We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Salt River Rafting tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
136
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
136
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fajitas great trip day trip raft guide wet suits class rapids safety training boy scout troop white water these guys second half an absolute blast great company wild horses amazing adventure water level fantastic guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 139 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Sensei Hallie, I leave with you a short haiku to capture our time on the river together:

Four friends go rafting.
On the raft, Sensei leads them.
Five friends leave the raft.

*********

10/10 experience. You will have a great time, especially if you are fortunate enough to have Hallie as your guide.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank WiseUncleIroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WileyL7, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Owner reads review
employee happy he makes
joy the river brings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

First time whitewater rafting and I can’t say enough! This rafting company is totally awesome! Our guide Scotty was fabulous and made us all feel like we were experts....even though we were nothing of the sort! He was so thorough and so knowledgeable about the river and the rapids, but also about all of the surroundings along the river. There were 6 of us...my son and his wife with their two kids 18 and 12. Then my husband and myself who are recently retired. It was such a great family adventure! We will definitely do it again, and would recommend Mild to Wild Rafting to everyone!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank oldiesdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WileyL7, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

We raft Wild and we raft Mild.
Salt River Rafting will deliver with a smile.
Who is Scotty?
Perhaps this review is dotty (or for a different company)?!
Next time I hope they go with the best.
Instead of the rest. because...
Our guides have been assessed.
By TripAdvisors written texts.
Couldn't resist.
Litmus Test.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

We booked the all day rafting trip. The half day is an option but basically you lose out on the provided lunch and an additional 1.5-2 hours of rafting (the half day is probably only a good option if weather is questionable and you worried about bing cold). Provided for all were wet suits/boots/splash jackets and helmets. Guides also offered up sunscreen if needed. The price at first may seem a little high but when you compare it to other similar rafting adventures it was very fair.

The location is very remote and their is no cell reception, so print a map ahead of time to help guide you in (this is recommended on their website). The drive in is beautiful and breathtaking.

This trip is fine for beginner thrill seekers. We went through some class 4 rapids (the class can very dependent upon the water flow) and my eleven year old was fine, as well as my wife who won’t go on a roller coaster. I also saw people in their 70’s taking the ride. The motion is a jostling shake you around motion so if you have a bad back or something of that nature you might want to pass.

The guides were all friendly, polite, very helpful, and entertaining and shared out some great historical/nature points through the trip. When you picture a modern hippy in your mind that is what they all look like (there is no semblance of a uniform or even a guide shirt) but as they explained they all camp out for 2-3 months and then move to the next rafting area most often in other states or countries and work as guides there.

The lunch provided was tortilla chips, salsa, apples, oranges, water, orange juice, and chicken fajitas. For the fajitas they and shells, refrained beans, chicken, grilled peppers and onions, lettuce, cheese, jalapeños, and tomatoes. Cookies were for desert.

The bus or open air modified Jeep transport trip back was about 40 minutes. The ride is a bit bumpy but nothing more than what you experienced rafting. The guides still kept us entertained with jokes and pointing out sights to see. It was also nice being able from an elevated cliff side view being able to see where you just rode down the river through.

After they offered some pictures from a location in you trip. The pictures were offered to you on a thumb drive for $25. I thought price was more than fair. There have been some other excursions I have been on where they offered up a single pic for $10 or $20.

The only down side I can think of on the whole trip was if you have to use facilities portapotties are the only option. This didn’t bother me but for a my wife was the first time in her life she has ever had to use one and was an eye opening experience.

Conclusion: Great trip, book it.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 672bradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WileyL7, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Anyone who didn't read the full review must read the second to last paragraph about the port-a-potty. I laughed out loud! Thank you for the play by play review of the day, it does mean a lot to me and the guides and I appreciate the eye opening experience at the end (not olfactory experience)? Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

My husband and I took the full day trip along the Salt River Canyon and had an absolute blast! After being suited up and our safety presentation we walked alongside our guide Josh down to the river to board the rafts. We got to know Josh pretty quickly during our walk and he was amazing! Josh did an excellent job of showing us a great time on the river all while keeping us out of harm's way. Josh was very knowledgable about the area and very informative during our trip. The feast put out during lunch was excellent (we only expected something like sandwiches and were pleasantly surprised with fruit and fajitas with all of the trimmings along with refreshing lemonade). Josh's knowledge, wit, and sense of humor made for a very memorable and fun loving experience!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WileyL7, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Our guides are the pride of Salt River Rafting and what makes for a memorable and fun loving experience, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

When going on a white water river adventure I want to feel assured that I'm going to be well taken care of by the company I chose for the outing. Salt River Rafting gives me exactly that; the feeling of assurance that their guides will do all that should be done to make the trip what I hoped it would be. Fantastic!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank sinropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WileyL7, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Thank you for defining top notch. This is what we strive for. And pretty much nail. Every day. Just saying. No big deal. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews