We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice of Lunch Sandwiches”

Nana's Sandwich Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Wickenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American
Description: Sandwich Shoppe, espressos,Homemade pies,cinnamon rolls,homemade breads and cookies, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Description: Sandwich Shoppe, espressos,Homemade pies,cinnamon rolls,homemade breads and cookies, Ice Cream
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Choice of Lunch Sandwiches”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Been to Nana's a few times . . . . never disappointed. You order at the counter, put a number on your table, and (usually) minutes later along comes a sandwich. You look at it and immediately realize you should have only ordered a half! But then you won't need dinner after lunch at Nana's.
Of course Nana also has soups, and home-made desserts; so plan ahead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    58
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
650 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Top notch homemade breads fresh sandwiches and desserts”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a gem in the heart of downtown Wickenburg. Walking in you get a homey cozy feeling. The smell of fresh baked breads and baked pies and yummy desserts gets you right away. Their dessert case will wisk you right to it but you really should order your meal first. Unless sometimes you go by our rule, Life is uncertain eat dessert first. We pretty much had our dessert picked out before we ordered lunch. Their menu has a really good selection of sandwich variety's and salads, soup,quiche, also serving bagels and smoothies. I chose the Mustang which is hot pastrami grilled with fresh onion,lettuce,tomato and their special sauce on your choice of their homemade sourdough,wheat,white or marble rye. I chose the marble rye which was fantastic, Grilled just enough to give just a lite crunch and complemented the sandwich perfectly. The Chicken Scratch was fresh chicken salad with good sauce on a fresh croissant, others had the grilled chicken sandwich, forgot the name of it, sliced grilled chicken breast with green chillis,melted cheese and their special sauce on grilled homemade sourdough bread and the other chose wheat bread. Again, grilled just enough to give that special crisp when you bite in the sandwich. Lightly grilled and not greasy at all, you must taste the bread flavor and here you really get that homemade bread taste. All good portions with you choice of pasta salad or potato salad, also homemade.The homemade pasta salad had carrots,olives, chives and very fresh vinaigrette. Potato salad not mushy, very fresh with veggies and good dressing. We made room for desert and chose the Apple caramel pecan pie. Holy cow, these apples were just a light crunch, super fresh pecans, fantastic not mushy super flaky pie crust. This is the real thing. They also had coconut cream pie, strawberry rhubarb pie, rhubarb cobbler,cookies,cheesecake, all homemade. The pies and desserts can change daily, but believe me only trying one piece of one of their delicious desserts will make me return to try another delight another time. Place your order and they will bring it to you. Everyone is super friendly, always smiling and very clean and also have nice art work and also a mini shopping area with items that may catch your eye to purchase for yourself or gifts. There are 2 dining areas with plenty of seats, the dining area down the stairs has cozy seats and feels almost like home. They also have patio seating 2 tables out front along the street or in the back a few more outdoor tables. The locals come in here and so do the tourists,so that tells you this is the place to be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't beat that bread!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have been to Nana's several times and every time we go we both order a sandwich on their marble bread. I really can't remember a time recently when I had bread that made me crave more. Their marble bread is over the top good.

The food is fresh and good quality. It's a great place for lunch and the atmosphere is cute. One of the best places in Wickenburg to eat and we have tried a few.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sandwich Saloon!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nana's has the best sandwiches, quiches, soups, desserts, smoothies, coffees, etc...You can't go wrong with anything you get here. I try and go at least once a week. They also sell some very cute things for the kitchen. LOVE NANA'S!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trixi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch in Wickenburg”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nana's is owned by the same family that owns and operates Anita's Cacina. Generous sandwiches. The potato salad is most yummy. Our favorite sandwich is the Mustang (pastrami) on rye bread.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mei Mei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana's Sandwich Shoppe also viewed

Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nana's Sandwich Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing