We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient close to the Grand Canyon ánd affordable.”
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon. Very close to the South entrance. The Red Feather Lodge has a good price/quality ratio. Nothing special but the price is not too high eather. Swimming Pool is small and somewhat inconvenient located right next to the Main entrance of the hotel. Not very inviting to take a dip. Rooms in the main building are renovated but the rest of the complex could use a renovation too. Still the room rates are reasonable.
For some reason we didn't succeed in booking a room online but by telephone a room was confirmed immediately. The Breakfast is served in the Mexican Restaurant next door and was rather basic. Again, nothing special, just like the rest.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room in the Main Buidling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobenDied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed there recently for a 3 day visit to the canyon - the hotel was OK (but overpriced for what you get) - but the staff at the font desk were rude and not responsive - both when we checked in and when I asked for advice. I know they are native american but that doesn't mean they should be rude

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My boyfriend and stayed at this hotel while visiting the Grand Canyon. The prices were a little high but it was over Memorial Day weekend so it was understandable. The front desk staff was very nice and accommodating. The pool was small but still a nice area. There are many restaurants and shops nearby as well. Your room key gives you a discount at the hotel restaurant as well. Overall the hotel was nice and the location was perfect to the Grand Canyon. We will return the next time we travel to the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Red Feather is just minutes from the entrance to Grand Canyon making it easy to refresh between hikes. Just two blocks from the hotel, a group of elk were grazing! We were near the lobby but the room was well insulated and quiet. Room was clean, fridge worked, free coffee was always on, the pool was clean (even though it faces the parking lot :( ) and staff was competent. Washer and dryer came in handy! Carpets need an update but other than that, the location and service make this a GREAT value! MC

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here overnight so that we could spend two days exploring Grand Canyon. Perfect location and hotel of good standard. Staff were very pleasant, we had problems with the door key and this was sorted immediately. Whist booking in and checking out staff were keen to ensure we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived quite late after a very long drive from Vegas. As a result the car park was quite full and had to park quite away from the main building check in desk. I forgot to take my credit card, but the cheery receptionist was happy to confirm the card on file rather than make me walk all the way back to the car. Nice touch.

We had a room in older Motel side of the premises. It was showing its age a bit from the outside, but there were no concerns once inside. The room had obviously been redecorated quite recently, was a good size feeling bright and airy. Usual amenities of tea/coffee, tv, fridge etc were all there.

There were two pools, one inside and one outside - on the edge of the car park! We chose the one inside.

Tusayan is quite a small place, about a quarter mile from end to end. It is also a proper tourist trap. There a few places to eat, all of which were overpriced and closed by 10pm. McDonalds also takes full advantage of its location, the 'dollar' menu started at $2.79 with a premium being charged on all other menu items too. Also, try to avoid having to fill up on gas here as it's nearly a $ more expensive than elsewhere.

Customers are offered a discount at the Plaza Bonita Mexican restaurant located at the side of the Motel, but this is also still quite pricey. Breakfast is available here, as none is provided by the hotel. Thankfully we were only staying here for the one night on our way to the Canyon, the entrance to which is just a few miles further along the road.

Given the premium charged by all businesses here, it was decent value, if a bit basic.

Room Tip: You will get some noise from the car park as it's a motel. But as all the local bars and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was so impressed with everything at this Lodge. The actual lodge has two buildings...the hotel (no pets) and the motel (pet allowed). I believe the hotel rooms are a bit newer. You are greeted in the lobby with a very friendly staff. I had a room on the first floor......two queen size beds...very comfortable...cable tv was great and the free wi-fi worked perfectly.....very nice to have since it is difficult to obtain cell phone service in that whole area.
There is a mcDonalds right across the street (expensive.....I bought an egg mcmuffin and ice coffee and it ran over $7.50) and there are "general stores" all within walking distance.
The Red Feather Inn has a small pool (it was closed down when I was there on June 17) though the whirlpool was open. All in all, I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredteacherAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,761 reviews
5.7 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $86 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing