping and Joel and some of the fijian boat drivers were hooting me into some absolute bombs. I found the staff were great in terms of showing me the ropes as to how to surf fiji and really built my confidence. As for the accommodation it was also great. The rooms were clean, tidy and undergoing renovations which looked amazing, all done by on site staff. The food was good, very fresh and wasn't overly pricey. I found the staff was the stand out for my experience at Waidroka bay. They were never to busy to give me a hand or have a chat. I felt comfortable in this resort rather then a burden or 'just another guest' that was handing over their cash. All in all loved my stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Bula Dan,

Thanks so much for your 'pumping' review :) We really appreciate you taking the time to post one up. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here at Waidroka Bay Resort and got going into some great waves as well. The boys said you did good! Cyd has pretty much finished in the panoramic rooms and they look great - you'll just have to come back again and take a look sometime!

It was our pleasure hosting you here at Waidroka - hope you had a great Christmas and here's wishing you a Happy New Year!
Vinaka
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 350 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very nice ,clean surf/dive resort in a beautiful tropical rainforest. The staff was extremely accomodating, and friendly. The grounds and rooms are clean and well kept. The water in the lagoon is AMAZING.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Bula Stuart and Susan,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us - especially our own lagoon! We certainly enjoyed having your here - it's a shame you guys won't be in the area - but feel free to visit us any time when you are down this way :)

Kind regards and Merry Christmas
Vinaka
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent 5 days here as a package with another Fiji resort and I was so impressed with Waidroka. I travelled alone on a diving holiday and it was the perfect blend of relaxation and activity. It was a quiet week when I was there, so I had my own private dive master for many dives! The dive sites are quite close and were some of the best I've ever seen. The shark dive is a must-do! As for the property, it is beautifully maintained. Bear in mind, this is not the Four Seasons but you won't be disappointed if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with many amenities (AC - which I never needed, hot showers, fresh flowers everyday, gorgeous views). The food was fantastic but the best of this resort are its people. The staff and managers and so friendly and welcoming. I came alone but soon felt as if I was among friends. Hoping to go back someday...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Bula Joanna,

Thanks so much for posting your review :) We are so happy that you were impressed with your stay and that Waidroka Bay Resort met your expectations. We had some great diving and great weather whilst you were here and it was our pleasure hosting you. We're really happy that you got to relax as well as we are sure you are busy now back in the real world!

Come back any time (this time we won't have to persuade you to go on the shark dive we take it?).
Vinaka and a very Merry Christmas back in chilly Canada..
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The WBR website accurately reflects what the resort looks like. It's a decent quiet space with very little neighbors by land or water, over and down a hill via a winding path from the main road. The resort is well kept and maintained, the views are awesome across the water and from any vantage point whether it be up by the panorama rooms or down to the docks.

The rooms and overall facilities are clean and 'new' showing maintenance and care. I probably had a nap every day, and found the beds to be comfortable. There's no tv, not needed I hope and a small fridge. Their rental dive and surf gear is good as I traveled light with my reg, mask and fins only. They operate three boats, due to conditions I was on the largest one the entire trip.

Taking their meal plan; 3 square meals a day with a menu for breakfast and lunch and the chef's varying offers for a 3 course dinner. I found their food to be very good, solid to pack carbs and proteins (even for the boat lunches on 3 dive days), and good offerings of fish and super tasty rich desserts for dinner. They have a nice offering of spirits, local beers and Australian wines as well.

Dinner is family/cafeteria style which is great. As with any trip/vacation there's an openness to listen and share with your fellow visitors and hosts. My October trip wasn't very crowded, regardless I'm so thankful for the amazing and kind people I did get to meet. The staff and service are great and helpful all around, and would be a key to my choosing to go back to WBR.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkisinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Bula Myung,

How nice to hear from you :) Thanks for taking time out and writing a great, straightforward review - we really appreciate it. You really were part of the family when you were here that's for sure and we had a great time diving with you (good call on doing 2 shark dives by the way). We still haven't seen the Tiger yet, but will keep you posted when we do.

See you back here again sometime soon!
Vinaka Vakelevu
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent 10 days at Waidroka - Best trip away. Beautiful weather, people, and staff.
We went on boat trips out to Frigates where the water was the clearest blue I have ever seen, heaps of coral and fish. My boyfriend surfs - was real good 8 days out of the 10. One day in particular at Fiji Pipe being the stand out.
Everyone has been amazing, definitely not a place to come if your not an above average surfer, you dont like long boat trips or you would get sea sick.
Its like a little family here - staff and managers are amazing. I cant say I have ever been to a more tropical and prefect secluded paradise in my life and we will definitely come back here.
10/10 for everything! Yew. xxx

Room Tip: The bures are awesome. Little cabins with coolest bed - bamboo mosquito nets, hammocks and cool balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_Calypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Bula Amanda (and Whitty) :)
Thanks for posting such a great review here for us - much appreciated! We're all really glad you enjoyed your stay here at Waidroka... we definitely enjoyed hosting you (and making you Mojito's). The nicest thing is that you enjoyed our 'home away from home' atmosphere, which is something all of the staff pride themselves in achieving, so thanks for mentioning that.

We are all looking forward to seeing you guys here again (even Dogg, who is stoked about the 'Dogs with eyebrows' post!

Vinaka Vakelevu
Paul, Kirsti, Joel, Cyd and the rest of the Waidroka Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I spent a wonderful ten days at Waidroka with my 16 year old son - very hard to leave. Nestled in a secluded tropical bay Waidroka Resort has everything you need for a relaxing holiday without the pretentiousness and fuss (and price) of higher profile resorts. We surfed every day with a fantastic guide who made sure we were in the best possible place to get the most of our holiday. The accommodation, food, service and facilities were excellent. Two special things to mention. Firstly the staff are very very friendly and capable (especially the local Fijian staff) which contributes to the the second thing. The atmosphere at the resort is very friendly - guests introduce themselves to each other on arrival, they mix throughout the day relating stories of their days activities as well as their lives, families and travels. The evening dinner is a a special event with guests sitting together at large tables swapping seats throughout the night.
These things make a holiday a holiday - you can't buy it, and a resort can't 'make it' happen - it is just the result of wonderful people in a wonderful place.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great - we stayed in the cheaper rooms that were a short walk away from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Bula Chris & Peter,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review Chris- it is much appreciated by everybody here :)

We are super happy that you enjoyed the service of our staff (especially the local staff) who, as you say are extremely friendly and capable.

Thanks for mentioning our atmosphere and communal dinners - everybody seems to really enjoy the social aspect of the resort and it's great to see that this is recommended and truly a good experience.

Hope to see you both again next year!
Paul, Kirsti and the Waidroka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My family and I were part of a group of eleven which included 4 teenagers. The service we received from the staff was excellent, always helpful and friendly. The bures were spacious clean and comfortable with a great view from the deck. Most of our group were surfers but there was plenty to do for the non surfers. Good snorkelling in the lagoon, SUP's and kayaks. There were also plenty of tours to go on if you wanted. The four teenagers were newly qualified divers and the dive instructor Joey took good care of them, they did some great dive's including the shark dive at Beqa Island. I would recommend that non divers go along on the dive trips as there is plenty to see just snorkelling. Frigates was an excellent day out for all of us, the surf was good and the snorkelling around the reef is spectacular. A highlight of the trip for many of us was a visit to a local school that had been arranged by Cyd, the surf operations manager. The spirit and enthusiasm of the children and staff was inspirational despite the poor condition of the school. I would thoroughly recommend Waidroka Bay to those that love the ocean and are happy in an informal relaxed atmosphere where you meet like minded people without the bling of the big resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Bula Philippa,
We enjoyed having the Morton Crew here loads :) Thanks for descending on us all together, we had a great time with all of you guys... Hope you saw the facebook pictures of the shark dive. We're all really glad you enjoyed the service and the helpful friendly attitude of all the staff here. We are looking for a 'home away from home' atmosphere here at the resort and hopefully we achieved that with you guys.

Great that you enjoyed the school visit - we are looking to make that a more regular thing going forward.

Vinaka
Paul, Kirsti and the Waidroka Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,816 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
9.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
219 reviews
33 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range: $157 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort Fiji/Viti Levu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing