We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Grand Canyon”
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is located near the Grand Canyon which was the main reson why we stopped here. Unfortunately no restaurant so we had a late dinner at McD. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Free parking and wi-fi. Overall average, ok value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,497)
There are newer reviews for Red Feather Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Rooms clean, good heating and Wifi connection. Beds comfortable simple modular type bathrooms-but clean. Quite central for eateries with Mexican, steak house Pizza and pasta and Mcdonalds within walking distance.

Room Tip: Id ask for a top floor room as you can hear the people walking upstairs if they are in a noisy group...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staff was kind all around, especially the housekeeping team! Room was typical hotel style with antiquated tube TV and heating/cooling system. Bed was extra firm...not so good for my pregnant wife. Third floor was pretty quiet, so request this floor if staying. Make sure and get back to the hotel before 7:30 PM if you want a parking spot close. We were late our last night and barely found a spot out back. Watch for holes in the back lot as my wife stepped in one and almost broke her ankle! Take advantage of the discount offered at RP's stage stop...good sandwiches, decent espresso and warm atmosphere.

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and found the Red Feather to be clean and quiet. Clean and comfortable room with convenient access to the Grand Canyon. Close to restaurants and Imax. Great Mexican restaurant across the street with vegetarian choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachKnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

While it is not the Ritz, it is perfectly located just a couple miles from the entrance to the Grand Canyon and for the price, a great place to sleep. The heating works, the bedding and rooms are clean, and the staff are courteous. Nearby there are convenience stores and a great cafè with sandwiches you can bring on your hike. The Best Western a few blocks away has a bowling alley and a game room and a "kind of" snazzy and expensive bar/restaurant but you'd spend twoce as much for pretense and not much else. Stay at this independent hotel and leave the chains behind! They also have great free kitsch postcards in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monicalups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012 on a Trek America trip and absolutely loved Tusayan. Its a tiny town in the middle of nowhere in Arizona and the location of The Red Feather Lodge is perfect for visiting the Grand Canyon. Its literally about 2 miles away and there are regular shuttle buses not far from the hotel to take you there and back. It is also very near to the Grand Canyon Airport where we had an amazing helicopter trip over the canyon and I believe you can get connecting flights from major airports to there if your not up for a long road trip to get there.
The room we had was immaculate and well presented. Beds were very comfy after our 300 mile road trip to get there. Staff were really helpful and friendly.
There is a pool at the hotel which is very welcoming in the Arizona heat! Its a little small but even in August we didn't struggle to get a sun lounger and there was plenty of room in the pool.
As others have mentioned, the wifi isnt great but there was a very cheap internet cafe right next door to the hotel that we used.
Although it is a litte sleepy town, we found plenty to do and there are lots of nice restaurants dotted about and we visited bars in some of the other hotels.
All in all, I loved it there and hope to visit again someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samfa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in a hotel room in November 2012 for 2 nights. Very convenient for Grand Canyon - only a 10 minute drive away. We stayed out of season and had no problem driving to the park, but I believe there are also buses operating from outside the hotel in the summer months.

We found this to be a great hotel. Check-in was efficient. The room we had (at the back of the hotel) was clean, very quiet and comfortable. The rooms are of the same standard as Premier Inn in the UK. There was a computer available in reception for internet use as the Wifi was a little slow in our room.

The hotel doesn't have it's own restuarant, but offers a 10% discount on the Mexican restaurant next door. We ate breakfast and dinner there on both days. There are also other restaurants available in Tusyan within an easy 5 minute walk.

Whilst Tusyan is a small town we had no problem finding somewhere to eat and there is also a general store, post office, the National Geographic Centre and several souvenir shops in the town.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,726 reviews
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: $87 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing