We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt River Rafting is my FAVE spring time getaway”
Review of Salt River Rafting

Salt River Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$163.24*
and up
Full-Day Salt River Raft Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Raft this stunning 2000′ deep canyon in the spring time sun on mountain snow melt. Sun, Splashes, Scenery and Saguaros = Whitewater Rafting Arizona’s Salt River! One of the funnest family friendly things to do in the Phoenix & Tucson area. Partial - Full Day Guided Whitewater River Trips!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I took a group of Scouts - parents & youth on a trip with SRR. The guides are well-trained, knowledgable, and just plain FUN. The company is well-equipped, the lunch that they provided was amazing, and they're all a bunch of dog lovers =^) The guides helped my Scouts earn the Whitewater merit badge, and it was a trip that they will remember for the rest of their lives. There's a photo of our troop on SRR facebook page

Date of experience: March 2011
1  Thank CynthiaW172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

You're the best Cynthia! and thanks for your help getting our guides to be certified whitewater merit badge counselors as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great trip"
in 13 reviews
"day trip"
in 20 reviews
"raft guide"
in 4 reviews
"safety oriented"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 2 reviews
"an adventure"
in 3 reviews
"great for kids"
in 2 reviews
"rapids"
in 29 reviews
"phoenix"
in 13 reviews
"equipment"
in 9 reviews
"company"
in 14 reviews
"blast"
in 10 reviews
"scenery"
in 14 reviews
"fun"
in 41 reviews
"beginners"
in 6 reviews
"float"
in 4 reviews
"canyon"
in 13 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

I went with a group of friends and family a couple years ago and we all loved the full day experience. Both the lunch and our guide were great. Beautiful scenery too! No complaints at all.

Thank avriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

No complaints here either! Glad you liked the trip and we look forward to seeing you again this year. It is shaping up to be a good one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great trip. We rode in guided IK (inflatable kayaks) following larger rafts. Guides were great! Lunch was great! I highly recommend SRF for rafting on the salt this Spring. 1/2 day trips, full day, or full "through" trips bridge to bridge. Great group of people: friendly, experienced, safe, eco-minded, nature loving, and fun. Highly recommended! great river, great times....

Date of experience: April 2011
1  Thank DeanTrammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Rocks! Yes, our raft trips float through a canyon of beautiful ROCKS! The rocks, scenery and rapids just get better the farther you go down the river. This could be a great year to experience the Wilderness Section of the Salt River on our 3-5 day trips. We look forward to seeing you guys again this year Dean. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have taken the full day trip several times over the last 5 years. We have even taken our 8 year old. Very fun, very safe and the best guides.

Thank ShowLowMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I had heard that white water rafting was possible on the Salt River, but i did not believe it because I had only every been tubing on the Salt, and I thought no way is there enough water for that. But then I learned that the rafting happened in the Upper Salt. So one day I drove up to check it out. It was at the end of the season, in fact may have been the last day on the river. So I waited a year and then went with some friends in early April 2010..and it was amazing!! A friend from high school, and his 2 sons and I did a half day ride. We shared the raft with another family. The weather was so nice we really did not even need the jackets and stuff. I had so much fun that I convinced another group of friends to do a full day trip about a month later. Again, another great trip but it was SO COLD this day…rain, sleet, wind. I don’t think I have ever been so cold. The hamburgers and cowboy coffee we had at lunch helped tho. Each time I went we had great guides. They made the trips so much fun. I can not wait to go again this year. I love that we can do this so close to home in Tucson.

Date of experience: April 2011
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverJames, Owner at Salt River Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

I love this because it's so fun to see so many familiar faces each year. Thanks Dan, and we'll see you this spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt River Rafting also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Salt River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing