We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location (Rain Forest), excellent diving & great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I arrived to Waidroka Bay Resort on April, just few days later after the cyclone hit this paradise, and was impressed not only with the resort’s location, but also with the friendly staff, the food (it was excellent – Thank you Ivan!) & all the recreation the resort offered after the dives. The resort itself was cleaned and calm. My room (that was upgraded without any extra charge) was cleaned and comfortable with an amazing view. The resort sitting around all the palm trees were fantastic and very much enjoyed the frogs at night and the doggies’ company. Overall, my staying at this resort was delightful.

The diving and dive masters were outstanding and professionally managed. Thank you for your support! Indeed I enjoyed a great dive!

I definitely recommend this resort for divers that appreciate a laid back atmosphere!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 433Myriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Waidroka Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 330 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent a week at this resort as part of our annual diving trip with the Bronx Scuba team. Even though the trip was loooong because after the long 11 hrs flight from LA to Nadi we were being picked up by a van that took us for 3 hrs to the resort. After you leave the main road a rocky road takes you high to the mountain and then down to the resort, first impression was "where is this supposed to take us?". Then you arrive at a small lobby house...maybe totally unexpected, but there any wondering and surprise takes an end. We were gladly welcomed by the lovely Amanda who together with Neil manage this resort. They take special effort every day and night to make you really feel comfortable and part of their "family". As in any very warm place you might expect things to go slowly, or as the own Fijian´s would say: "at Fijian time". We all got the first row rooms, close to the main house and with a fantastic view of the Sea. Remember this is a dive and surf resort, so don´t expect having Caribbean white sand and beaches (if you cannot live without it...go to the Caribbean). You will of course have a dock and rocky harbour. If it´s too hot maybe the pool would be a much better option to refresh yourself. There is a nice and cozzy bar were almost each night we spend together having a drink, looking our daily underwater pictures and sharing experiences. The rooms are like small cabins without AC but enough fan´s to get fresh. Beds are comfortable, bathroom offers you warm water. A coffee machine and a small terrace with a hammock completes the nice picture.
There was one issue during our trip...but we all better forgot it, and it´s not worth mentioning here, because Neil and Amanda managed it very professionally.
To the Diving experience: Sunny (she rocks!) and Semi helped us to have fantastic 13 diving immersions. The Beqa Shark Dive is a MUST be. Fantastic! Even though Sharks swim 3 feet distant from you, you never feel in danger. Visibility was not the best (like in Red Sea or Cayman Island), maybe because a cyclone passed by one week before our trip. But the amount of corals, fishes and sharks are amazing (for more UW pictures look at my FB page under Jean-Pierre LLanos Ackert - Fiji UW Picture album). Boats are medium size, but enough for our dozen of members. We did even a 3 tank day, stopping at one wonderful island.
The best for us was the day we departed. The whole crew was at the front to wish us a good trip and wishes to come back soon. More than one tear was left at that moment by our group, we couldn´t have expected more from this nice group of people.
If the distance would be shorter I guess I would come back any long weekend if possible.
Thanks guys for your friendship!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpllanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

i arrived to waidorka bay resort for a week of diving, happy to rest, enjoy myself and work on my tan.
unfortunately, the rain started shortly after i landed, and develpoed into a storm and a cyclone alert.
these conditions may have prebented me from diving, but certainly didn't prevented me from having fun - the resort staff made sure that even with the rain, i'll have plenty of stuff to do and new activities to try - from skurfing, boogi boarding and even going to Suva for a day.
The food was great, the team sincerely wanted me to have fun, and in the end - the managers (amanda and neil) really helped me to get to the airport so i won't get stuck in fiji for an extra 3 days...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Had a delightful and relaxed few days at Waidroka focussed on diving .With all guests interested in surfing or diving the atmosphere was especially laid back and friendly which was nurtured by very welcoming and helpful expat and local staff. My mid price room was clean and comfortable with a superb view. The food was excellent . The diving was professionally managed and the sites offered much of interest even at modest depths.The lack of a beach is compensated by a pool in a manicured garden by the sea. I have no hesitation in recommending the Resort
RSM

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1RSM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our time spent at Waidroka Bay Resort was delightful. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The food was good and very plentyful, in fact a bit much for me. The review from Underwater Diva gave info on the van ride, long and hot, but driver was friendly.
The diving and dive masters were outstanding. We actually had the dive masters and the boat to ourselves for two days, fantastic.
The resident dogs were fun and the nightime frogs were fantastic. The sitting around all the trees (frogs) was very interesting.
Trip into town to visit and leave supplies at the school and then on into the village for a tour and to drink cava with the people was interesting. The people in the village (which had no doors or windows) were extremely friendly and would hollar "Bula" to us as we walked by their door openings.
The shark dives (4) were unbelieveable. Whether the dive photographer just liked our looks or because there was only 3 (Jerry, myself, and our dive master) of us,we were brought into the front of the rope!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We also were given shark teeth picked up from the ocean floor.
A fun, clean, and calm (at least while we were there) place with only 1 sufer guest and 1 sufer dude who was fun. I would recommend this resort for divers that appreciate small uncomplicated venues.

Room Tip: Although there was supposed to be a/c installed in the jungle rooms, the best are the beach view bol...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotte1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My family just spent a week at Waidroka Bay and it was FABULOUS. Great staff, ocean view, great dive shop, family meals. Resident dogs make it feel like home! I highly recommend this remote paradise.
Team Fiji

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck1Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For those who have managed to make dive trips annually for a few years or more, this is what you're after. It isn't that "trip of a lifetime" - which one really can take only once in a lifetime anyway. It is what you learn to appreciate after you've done three or four trips or more. It's all genuine and well crafted. What matters is there for you.- without needing to be struggled for. The facility is not glitzy for the sake of display. It is instead splendid for ease and comfort, and for the activities that divers and surfers are in search of. It is too hard to refer to them as staff and management. All of the folks there are always professional in gracefully seeing that the right things take place. They do so while being ever personable and real individuals you quickly come to appreciate and engage personally. Oh, and the food is great. So are tropical days and nights. And the afternoon rain when it happens. And the South Pacific in general. For those who look for the next place not yet visited, this will be a place remembered and missed. For those who return to favorites, this will be a repeat destination.

Room Tip: That isn't necessary here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
956 reviews
12.0 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#7 of 9 in Sigatoka
503 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
200 reviews
48.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range: $156 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort Fiji/Viti Levu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing