We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were desperate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We were desperate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

All the hotels inside the national park itself were completely booked, and Red Feather also said on the phone that they were fully booked (I have no clue why), but when we showed up anyway, they said they did actually have rooms available. Its not a bad motel, good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    954
    704
    161
    77
See reviews for
703
897
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
K_Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived in Tusayan in the middle of the night in below freezing weather in December. The block of our room was separated from the main reception and building, and required another chilly exit into the cold void. Upon arriving at our room - clean, basic, comfortable bed, we were slightly dismayed at the lack of warm drink options for non-coffee drinkers (no tea bags or hot chocolate). Breakfast is also not provided. We were thankful that the heating worked well at least.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank K_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This motel is about half the price of all other options in town, looks a little weather beaten on the outside but inside was large clean rooms all very clean and well appointed. Book ahead early for a great online rate.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly next to stairs which are noisy from from footsteps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We made a visit to the Grand Canyon during the busy holiday season and found that the Red Reather Lodge was a very good value. We booked a room in the new hotel and found that the rooms were a good size, decorated tastefully and very clean. The welcome at check-in was efficent and welcoming. Be sure to check in first so that you can use a coupon for the IMAX right down the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pibrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

As we had planned a helicopter flight above the Grand Canyon this lodge was very good located.
The rooms were clean the mattress it bit tough to our taste. At lot restaurants in the area.
We were happy to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Red Feather Lodge for two nights in late November, and got a good room at a great location for a great price. I'm sure it's more expensive in the summer months, but we couldn't complain. The dog-friendly rooms are in an older part of the Lodge, but that's understandable. The room was somewhat small, the TV a little dated, but the beds were comfortable and everything worked. Our wi-fi speed was fine (the staff had warned us that we might have a few problems initially linking with our Apple products, but we had no problems at all). The staff were efficient.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a newer room and don't have a pet, you might want to ask which unit yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolfdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

You will not go wrong getting a room for the weekend, very clean, very friendly staff, free coffee, tea, and chocolate at the front desk. Parking is enough for every guest. Also free wifi upon check in but speed isn't that great. If you do decide to visit the Grand Canyon, highly suggest to eat within the area then eating inside the national park. I would define fly stay over here again..

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing