We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out Wickenburg way....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rancho Grande
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out Wickenburg way....”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Rancho Grande a few times, now. It costs a lot less than the comparable BW's in the Phoenix area and it is a lot quieter out Wickenburg way. The rooms are very quiet and the beds are very comfortable. No problems at the office, either. We stayed in room 225, which has two queen beds and all the normal amenities. We also have stayed in the older section with one king. The rooms with one king (142) do not have a microwave, so if you need that item, be sure to ask for a room with one. Not much space in the single. TV is cable. Someday the chain will see the value of digital and flatscreens. The complimentary breakfast is coffee and a sweet roll, across the street (or $2 off your menu order). If you are in town for quiet, you have it. BTW, not much room to park a large vehicle in rooms 131 to 146, and you better be good at parallel parking in that area. Great town.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side are tight parking, no microwave. South side face a school, but quiet and sunny i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Althepal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    191
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
114
186
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
llnjams
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We spent the first night in the 'annex' across the side street and got about 2 hours sleep - the bed was comfy but the noise from the highway and the air horns from the trains were pretty awful. They were able to move us into another section the second night, but it felt dingy and old. No idea if it was quieter, we were so exhausted by this point we just conked out. Breakfast is pretty darned lame - you get coupons for your choice of a free continental (1 muffin, a juice and a coffee and that's all) or $2 off from the menu at the gold nugget across the street. Not to be mean but pyrite nugget more like, it's greasy not hearty fare.
The good is the location. You can walk pretty much anywhere you want to go in town from here. With some updating this would be a great place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llnjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I visited with my dog and was put in one of the annex rooms across the side street from the main hotel - this worked perfectly, there is a nice, clean, lawn between two small rows of rooms where he could chase the ball around and eat his meals. No sign of previous pets in room or on lawn area. The hotel is quite spread out with many single floor buildings, an nice looking pool that wasn't open yet, and a very nice hot tub. The room was large and had all the necessary facilities, although a high shelf would have been nice for keeping the dog's favourite chew items out of reach. I liked having two doors, one to the driveway where the truck was parked right next to the room and one out onto the grassy area. Room was reasonably well lit and the internet connection worked well. There doesn't seem to be any breakfast on site, you go across the main road to a restaurant. Location is fantastic on the edge of the historic district with plenty of restaurants and stores within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex, more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killer_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Every year we stay in Wickenburg for a week or so. We always stay at the Best Western--it is charming and very centrally located. You can walk downtown for shopping or dining very easily. We like the "annex" rooms as we have our dogs and they enjoy the grassy area and semi-courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerswithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Robert and his staff are very friendly and ready to help. Myself and my employees stay here more than 15 times a year! Rooms are clean and fresh, close walking distance to everything!
This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last week for 6 nights. It is a nice family-owned property. The hotel is unusually laid out: it is comprised of multiple wings and sections spread out over a large area and a couple of streets. The pool is closed during this time of year (glorious cool, sunny weather in February.) The hotel is old fashionedwith tired furnishings, in a kitschty Arizona town, so don't expect a renovated, fancy property. Think down-home western.

I can highly recommend my room, and my part of the wing as follows: I was in a king non-smoking room, #143, with a patio, with 2 chairs and a little table, facing a grassy area between the 2 wings. I like the room/wing I was in over all the others that I saw in the property. The wing containing rooms 140-145 is non smoking; has a kitchenette; patio doors allow you to a semi-private calm, quiet experience to sit outside. You park your car immediately outside your door. The staff was delightful. My nightly rate was about $84, taxes included ($76 plus tax.)

The other side of this wing (130-139) has some cars nearby, and I think the noise would disturb me. The walls are rather thin in this hotel. You can hear the neighbor's TV and loud talking, but it seemed that everyone was up and out fairly early in the morning and it wasn't an issue after about 10pm.

The included breakfast is off-property. Across the street at Golden Nugget, you can have an anemic breakfast of coffee, OJ from the carton and a large, sweet, good, but obviously highly processed blueberry muffin. Or, you may use the breakfast card for $2 off a menu item. I used it once out of 7 mornings, and that was plenty. If they are busy, it is all but impossible to get a coffee refill. They have fake creamer, which I won't use, and I was able to get a little milk instead.

Instead, I recommend going to the Basha's grocery store around the corner for milk/cream for the room-provided cofee and coffeemaker and buy whatever you like to eat for breakfast. I am a yogurt-fruit-almonds person, so it worked out great for me. Also, Basha's has a full liquor section if you want a glass of wine in your room.

The mattress was pretty good--they seem to have a feather bed topper, so that was pretty comfortable. I liked the bedding: down comforter is sandwished betweek 2 top sheets that are changed/laundered as you request. BUT- the pillows are unfortunately lumpy and hard. I wish I would have brought my travel down pillow, or for the week's stay, bought one at a local store. I confess, it was my fault for not talking to them about finding a really good pillow for me. TV is pretty limited in its offerings, but nice to have. FREE WIFI in the room is a nice bonus. Free parking. Helpful front desk staff.


I considered room 152 instead. For about $110 nightly, it is basically a small apartment with a kitchen containing a full sized fridge, oven/stove; little living room; separate bedroom. I didn't like the fact that if you want to sit outside, you face a fenced in sandy pit for later-in-season volleyball play.

BE AWARE THAT THERE ARE PEACOCKS on this property that are right behind the rooms near the reception area. I would not book one of those rooms as I understand that they can be noisy creatures. The rooms street-facing are also going to have some noise. Lots of cars/motorcycles are passing by the reception area as well, so avoid those. Location is everything in this oddly laid out hotel.

If one wants to stay in Wickenburg--for The Meadow's workshops, other places' workshops, Family Week, or plenty of motorcycle enthusiasts, this is the #1 hotel I would recommend. If you are a Meadows participant, advise them for a discounted rate and ask to be placed in one of the peaceful rooms in the 140-145 wing.

They have ice machines nearby. Vending machines I saw, but didn't use. Free use of the computer and printer in their little lobby is a nice touch.

The heat/air cycles pretty loudly in the room, but I got used to it.

A great feature for travelers with pets: $8 daily fee and your pooch is welcomed in pet friendly rooms.

TIP: I was in the lobby a few evenings checking the internet. I overheard many conversations about this hotel filling up, as do others in town. This Best Western is often nearly full to full, with the occasional overbooking. Reserve, pay ahead, ask for 140-145 and try to get there before nighttime.

Negatives: thin walls, bad pillows.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 140-145.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stopped in the evening without a reservation. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but comfortable at a good rate. The location was close to some great restaurants. I would go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielW4452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#5 of 8 in Wickenburg
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
82 reviews
4.3 mi away
Flying E Ranch
Flying E Ranch
#4 of 8 in Wickenburg
121 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rancho de los Caballeros
Rancho de los Caballeros
#3 of 8 in Wickenburg
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rancho Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rancho Grande

Property: Best Western Rancho Grande
Address: 293 E Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rancho Grande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Motel located on bank of Hassayampa River in downtown area, 4 miles from airport (courtesy transfer). We are walking distance to a handful of restaraunts and the movie theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rancho Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rancho Grande Hotel Wickenburg
Best Western Wickenburg
Wickenburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Wickenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing