We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Family Experience”
Review of Salt River Rafting

Salt River Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$163.24*
and up
Full-Day Salt River Raft Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Raft this stunning 2000′ deep canyon in the spring time sun on mountain snow melt. Sun, Splashes, Scenery and Saguaros = Whitewater Rafting Arizona’s Salt River! One of the funnest family friendly things to do in the Phoenix & Tucson area. Partial - Full Day Guided Whitewater River Trips!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 26, 2018

Getting the kids up early is tough during spring break, but going on a white water rafting day trip had everyone up and excited. We were NOT disappointed! Don't expect a 'day spa' experience in this remote high-desert wilderness area. The facilities are primitive, but the equipment and the guides are first rate. Everyone's safety is paramount from the beginning, and our group of 5 felt that way throughout the trip. And the fun on the rapids is fantastic and an adrenaline rush as you go through the shoots!! I actually got caught off-guard on a smaller bump and got pitched over-board. As the Dad, it made for a great memory as my girls made fun of me the rest of the trip. Highly recommend this adventure!

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank markhA6052AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Thank you so much for mentioning the family friendliness of the raft trip and the lasting memories an adventure on the Salt River will make. Safety is our number one priority and once you know and see it in our guides you can relax and enjoy what rafting has to offer. Thanks you for the wonderful review Mark, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great trip"
in 13 reviews
"day trip"
in 20 reviews
"raft guide"
in 4 reviews
"safety oriented"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 2 reviews
"an adventure"
in 3 reviews
"great for kids"
in 2 reviews
"rapids"
in 29 reviews
"phoenix"
in 13 reviews
"equipment"
in 9 reviews
"company"
in 14 reviews
"blast"
in 10 reviews
"scenery"
in 14 reviews
"fun"
in 41 reviews
"beginners"
in 6 reviews
"float"
in 4 reviews
"canyon"
in 13 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed a week in Phoenix, AZ and decided to make the three hour drive to Salt Canyon. SO WORTH IT. The guide was funny, careful, and enjoyable. My only regret was that we didn't book the longer rafting session. We wanted more!

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank addiescoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Don't make Addie's mistake, book the full day instead of the half day! For so many reasons: twice as much river time, twice as many rapids. Also, the longest and biggest rapids are on the second half of the trip after our amazing on the beach, grilled, river side lunch. But wait, there's more! Salt River Rafting also does deluxe car camping overnight trips in the canyon and 3 day Wilderness trips which include meals and camping gear. Thank you Addie, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

This is the best rafting company I have ever used. I have done the Salt River trip for almost 15 yrs, and will cont to go every yr with this company as water levels allow!!

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank andibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

WOW! A seasoned Salt River veteran sends rafters our way, thank you so much. Take note TripAdvisor readers, Andibean has alluded to the ephemeral nature of the Upper Salt River of Arizona. The Salt River depends on winter snows high up in the White Mountains to melt into water to allow Sonoran Desert Rafting in the spring. Truly a magical experience: water in the desert, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

fun rafting trip. Lots of good scenery and friendly folks.
Would do it again. Our tour gal was great and had a lot of knowledge about the area and river.
Lunch was provided and was enough for everyone. (I had seconds)

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kurkowski77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

We don't advertise that the grilled, riverside beach lunch is all you can eat, but we do make sure there are always seconds :)! Salt River Rafting is certain that the guide is the one who really takes the trip to the next level which is why we get them lots of training about the area for those interested in more than the whitewater and having a good time. We are super proud of our team and glad you had fun on the river, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2018

This was my second full day adventure. Loved them both. Enough rapids and excitement to keep my adrenaline pumping but I felt safe and secure with these professionals. Will do it again!

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank VintageJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Thank you! A review from repeat Salt River Rafting customers is the highest of praise and recognizing the professionalism of the team means the world to us, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt River Rafting also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Salt River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing