We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glo's Bungalo is sweet”
Review of Rio Tierra Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wickenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Tierra Casitas
Ranked #1 of 4 Wickenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Twisp WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glo's Bungalo is sweet”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Since we were staying 8 nights, we spent the first in the delightful Mexicasa, and the subsequent 7 nights in the more modest - and homey - Glo's Bungalo, which truly felt like home. Katy stocked us up on fruits and juices and yogurt, and the kitchen was so accommodating we ate in most of the time we were in the area, including all but three dinners out in Wickenburg. Being situated right at the edge of the Yassahampa Nature Preserve was a treat: the walks were interesting and we saw all the birds we never see up north. This is a great find.

Room Tip: Mexicasa is near the road but wonderfully appointed. Glo's Bungalo is away from the road, feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBHottell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBeewell, Owner at Rio Tierra Casitas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so glad you discovered us for your winter getaway. We'll never forget you sharing your wild world travels with us! What memories those were. Thanks for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
65
24
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
616 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place was everything we hoped for and more. The two of us rented the Mexican themed casita which is extra large and roomy for two but exactly what we wished for. The casita is free standing and beautifully decorated and has a large living room kitchen area with a fully equipped kitchen and an attached porch and deck, perfect for morning coffee and late evening wine. The bath is more than adequate with tub and shower and two bedrooms , one with a queen bed and another with a single.
But this does not begin to tell the story of how wonderfully decorated it is and fully furnished with things like a tv with so many cable stations you can wear your thumb out, books galore, easy chairs to stretch out on, coffee makers both french press and drip, iron and ironing board, music, and quiet western hospitality
We were promptly greeted by the host, the refrigerator was filled with yogurt, juice, drinks, and the fruit basket filled with fruit and the cookie jar with goodies and the coffee jar with both regular and decaf. And no sooner has we settled in than our host knocked with a freshly baked coffee cake...mmmm good.
We stayed three wonderful days. The place is very conveniently located south of town but maybe a five minute drive and close to the rodeo grounds where we took in a wonderful session of team roping. Yippee. We loved Wickenburg, and this is surely the place to stay. Truly a great place in the desert run by a friendly couple who gives you your space but are there if you need them. Highly recommend staying here for one night to one month! Romantic and lovely.
ZB

Room Tip: Casita Mexican was great but we toured the other casitas and they too were lovely if a bit smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBeewell, Owner at Rio Tierra Casitas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
WOW! Thank you for all your kind words. We loved your stories, book reviews, wine, snacks, but most of all--the special new friendship we built in three short days. We welcome strangers here, and then--bang--we are blessed with new friends in our lives. It's sad to see such guests have to say goodbye. But we know we will see you again! Please hurry back to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National City, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

MexiCasa was a beautiful little casita just perfect for our small family. It is so artistically decorated and all the amenities are thought of so that it is homey and comfortable. Katy and John are wonderful hosts and made our stay perfect. We stayed three nights and totally enjoyed our stay and the town of Wickenburg in general. We had a very memorable vacation and would definately plan a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBeewell, Manager at Rio Tierra Casitas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Three generations of FABULOUS women all under one roof. What an inspiring group you were.
I love seeing these mother / daughter / granddaughter get-togethers and watch the special bonding that goes on. I wanted to adopt you all! You're not so far away, so I hope we'll see you again soon.
And a BIG thank you for adding a new character to the MexiCasa decor. It's perfect!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My daughter and I spent the last week in October at Rio Tierra Casitas and stayed in the MexiCasa, what a great experience! Every inch of space is an adventure. We have vacationed in Wickenburg many times and always stayed in a local hotel, but it was so nice to have a house to call home for our stay this time. Wickenburg is a perfect location to relax, enjoy our favorite restaurant Anita's Cocina, shop and travel in any direction for fun and sightseeing. Being in the desert with beautiful cactus and mountains is what it's all about. And now that includes Rio Tierra Casitas!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBeewell, Owner at Rio Tierra Casitas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It's always a treat to see guests have so much fun during their stay in Wickenburg.
And being seasoned visitors here, we're honored that you chose Rio Tierra for your mother / daughter western adventure. You two packed a lot of life into your week's stay here. Thanks for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We only stayed for one night on our way back to California but this place is worth to stay longer.
3 beautifull large cottages with different themes in a green garden which is strange in the desert...The reason is a all year long creek/small river coming up out of the desert right behind the garden (Official Nature Area.) So beautifull birds to see in this. place.
Couple who is running this place are very friendly and in the morning ask for the pancakes ;-)
Our mexican cottage had a large living room, bathroom and sleeping room with a lot of space.
`so next time we pas by on our way to sedona we stay more nights.

Room Tip: All cottages are good. We saw them all from inside and they all look goed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBeewell, Owner at Rio Tierra Casitas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hey Bart & Inge,
So nice to see your note here! We LOVED having you last summer and so much enjoy our
international visitors. Sharing your life in the Netherlands was very inspiring and we are glad
we could share our Sonoran desert with you. We hope we'll see you again sometime and please stay in touch!
Katy & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I were participants in Rosewood's Family Week, which we found to be both rewarding and emotionally challenging. It was wonderful at the end of the day to be able to return to Rio Tierra, where we both had privacy and comfort. It was our own little "safety zone," an oasis of comfort and peace. Katy was such a wonderful hostess -- she had my coffee, cream and yogurt waiting for me at check-in as well as many other thoughtful touches. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. And the decor -- delightful! Quirky, innovative and fun. Recommended highly!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 839Pat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateBeewell, Owner at Rio Tierra Casitas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We were so glad we could provide you the retreat that you needed during your stay here
and appreciate your very kind words. Know that we wish you all success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our recent trip to Wickenburg was made comfortable by staying at Rio Tierra Casitas. Everything one needs is provided in the "funky" and cute casita. The decor is thoughtful and all amenities were provided. Parking is available right in front of the casita which is very convenient. We stayed for 5 nights. I would recommend it.....nice change from a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
4.2 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
140 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Rancho Grande
Best Western Rancho Grande
#2 of 8 in Wickenburg
495 reviews
5.1 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
87 reviews
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#5 of 8 in Wickenburg
272 reviews
6.8 mi away
Flying E Ranch
Flying E Ranch
#4 of 8 in Wickenburg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Tierra Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Tierra Casitas

Property: Rio Tierra Casitas
Address: 28507 Grand Ave / Highway 60, Wickenburg, AZ 85358
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wickenburg
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing