We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at red feather lodge for 1 night with 4 of my family members. The room was comfortable and at a good location just few minutes away from South side gate of Grand Canyon. The only issue I had was the wireless did not work well in the room and I had to sit in the lobby to do any surfing. Apart from it there is no breakfast included in stay so that was not a good thing... But overall if you are looking for a short stay then you can definitely stay in this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartyn2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    979
    721
    165
    79
See reviews for
736
921
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nanaimo B.C.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There is a huge difference between the hotel and motel on this property. I made the mistake of booking the Motel. No fridge which I really needed and are not available in the Motel. Ugly outside, I wouldn't stay here again in the motel section. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilli36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montigny-le-Tilleul, Belgium
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and myselve spent 3 nights in building 4 (old part of the hotel). The room was a bit noisy due to the many air conditioning units, to the toilet fans and the parking lot nearby. The bed was too soft (we were sliding towards each other ... nice except when you want to sleep). The safety chain at the door is installed upside down... It does not work this way.
Apart from these little details, the room was nicely furnished, comfortable, spacious.
The hotel is well situated (+/_ 3 miles from the NP). In Tusayan are many restaurants but nothing really good. Sure we accomodated ourselve. The last day, we drove to the Market Plaza in the parc to take a better breakfast (+/_ 7 miles).
Red Feather Lodge is a good choice anyway. Prefer the new section = reserve more than 6 months in advance.

Room Tip: Reserve ealy enough, 6 months in advance and ask a room in the new section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff did not seem to be friendly. The hotel is close to the national park (5 min by car), restaurants and small markets. Clean room with basic amenities. Worth the price.
Tip: definitely worth waking up at dawn to sunrise.
Best Sunset -> Yaki Point
Best Sunrise -> Hopi Point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument Valley, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here two night for a visit of the Grand Canyon. While we checked in, the man that was helping us wasn't really helpful, he didn't explain a thing and was very uninterested. So was the girl that checked us out. On the other hand, there is staff that is very helpful, a young man help us clearing up some questions with lot of patience!
The room was simple but clean, which is most important.
The pool and spa where very nice and towels where available!
Location is great, In less 5 minutes you are in the park!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September while taking a trip to the Grand Canyon while visiting Las Vegas. I booked the room in advance asking for the Hotel section requesting a top floor with refrigerator. We choose Red Feather due to the fact that the price was the lowest of the several hotels in the area. Checkin was quick, we did get the room we requested. Great location to get to the Grand Canyon. No frills but room was much nicer than we had expected. Plenty of room for the 2 of us. The wifi did not work that well, my email had troubles after leaving as well. I have to comment on the staff - checkin/checkout was quick, but the staff members were not friendly like in other hotels, just pretty robotic. So overall, best price in the area, clean and convenient location.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizama04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not a huge amount to write about the Red Feather Lodge, it does what is says on the tin ie. it's a lodge in Tusayan and it's the closest place to stay outside of the Grand Canyon!

We were not disappointed at all, check in was really fast and efficient, rooms were of decent standard - we had two rooms next to each other in the main building - a fridge is provided in each. All very clean and no complaints with the wifi connection either. Plenty of parking and don't forget your meal vouchers as you will obtain a discount at one of the restaurants - it's the Mexican one, sorry I can't remember the name but they do a decent breakfast!

Drive time to the GC is about 10 minutes max. In Tusayan you will find a couple of mini markets where you can stock up on provisions for your room, wine, snacks etc..

Only slight negative is the size of the pool - it's tiny!! I would probably stay here again but if I had the budget I would try for one of the hotels with a bigger pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing