We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean room and good location. This is not a brand new hotel but has been maintained nicely. I am very particular about the cleanliness of any hotel I stay in (in fact I tend to be pretty harsh in my judgments in that regard) this room was clean. We stayed two nights and had a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    999
    734
    166
    80
See reviews for
751
937
79
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Love the Route 66 feel to this place! The sign was a great photo op! The pool is much smaller in real life than the photos suggest. Opted for room in old motel section of the property, which was fine for the limited time we were in the room. Room was clean and comfortable, air blew cold and we did not flood with the monsoon rain storm we experienced. Found ourselves looking for outlets, having to unplug some lamps to charge our devices.... much of the area/park is a no service area so batteries drain quickly. Linens/sheets were below average for the price paid, although everything in the city was pretty pricey to begin with, as one would expect. Not a bad stay, but not a great stay. Did eat breakfast in the restaurant which was fine once the ordered over easy eggs, delivered scrambled were fixed. Clean and close...nothing fancy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LansingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed one night. There was a problem with our reservation at the Holiday Inn next door and we ended up splitting our group-- some of us stayed at the Holiday Inn and some at the Red Feather Lodge. We were lucky to get a room on short notice. It was only available because there had been a plumbing problem. When it was repaired the rooms became available. It was clean and comfortable. The decor and furnishings looked fairly new. The front desk staff was expecially friendly and nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

No one can expect a great experience in a small town lost in the middle of nowhere ... Red Feather Lodge is not an exception but provides a great access to the Grand Canyon (1Mile away) and acceptable services/rooms. The front desk personnel could be more welcoming and the rooms could be refurnished. If your objective is to be close to the park, then you should consider the Red Feather Lodge, which, let's face it remains a premium motel more than a true hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michel_mayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. We booked a room via their website in the motel section, as no rooms were available in the newer hotel section. At about $160 a night including tax, the room was WAY overpriced. It was however the lowest rate available in Tusayan. As others have stated, we will pay more to stay in a better place should we ever visit the Grand Canyon again.
Our room in the motel section was old and very small. The outside appearance of the building makes it look like a cheap motel and I began questioning my decision to stay here as soon as we pulled up to it. I thought the pillows on the bed were rock hard, which made it difficult to sleep. The bathroom is tiny and water pressure in the shower was nearly non-existent. The sink area is very small. There is not much room to move around. The wireless internet is VERY slow. We saw the pool but did not use it. It is very small and there were a bunch of people crammed into it.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the motel section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Deerlijk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked room in the motel building. Arrived before check-in time and were informed that we could choose to be booked through to another hotel because of a broken down water pipe or to stay and hope the defect could be solved in time. Took the risk to stay and were refunded for the total amount, though everything worked perfectly by the evening: nice and well appreciated gesture from the management.
Good location for a visit to Grand Canyon
Rooms clean. Internet OK. Staff friendly and helpful despite stress from breakdown.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMJARUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked this hotel via the internet, and the views it showed on the advertizement. When we arrived we were greatly dissappointed. This hotel is not what it appears. The toilet did not flush in our room. The room had an smell that was less desirable. Not to mention the halls ways The pool is so small, basically if more than 10 people were in the pool it was over crowded. When we go back next year we we will pay an extra $30.00 to stay at Best Western. Which is what I recommend to everyone whom reads this review does as well.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,263 reviews
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing