We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Option Just Outside of the Grand Canyon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Good Option Just Outside of the Grand Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is a very good option for those not wanting to pay the higher prices of the hotels located inside the Grand Canyon National Park. The hotel has big comfortable rooms, excellent wifi, free coffee and the staff is very nice and knowledgeable about the Grand Canyon and what to do or where to go once there. The only reason I did not rated this hotel "excellent" is that it does not have a restaurant. Nevertheless, there are many dinning options within walking distance. I would definitively recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1Arlyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    954
    704
    161
    77
See reviews for
703
897
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent accommodation close to the Southern Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon. Quiet rooms and helpful staff. While they don't have a restaurant, there was lovely fruit and coffee and tea available round the clock. Weather reports helped us plan our day. Very good family accommodation and an excellent location for Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: Very accommodating and excellent Grand Canyon access. Great for active Grand Canyon visitors wishin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoDrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I read some very good reviews on this hotel both on tripadvisor and other hotel booking websites so I decided to make a booking with them for my trip in June since there was no availability inside the Grand Canyon Lodges. Upon completing my reservation, my credit card was charged. Fine. Then I received a confirmation with the reservation details in my email. Great. The cancellation policy at the bottom of the reservation confirmation stated "Cancel 24hours before arrival date to avoid cancellation fees." Fantastic.

BUT, when I tried to cancel my reservation (mind you I gave more than 1 month notice) by sending emails to them (3rd time today), I did not receive any respond. No acknowledgement of receipt, no word, nothing. And my credit card remains being charged! This is FRAUD!

I'm still waiting for their response and (fingers crossed) someone will come back to me. Otherwise, I might have to go to the hotel directly to kick up a big fuss to demand my money back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wheresDariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked our hotel late and this was the remaining cheap hotel located outside the park. It was very clean, basic, and comfortable. It is only just a short drive to the main entrance. We received a 10% discount to eat at the Mexican restaurant next door. The hotel itself is also very close to nearby coffee shop and other restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ihearteurope09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It's about 10 mins from the Grand Canyon main gate. Check in was really fast, even though there were a lot of people there, we got our room card in less than 5 mins. Our room was not in the main hotel building, it was right behind it. We were on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and roomy. The king sized bed was really comfortable. All the amenities worked fine. I especially loved the hairdryer, it was an expensive looking ion dryer that was awesome. The bathroom did not have a bathtub, just a walk in shower but it worked fine. We never got a chance to use the pool or hot tub. The hotel is located right across the street from McDonald's so we went there to get breakfast. There is also a mexican restaurant attached to the hotel called Plaza Bonita. I had never eaten there before but it was really good. We also got some margaritas there. You get a discount if you show your room card and you can walk there in 2 mins. It is also really close to a Wendy's and coffee shop. Most things in town are within walking distance anyway. It was really easy reserving the room online. You do have to pay the 1st night's stay online but that was fine. If you are wanting to stay close to the Grand Canyon without staying in the park for a really good price, this hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We ended up at Red Feather because the cabins in the Park were already all booked. It's a pretty convenient location, right outside the park entrance (it is about a 5 minute drive to the park entrance but from there it is another 10 - 15 minute drive to the visitor's center). Even though it is just an average hotel, the location makes it a good deal.

Also, the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. They easily accommodated a need for a last minute extra room - giving us the same cheap rate that we booked months earlier and making sure our rooms were next to each other. The rooms were very clean.

Surprisingly, the red feather had the best map (which you get when you check in for free) for Grand Canyon hiking; even better than what the Park was giving out

Definitely a good place to stay to see the park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinLizzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is good. The price is ok for the quality you get. All hotels in this area are expensive. For the same price you can have a room in the lodge inside the national park, but less quality. The hotel is maybe outside of the park, but its just 5 min drive. You can leave your car the any parking inside the park for free and take a free shuttle bus to any view point. Regarding the hotel: Big clean rooms, with huge beds. Bathroom is clean and big as well. Pool exists, but very small & on the side of the parking.. Anyway, people come there for the nature, not for the pool:) There is no breakfast in this hotel, but there are several stores around and a coffee shop. The service if good and friendly. Hotel has free wifi in all hotel, although seems that booking.com still did not update this info. Apparently guests of the hotel have 10% discount in the stake house across the road. However, the woman from the reception could at least mention it! For the rest everything was fine.
BTW Its not possible to buy water in the park for the eco reasons, but you can refill the bottles for free in the park ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing