We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort for diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We just got home and had a wonderful time at Waidroka Bay Resort. The resort overall was very well kept, all staff are exceptionally friendly and will always go out of their way to make you happy. The owner is kind and ate dinner with us every night. First rate service all around. If you are a diver you will LOVE LOVE this place-the dive masters take care of everything for you, including your gear. All you have to do is check to make sure all your equipment is on the boat prior to departure.

There isn't any air conditioning so pay the extra to stay in an oceanfront bure-don't stay in a 'panoramic view room'. Those rooms are above the main resort and can get very hot.

If you are expecting a beach resort (with white sandy beaches) this isn't the place for you, look at pictures that are posted. Having said that if you are a diver they will sometimes take you to a beach for your surface interval which is very fun.

One more tip-once you are at the resort you are there unless you want to pay to go into Pacific Harbor (75 fijian) so make sure you buy your alcohol at the airport and any snacks you might like in the evenings after diving.

This resort is VERY FUN. We had a couple of Kava parties (do your own research on what that is) and on our last day we had a BBQ and volleyball tournament with the staff (with the manager betting a cooler of beer for the winner). Although this is a secluded resort you won't be bored.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purple2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 330 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

The staff were very friendly the owner did everything possible to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The food was so lovely that we found out how to make our fav meals we enjoyed there. We later went to plantation island and mucket cove. The people were no were near as friendly and we spent alot more money on eating out. I recommend waidroka bay resort to anyone looking for a home away from home expierience. We went out surfing every day and the hotel puts food on the boat so you can stay out as long as you like. Even when the waves were fab the hotel organised an island trip and picnic to explore the rainforrest and snorkle for the day. My girlfriend dived and said that the diving was the most perfessional and world class she has experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oli90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This place was fantastic, My husband and i couldn't find fault with this place. the food was sensational, the rooms were beautiful, the staff were very freindly, the diving was just amazing( the shark dive is a must so is ponti's play grourd). my husband say's the surfing was some of the best waves his riden.

Just one thing to check when reading these reviews is that the dive crew, surf guides and managers are not the sameones as older reviews, they are all very, very good these guy's are on the ball and constently fine tuning stuff , we'll be visiting again

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoria255365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I went to Waidroka because of the trip advisor review. It was ok..... but not as fantastic as the reviews had indicated.

The bathrooms look good, very clean and modern, but hot water is 'patchy' at best. Its a case of 'cold or scold'. Also, one bar of soap to carry between the sink and shower is not enough.... (supply shower gel guys)

Rooms are very clean but basic. There is no aircon in the room, nor are there glass windows (openings with wood slats), but you are provided with a mosquito net..... this was a bit too 'back-packer' for my tastes and wasn't consistent with the amount they charged for the room.

The window opening was covered in chicken wire which I didn't like. Felt a little like sitting in a cell sometimes.

At dinner, there is a limited fixed menu and all guests sit around one table, Club Med style. This is pleasant if you are sociable. The hotel managers join you and are very nice folks.

There isn't a barman per se.... you have to ask the managers every time you want a drink. If nthey are eating, this can be awkward.

There was no internet at all when I was there, let alone wireless. This is tough if you
have to check in with home or work.

The driver that collects you from the airport is a maniac. Suggest you make your own transport arrangements if you wish to arrive un-ruffled. To be fair, the hotel can arrange a better (but more expensive) driver from Pacific Harbour. I did so.... he was far better but very expensive.

The dive centre was well equipped, but while I was there the good boat broke down so local dives were in a dinghy with no cover from the sun. This wasn't so great.

The dive guides aren't local and have only just arrived in Fiji. They were still finding their way around the various sites, currents and tides. That said, they know what they are doing are are disciplined.

While I was there, I got food poisoning. In fairness, I was the only guest impacted. The owner, who was present, and the manager were very helpful for which I am grateful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteHazlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Our dive club took over the entire resort. There were 18 of us - 16 divers. There are about 6 standalone "burres" in the lower section of the resort, and 4 rooms in the upper "panoramic" section in more of a motel type setting. Views are incredible from the top but be prepared to walk up and down a lot of stairs.

This is a charming resort off the beaten path (2km off the main road), with a rainforest on one side and the ocean on the other. If you are looking for a 4-5 star luxury place, with heated towels and chocolates on the bed a nite, this is not for you. But, if you want to have a very very nice vacation, with wonderful service, look into Waidroka. Evening dining is family style, with two large tables set up in the main lodge. So, you're going to get to know your fellow travelers if traveling alone or in a small group. Breakfast and lunch are from the menu, about a dozen items each; simple but good. Dinner is fixed. The staff is very good about accommodating special dietary needs (or if you just don't like something).

The staff did a Kava ceremony one nite; other than that, you're on your own for entertainment. The main lodge has a nice seating area with couches, at the bar, and plenty of outside seating to lounge around on.

Diving is great, but the dive schedule is based on the tides; the boats can't get in or out at low tide. So, morning dive times vary daily. We generally stayed out for three dives, with a simple lunch provided; sometimes came back in for a quick lunch, then our third dive. So, moral is, be on time.

There are two boats. The large boat accommodates about 12, and has a marine head. I was on that one. The smaller boat is more open, so a bit (a lot I heard) windy, and no head. The dive masters Paul and Kirstie (as well a Chris the manager), did a good job of describing the sites, and watching over us. Dives were all in the 45 minute range - a little short sometimes, but most dives started in the 70-80 foot range, so, with deco considerations, 45 minutes were fine.

DO THE SHARK DIVE. I was less than 2 feet from a Tiger; Indescribable. Reservations need in advance.

DO THE ZIP LINE.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rikkide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The place and staff were as good as it gets. Kai, the surf guide was a cool surfer guy with a great personality. Everything was easy going and relaxing, yet the scheduled surf trips were on schedule. We surfed Frigates Passage two of our 3 days there...What a wave! The reef wasn't so nice on my arm and back, but the waves kept me in the water! Food and drinks were included and waiting on the boat while out for the day surfing. The food at the resort was also very tasty. The room was clean and the bed wasn't too bad. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Waidroka Bay Resort and the staff were amazing. The resort is beautiful, the food was excellent, the room was cozy and comfortable with a good bathroom with hot water.
We felt like family and were treated as such.
Because the resort is smaller and intimate it was easy to make friends with other guests and made wonderful friendships.
There is so much to do outdoors and see in the area.
Great golf course not far away.
Fun zip line.
Great hiking.
World class surf, diving and snorkeling and the staff is so accommodating and highly skilled.
We would go back in a heart beat.
The Fijians and others are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcgahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,706 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
506 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
9.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
203 reviews
12.0 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range: $155 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort Fiji/Viti Levu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing