We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Salt River Rafting tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
92
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great trip day trip raft guide safety oriented fantastic guide an adventure great for kids rapids phoenix equipment company blast scenery fun beginners float canyon
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 94 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Honestly, I was a bit nervous after I booked the all day trip for my family of 5 (16,14,10 year old kids). The first worry was the rapids and the second worry driving there from Phoenix and going through the mountains and into the canyon. Well- NOTHING to worry about! The drive was BEAUTIFUL !! As for the ride down the river and the rapids... well, when you are with the BEST guide ALLY and part of the Salt River Rafting Family there is nothing to worry about! Ally gave great commands we all understood and we worked together and sailed through the rapids! The day was perfect, the rapids were SO fun! SRR does such a great job of going through safety and teaching how to paddle before hitting the river. We really had so much fun. Ally was so nice and made a point of asking each person in the raft about their interests. She is so knowledgeable about the Salt River, its history, the wildlife, plants.... just amazing! The lunch they cooked was soooo good and hit the spot! We had many laughs along the way and made fast friends with the couple in the raft with us (JOE! and Sharon). This was by far the greatest experience/adventure our family has had together! The bus ride after the rafting back up the river was an adventure in itself! ALL of the guides were very professional, knowledgeable and kind. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Hope to see you all again in the future!!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Fam5Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Sweet! Thank you for that review for nervous families. We certainly focus on safety first and then have a blast making memories and maybe even the highlight of your families vacation. The 2017 whitewater rafting season on the Upper Salt River Canyon will run through April this year and is in one of the most beautiful places in Arizona just hours from Phoenix and Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

Family of five (second-time rafters) took the trip up north while in Phoenix for spring break rafting. 2 1/2-hour car ride was worth every minute of it. Beautiful scenery along the way and even more spectacular when we got down in the canyon. We took the 10-mile trip that included lunch. The fabulous staff prepared us well for the journey, offering wet suits, splash jackets and booties before giving us a safety presentation. The river flow was great and the water cold from all the snow fall over the winter. The class 2 and 3 rapids and may riffles were perfect for my husband, me and three teenage girls. They provided plenty of excitement and fun but never made us scared. We loved being on the water on an 80-degree day and seeing all the majestic scenery. Our guide, David, was the best! He provided lots of descriptions of what we were seeing along the way. We were not scared of falling out, but David was quick to tell us he had only taken one journey where no one had taken a swim. Shortly thereafter, out goes my husband, and we weren't even in a rapid, only a riffle. He knew exactly what to do, thanks to our great training, and David quickly pulled him back in the raft. Made for an epic story we will be embarrassing my husband with for a while. Stopping for the lunch break was perfect and allowed us to kick back for an hour. The fajitas the guides prepared were warm, delicious, and plentiful. After finishing the trip with the largest and most fun rapid of them all, the bus ride back to base camp was nearly as adventurous as the rafting. Our driver did a fantastic job of maneuvering a school bus down narrow, bumpy roads and getting us back safely to where we started. Everything was perfect and we can't wait to do this trip again next time we visit Arizona. Cannot recommend highly enough! Thanks to all the staff for an amazing trip!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank allidan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Yes Alladin2! Great job explaining how we make memories, have adventures and love every minute of our special jobs connecting families and friends to mother nature. Right now (April 2017) the Sonoran Desert is in full bloom with wildflowers, incredible scenery and fantastic water levels for beginner and intermediate whitewater! Thank you for taking time to share your trip with us here in the TripAdvisor world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

This was a fantastic experience for our family. Our crew of six had Billie as a guide my youngest son said he was "epic"! Fajitas for lunch were delicious. The crew was very helpful with gear and safety instructions.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank kelly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

It doesn't get any better than to have a 25+ year veteran guide walk onto the team and hit it out of the park! Thank you Kelly for taking the time to write your review letting people know there is another "Grand Canyon" in Arizona called the Upper Salt River Canyon and it has whitewater in the desert until May this 2017 season. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Our rafting day-trip with Salt River Rafting was awesome! It was the culmination of the Spring break that I took our daughters (ages 14 and 17) on. I will say that you have to be in the spirit for an adventure. Neither of our girls had been rafting before, and the put-in is remote (an hour either way from Globe or Show Low, AZ) and fairly rugged. On first impression, the guides first come-off as a pretty loose and scraggily bunch. Before getting in the raft, you get an anxiety-inducing, but mandatory, safety talk about what to do if you fall in the water. But when you get in the raft, you quickly learn that these guys really know the river. I want to give a shout-out to Taylor, who was very cool and was a big help when our daughters were thinking “Dad, what have you gotten us in to?” I also want to thank our guide Tarik, who did an expert job on the IV+ rapids, and who was also very knowledgeable about the flora, fauna, geology, and history of the area. The rapids were exciting, but not overly dangerous, and all-in-all it was the perfect first rafting trip for our daughters (the school bus ride back to base camp was fun too!).

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank CliffordG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Thank you for telling it like you see it and keeping your mind open by not judging a book by its cover. It takes a dedicated and passionate individual to guide rafts out here in the middle of nowhere on the Apache reservation a hundred miles from Phoenix. We might not get to shower and shave everyday, but we get to live life to the fullest and share it with people like you and your daughters which makes it even all the more worthwhile. I'm super proud of our team of river professionals and never question that they are the best crew in the Salt River Canyon, Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

We had a great time rafting the Salt River with Salt River Rafting! Our guide, Aaron, was awesome. He was very knowledgeable and experienced and had such a great attitude. This was our first time white water rafting and we had a blast! The scenery was breathtaking and the whole crew was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely raft through Salt River Rafting and/or their sister companies again in the future! In fact, we can't wait to go again!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Capital F, Capital U, Capital N spells fun, booyah! Safe, fun and total pro's here at Salt River Rafting. Thank you for letting people know about this hidden gem in a state filled with wonder and surprise and come join us for the 2017 whitewater rafting season thru April this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews