We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowgirl Weekend '12”
Review of Flying E Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flying E Ranch
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cowgirl Weekend '12”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was my 2nd Cowgirl Weekend at the Flying E Ranch in Wickenburg. The history of this ranch (only two Dude Ranches left in Wickenburg) is worth reading. From the wranglers, staff, fabulous food, horses, games and starlite nights, the 3 nights were memory makers. Everyone makes sure your stay is the best it can be. You feel like such a special guest. The seven of us cowgirls had a blast. Aaron, Jane, Norm, Ande and Dana give 110% ALL the time. You will not be disappointed at the Flying E...out Wickenburg Way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
30
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Another great trip to the Flying E Ranch. Wonderful staff and wranglers. Be sure to meet Alan...he is very sweet and kind to everyone!

Room Tip: Call and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa, az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

If you want to experience an authentic adventure of the American west, you'll not find a better place than the Flying~E~Ranch just west of Wickenburg, Arizona. Our family has been vacationing there for the past 6 years, and we have only marvelous accolades to report. This ranch is run by true professionals, from the staff, chuck wagon crew, and foreman and wranglers who seems to match their excellent quarter horses to each and every rider's personality. Our family ranges in age from 5 up to 70, and the Flying ~E~Ranch has handled from six up to sixteen members with aplomb. It is a place where your every comfort and needs are met, but with a realistic flavor of the frontier and Arizona desert surrounding you.
Over the years we have stayed in the individual rooms, suites, and cabins during the months of November, January, and February. All are modern and immaculate. The meals are one of the highlights - especially the breakfasts cooked to order. Lunch (usually between rides) is light and healthy. The sumptuous dinners are served family style, with spare ribs, pork tenderloins, and roast turkey breast (we spend our Thanksgiving's there) main courses all highlighting the special salads and desserts served with genuine class. The chuck wagon breakfast cookout is another treat interspersed on the holiday or Sunday morning rides. Ghosts of Gabby Hayes or Walter Brennen are surely overlooking that event and smiling!
The twice a day horseback rides fill the day with excitement and adventure, and the ranch has its share of wild whitetail deer, javalina, and coyotes roaming the adjacent hills. Our advanced riders enjoy the gallop and trotting rides, and the "team penning" - four horsemen or cowgirls trying to steer 3 reluctant "doggies" into a boxed pen - has been a big hit with our teenagers and youth. The evening entertainment - whether square dancing, western music, or simply fun and competitive games in the ranch house - caps off each day just right. And there is enough free time to relax, swim, read, or just enjoy soaking up the Arizona sunshine - in a quiet, restful atmosphere. The Flying ~E~ Ranch cannot be beat. You'll truly be impressed - so, saddle up!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank azpackrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have been to ranches in Arizona for the past 4 years, but visited the Flying E Ranch for the first time at the beginning of November, 2011. Everything about this ranch was amazing. The accommodation was top class, the staff and Managers were warm and friendly and could not do enough for you. The facilities were the best ever, with tennis court, basket ball court, giant chess and draughts, shuffle board, large heated outdoor swimming pool with spa, gym, T.V. room with DVD's for children, large lounge with T.V. and books etc., saloon with internet and balcony to witness the amazing sun sets at 'Cocktail' hour. The food was delicious and plentiful. Horses at this ranch were very suitable for their use - lovely temperments and easy to handle, well cared for, well shod with good tack. The wranglers were so friendly and genuine and their knowledge of the surrounding and nature was inspiring.

This ranch is definitely worth a visit for all, children are very welcome and well cared for.

I will certainly be back, hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Flying E Ranch was an authentic combination of the casual wild west and the pampering of a 5 star resort. The ranch is clean, comfortable, and incredibly maintained. The entire staff is attentive and friendly. We loved the homemade food so much, we purchased a cookbook with recipes from the kitchen. The wranglers are so helpful and provided great horses for the scenic rides! This is a must see destination!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMM60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Ande and Steve and their staff take care of everything and you instantly feel like you have been there before.

Room Tip: Check out the on line maps, every room/house is different and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idahosandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Saguaro cactus welcome you to Wickenburg. Gambel's quail run quickly across the road to alert the staff you're coming. Vulture's Peak serves as your compass, faithfully watching over you throughout your stay. The Wickenburg Massacre Monument marks your turn to the ranch and reminds you that you're becoming a part the fabled history of the Wild West.

Our family has stayed at and enjoyed many dude ranches in Arizona, Wyoming and Colorado but none compares to the Flying ~E~ Ranch. We haven't missed a year since our first visit 8 years ago (newbies by Flying ~E~ standards.) When we arrive it's like reuniting with family. The hosts, Andrea & Steve Taylor, are quick to hug our necks and personally "check us in."

Meals are delicious and cheerfully served family style with daily announcements being made by Ande about new friends arriving or old friends departing. The head wrangler comes around to find out if you"re riding your horse the following day so he's saddled and ready for you after breakfast. There is so much undisturbed land around the ranch that I don't believe I've taken the same ride twice in all my years of riding. Mountains hem you in on one side and typical Sonoran vistas open up around you on the others. Our horses have always been matched perfectly by the wrangler for our different ages and abilities and made our week of riding that much more enjoyable.

I am very particular about cleanliness where I stay when I travel. You will be amazed how clean these facilities from the 50's are. The staff takes great pains to maintain the condition of the original furniture and feel of this historic ranch.

My husband and I love it for the nostalgia of a simpler time and our kids (15,12,11 & 8 years currently) love it for the simple, relaxed pleasure they get from mom and dad "loosening the reins" on them while they swim, play ping pong or shuffle board, take in a movie or put a puzzle together in the kid's room, ride a trail with other kids, or play card games at the end of the day with "Ms. Ande." There are tennis and basketball courts, too. The evenings are always well-planned for entertainment, our favorite being Ray Calloway with his guitar, singing darn-near anything but mainly songs that send your mind to a cowboy's way of doing things.

Every evening at 5 the Happy Hour flag goes up and the adults only saloon is open for appetizers and drinks before dinner. The kids never miss us but could poke their head in to get us if they needed. It's worth noting the original John Wayne sketch in the saloon acquired from his wife, Pilar, from his personal collection. (Not sure her connection to the ranch.)

Every year we pick a day and ascend Vulture's Peak, a solid but doable 2-3 hour climb. The town of Wickenburg recognizes those who complete the trek and are given certificates at dinner.

Wickenburg is regularly selected by western magazines as being an authentic Western town (http://www.----------------.com/) and offers superior cultural venues and events.

We are always melancholy our last day, so happy to still be there but already missing it before we leave. I can't articulate properly the fullness of time spent at the Flying ~E~ Ranch. Everyone that goes has different reasons for returning year after year. What will be yours?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Morrischicksrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyingeranch, General Manager at Flying E Ranch, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you to a crazy, fun, and wonderful Alabama family. Your the reason Dude Ranching is that "one thing" that we are all searching for. Lets keep the west alive and enjoy the ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
3.8 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
140 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Rancho Grande
Best Western Rancho Grande
#2 of 8 in Wickenburg
502 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
82 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#5 of 8 in Wickenburg
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rancho de los Caballeros
Rancho de los Caballeros
#3 of 8 in Wickenburg
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying E Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying E Ranch

Property: Flying E Ranch
Address: 2801 W Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390-1087
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying E Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Informal Guest Ranch offers modern amenities in a warm atmosphere; set on a 20,000 acre desert cattle range at 2,500 ft elevation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Flying E Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying e Ranch Hotel Wickenburg
Flying e Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing