We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
142
34
12
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
142
34
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trap shooting golf course skeet shooting breakfast and lunch horseback riding dude ranch kids program jeep tour golf club dress code family vacation cowboy cookout nature walk great golf ribs meal plan playing cards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 196 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

I love this place. It's so different to anywhere else I have been. It's really peaceful and so relaxing. If you like riding you can trek in the desert. And if you like golf they have a beautiful golf course. The desk staff and waiting staff are very helpful and friendly. Once again loved this ranch thank you.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Rancho de los Caballeros, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the ranch. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best!

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

February had great weather cool and not hot. The casita was roomy, clean, and had a nice back door patio.The main lobby always had a nice fire in the fireplace and beautifully decorated in a western motif. A pool table for your enjoyment. The lobby staff were excellent and very helpful. The grounds are beautiful with green grass, flowers,and desert cacti. There is tennis I believe 4 hard courts. The breakfast and lunch were included. For golfers there is of course a golf course. The Buffett’s were adequate. The dinner which is more formal had a good fresh selection. For activities we did the hayride and cookout. This was well worth it. Had a great barbecue with ribs and chicken, and drinks. Had a couple of fires going where u sat around and enjoying the peaceful surrounding s. We had a wonderful guitarist singer going around singing familiar songs. It was very relaxing. Horseback riding was excellent. The horses Are well cared for and easy to ride. I enjoyed a massage afterwards the spa which was worth the $125.00 for 60 minutes. The massage was necessary after a ride. It’s popular so book early. Next day we went out on a Jeep tour of the desert. Our guide was local. And knows the area like the back of his hand. We learned so much on how to survive in the desert.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We had booked our New Year's family vacation at Rancho de los Caballeros six months prior to arrival with high expectations based on the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we left Rancho de los Caballeros utterly disappointed with our 4-day, 3-night stay there.

Our family (with two children ages 8 and 11) is no stranger when it comes to guest ranch vacations. We've visited guest ranches in Arizona for three winters in a row the past three years. Sadly, Rancho de los Caballeros fell short compared to the other ranches by a long shot.

Before I dive into details, let me just preface by saying that I've written 250+ reviews on TripAdvisor, and very rarely do I give a 2-star rating to any business (this is only the 7th). I do not write retaliatory reviews. I believe in giving the business a chance to fix or address our concerns privately before I write a negative review. Regrettably in this case, every single negative experience I'm describing below has been brought up to Rancho de los Caballeros management but no efforts, in fact, zero communication has been made to answer our feedback (since we left Rancho de los Caballeros more than two weeks ago). Everything I've written here were captured on a guest comment card that we took 20 minutes to hand write the day we checked out, which was given to the front desk with the explicit instruction to deliver to the management. It is evident to us that the management at Rancho de los Caballeros simply does not care about guest experience.

Now let me run down the list of issues we experienced during our stay:
- On our reservation form we specifically requested no down bedding due to allergies. Upon arrival, all the pillows and comforters in our two rooms were down/feather. We had to call housekeeping to have everything swapped.
- Most of the staff were friendly, but coordination between staff members and staff familiarity with ranch policies were seriously lacking. There were many instances where the same question asked of the front desk and other ranch staff yielded conflicting answers. Also, the ranch information guide (the binder on the guest room desk) contained outdated info. One time when we asked the Kids Club staff to confirm something we read in the guide pertaining to the kids program, the staff said she didn't know such guide existed and the information that we repeated from the guide is wrong.
- On our third day at Rancho de los Caballeros, I got really sick from foodborne illness that I suspect was the result of eating a particular fish dish at dinner. I do not want to go into gross details, but what transpired was I ended up lying in bed for nearly 36 hours straight. When my wife told several staff members of my predicament, no one apologized.
- On our last day, our son went on a morning horseback ride, and at one point during the ride he asked for water, made sad and upset faces while moaning, yet both wranglers leading the ride made no attempt to check in with him. It turned out he got food poisoning also. He ended up soiling his underwear (while on the ride), and vomited twice thereafter before we left the ranch. It took him 36 hours for things to get back to normal.

Clearly, our family vacation was a disaster at Rancho de los Caballeros. What bothered us more than the fact that two of us got ill (most likely the result of eating ranch food), was the complete lack of effort on the part of management to reach out to us after we provided written feedback on our negative experience.

Before I close, I do want to acknowledge a couple of positive aspects of Rancho de los Caballeros. First, the room itself was spacious, clean, and nicely decorated in southwestern motif. Second, wrangler Debbie was super pleasant and nice.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
17  Thank vetism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Rancho de los Caballeros, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

I am embarrassed to admit that I did not receive your written guest survey in my office and am only now reading the review of your disappointing experience. If you would be so kind as to reach out to me at (928) 684 - 4884 I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you and attempt to address this egregious situation.

In the interim please accept my apologies on behalf of everyone at Rancho de los Caballeros for your experience during your stay!

Rick Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

My family and I just returned from a vacation at Rancho de los Caballaros. I cannot say enough good things about this trip - by far the best family vacation we've taken. The staff is wonderful - they make a point to know your names right away and make you feel at home immediately.

The rides were fantastic. The wranglers were all great and within a day they were all greeting us by our first names. Tony and his team do a great job matching you up to a horse and a trail ride that suits your riding ability. Each ride was different making every one a new adventure. Our daughters (11 and 14) learned so much about the desert from our trail rides with Deb. She was full of fun facts and information and clearly loves her job!

The horses were wonderful and as horse lovers, it was an experience just to be around them. You can watch them come in from the desert each morning and return each night which is a great sight to see. They each have a personality which was fun to observe. By the end of our stay, we knew many of them by name.

The rooms were very spacious and clean and the meals were fantastic. Breakfast and lunch buffets offered many options. The dinners however were our favorite - the meals were excellent and on par with what we would get at fine dining establishments.

This wasn't just a vacation, it was an experience that created family memories we will never forget. It was a great way to connect with family, nature, horses, and the wonderful staff at the resort. We can't wait to return!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick H, General Manager at Rancho de los Caballeros, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! The horses are the stars of the ranch and we all are fortunate to share the ranch with our four legged friends!

Hope to see you back at the ranch soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We were invited to this resort for a family reunion and the place was an excellent fit. Located at Wickenburg, AZ. Approx. a one hour car drive from Phoenix. They have daily activities that include walking trails, horseback riding, trap shooting, eating at the desert and jeep rides among them. Their restaurant is their best feature. The hotel is many cabins spread over the area with a large main building where the front desk, restaurant, heated pool and meeting areas are located.
You can walk if the weather permits. At winter the days are cool but nights get really cold. Rooms are clean, modernized and have excellent maintenance.
Some things you need to be aware of : even if you have reservations for horseback riding your ride can be cancelled due to lack of communication with the front desk. Our group had reservations made one month before arrival and confirmed upon arrival. Then the miracle happened that they claimed they never received notifications from the front desk. They were able to accommodate part of the group the next day but some of us had to leave. My recommendation is make reservations early, confirm at the front desk and confirm at the horse stable on arrival. Do reservations for your first or second day in case they cancel them. Most of the front desk staff is helpful and friendly but there are some that are rude and treat their guests as secondary level(the administration is their first). You need at least 2-3 nights to enjoy this resort. They have free Wi-Fi at the rooms but sometimes reception is not good and you need to go to the hotel lobby to get a fair reception.
Bring your patience in order to deal with the administration oriented staff. Reserve and confirm many times.

Room tip: If you have disabilities specify before reservation.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews