We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay, not far from south rim” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay, not far from south rim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a fairly generic hotel, conveniently located for exploring the Grand Canyon South Rim. The staff were friendly and helpful. Room size is good, they are clean/reasonably well maintained and there is plenty of parking. The hotel could do with a decent restaurant. It also could do with providing a better quality breakfast option, though this is a general complaint about this 'type' of establishment in the US. That said, if your main considerations are price and proximity to the Grand Canyon then it's a good option (particularly if booking late when options are more limited). Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chalk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    823
    646
    146
    71
See reviews for
605
796
70
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
512 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked months ahead as we needed interconnecting rooms due to a child with a disability in our family. RFL couldn't have bee more accommodating :) the room price is very reasonable, the beds comfy, the shower hot and has great water pressure. And we did two loads of washing in their laundry room today and I loved the sorting bench in there. What more could you possibly need from short stay accommodation??? We would happily return.

Room Tip: We are in the 2000 series newer hotel rooms. The car park is straight out the back. Made loading and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel offers both motel and hotel options. The hotel is much more expensive. The room at the motel was more than adequite. Standard motel room, but much less expensive than staying at the Canyon. The htoel satff was helpful and the hotel is in the center of town within walking distance of several restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the motel option over the hotel if all you want is a decent room close to the Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My first impression was of a rude snarky person at the front desk. There was a Japanese tourist bus checking in just before me and so by the time she got to me her ability to be friendly and answer questions was obviously being pushed to its limit. Not a good impression.
This hotel is old and the rooms are pretty basic. But it is at the south rim of the grand canyon so it's location keeps it full. It was expensive for what you get. If there is somewhere available cheaper go there. This place is nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJANDLJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
737 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just the good location to stop before sightseeing of Grand Canyon. The rooms are rather large with comfy beds and basic bathrooms. It was clean and tidy but with lack of atmosphere. The air-con in my room was noisy and not heating efficiently. But the desk staff was friendly and check-in and check-out procedure went quickly. For the breakfast we had to go outside. Paying few months in advance, we got the nice fee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

this place was great. it was just outside the grand canyon entrance, which was perfect. otherwise it was clean, comfortable...and it has a coffee machine inside the room, which was very welcome in the early mornings :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suda_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Our room was a good size, with two comfortable queen beds.We stayed in the hotel portion of the Lodge, which is fairly new, although the bathroom door was all scratched on the back. The bathroom was clean and bright, with nice toiletries. There was no breakfast included, but the lobby has fresh coffee, a bowl of apples and the daily newspaper available in the morning. The room was quiet (but it was the off-season). Great location for day excursions to the Grand Canyon. The staff were not overly friendly. Good wifi connection. We paid $79.99 for a room with two queen beds.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijou7551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing